We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, great hosts”
Review of Paparoa Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed 1 night at the Paparoa Park Motel. Pam and Cam picked me up at the bus stop in Punakaiki, they turned out to be very friendly and helpful hosts. I booked a studio room which consisted of a large room with wooden panelling and a kitchenette, a balcony, and a bathroom. The accommodation was not luxurious but was clean and very good value for the price. The motel is approx. 2 km from Punakaiki and the Pancake Rocks. There is a laundry facility next to the main house. The beach is just a short walk from the motel.
Overall, a good stop over on the West Coast. The Pancake Rocks are quite spectacular - I travelled by bus that stops for 1/2 hour at Punakaiki so the passengers can see the Rocks but I think this is a bit short. I am glad I stayed overnight as I could walk a bit in the area and on the beach, and especially - spend more time at the Pancake Rocks, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit (Pete's Place). It was very roomy with the best-equipped kitchen of anywhere we stayed in New Zealand. It even had its own garage. Although it poured with rain the view was good; the best feature was the family of Wekas (parents + 2 chicks) feeding on the lawn otside the patio window. We also saw Westland Petrels flying over at dusk. At $220 it was not cheap but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Such lovely hosts - we were offered lifts to the start of trails when we mentioned our interest, maps, restaurant recommendations, everything :) such lovely people.

We stayed in the Bach which was huge, very clean and had everything we needed. Yes the decor is aged, but that had no functional effect on our stay. It was fantastic falling asleep and waking up only to the sound of the ocean and what an amazing view!

We had a great time and would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The highlight for us was falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the nearby shore. We stayed in unit 5 which had lovely leafy surrounds and ocean views. It was only 2 minutes drive to the blowholes and the cosy tavern.
The only problem we had was with the shower, the water temperature seemed to vary between two extremes. The cabin does get cold over night so make sure you have enough blankets handy during winter.

Room Tip: Request unit 5 for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mon83Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here for one night while travelling down the west coast. had no reservations for anywhere, but really wanted to call it a day, after being at the pancake rocks til sunset. it was almost dark when we saw the motel sign, and decided to take a chance. the new owner was very welcoming and showed us the room options. My parents chose one of the newer rooms. It was really nice, all done in wood and very cosy feeling. We chose Gordens villa, which was older but had a balcony that you could see and hear the beach from. Although older, it was very well equipped and had a definate "cottage" feel. We had the best nights sleep there! Although our stay was short, I would recommend this hotel as a great spot to stay for short or long term!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This little motel was a real standout for us. Our balcony faced straight into the forest, you could literally touch it, with the sound of crashing waves in the background and nothing else. We did not hear or see the other occupants of the motel. The hosts were warm and helpful. The rooms were very clean with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewandjane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Punakaiki is a good place for an overnight stop on your drive down the West Coast and the Paparoa Park Motel was a comfortable place to stay. We stayed in Gordon's Villa which had a separate bedroom and a view across to the Pancake Rocks. It wasn't luxurious but it was clean and contained everything we needed. You can hear the sound of the sea from the bedroom. The managers are new - we received a warm welcome and they are clearly looking after the property well. A bonus - there is a little glow-worm grotto just down beneath the motel units, and they provide torches for you to go and explore ! We noticed quite a bit of insect life out on the balcony, we would recommend you sit inside - the view is just as good - and open the windows which are screened to keep the flies out!
We enjoyed a meal at the Punakaiki Tavern. The Pancake Rocks are quite spectacular - we saw them in the evening sun and although the weather was calm and the blowholes weren't blowing, the rock formations were amazing. We also took a walk along the Pororari River Track the next morning - this was a beautiful walk and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
19.1 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
24.2 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 19 in Greymouth
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
2.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 8 in Punakaiki
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: £79 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in quiet coastal bush environment, overlooking Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and near Paparoa National Park one of New Zealand's treasured locations. On State Highway 6, a perfect location between Nelson & Glaciers, to walk native rainforest & rugged beaches.Spot native birds, particularly black petrels, wekas, wood pigeons and tuis, then after dark visit the glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paparoa Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing