We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find, lovely hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punakaiki Beach Camp
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great find, lovely hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely campground, right on the beach, we stayed in a basic cabin, which was $68 for 4 of us, so cheap! Clean and tidy facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly. The only thing they need is hand drying facilities in the bathrooms.
Next door to the Pororari River canoe hire place, highly recommend !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    40
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Superb location with top hosts who couldn't of been more helpful and welcoming. Top notch facilities set in a stunning location with beach access only seconds from our site. Cannot recommend more highly...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Set in a lovely green site with grassy ground and plenty of bush and plants, with beach access, near the spectacular Pancake Rocks (nice walk along the beach). Only the sound of waves and gulls.... Well maintained, amenities good. Very friendly and resourceful manager lady.

Room Tip: power camping site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Informally laid out with power sites but no source of drinkable water for topping up camper vans. Warned water needs to be boiled before drinking.
Our experience marred by misbehaviour from members of a group in a Flying Kiwi bus. They did eventually stop when we warned that we would lodge a formal complaint if they continued.
Handy walking distance from the pancake rocks (about a 20-25 minute walk) but otherwise unexceptional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aitku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi there Aitku.

Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We are sorry to hear you could not find our water stations in the camping area, they are located under each 'plug-in' box for the campervans.

Water quality wise, around this time the local council had advised us to boil drinking water as a precautionary measure due to the UV treatment system being damaged during heavy rainfall. We have been advised this will be fixed soon.

It is rare for the Flying kiwi tour to make excessive noise however we have spoken to the bus company. They have apologized for this certain night and assured us noise will be kept to an acceptable level in the future.

Regards
Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We arrived to Punakaiki looking for a place to stay close to the beach and found this little gem.
The setting was epic being so close to pancake rocks and enjoyed some walks in the national park.
The staff were very friendly and were full of local knowledge. All the facilities were well maintained and well worth the $16.
Most importantly the surf on the beach less than 1 minutes walk from my tent was the best way to start my morning, unchallenged by any other campgrounds even in Raglan.
Will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Camp under the big pine tree! Awesome views and shade for tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themarcusfish-gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Set very close to the Pancake Rocks, a river hike, and beautiful beaches, this is a special spot that we wish we could have enjoyed for longer. The facilities were clean and in good working order, the kitchen was functional and easily accommodated those wishing to use it, and there were both indoor and outdoor tables in an inviting setting. This is the first year for the new owners of the beach camp, and they were extremely helpful and friendly, directing us to a lovely 3-h walk in Paparoa National Park and helping us sort out other details. We loved the handpainted map of the park that they used to show us where our campsite was--shows a little creativity and saves on paper, too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemenos, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here only one night but really wish I'd known about this place. After a very uncomfortable stay at the backpacker's next door, I managed to get a cabin at the beach camp and loved it! I found the people super friendly, the location unbelievable and was very lucky to see the most amazin sunset when I stayed there. The place is big and therefore it feels like we have the place to ourselves. The cabin I stayed in had its own kitchenette and a separate room with the double bed. The shared areas were big and clean. I could not fault this place. It is one of two aamzing places I stayed in during my stay in NZ and I just wish others will be encouraged by reviews to go and check it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireaGemenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Clairea.

Firstly, thanks for your review! We love to hear of guests feedback regarding our little gem!

On clear nights Punakaiki sure does show off some awesome sunsets. I have uploaded one of my personal favorites in the photos area above!

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards
Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
1.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
1.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Camp

Property: Punakaiki Beach Camp
Address: Owen St, Punakaiki 7866, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beach Camp is located in a picturesque beachside setting adjoining Paparoa National Park. Entrance is in Owen Street, off SH 6, 1km north of Pancake Rocks & easy 45 min drive from Westport or Greymouth. Ideal for overnight stop or extended stay, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is an excellent base to explore limestone gorges, bushwalks, beaches & Pancake Rocks & Blowholes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing