We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay...Great ocean view.”
Review of Paparoa Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed one night in the Gordon villa. The villa has a car port but it's a little small. Recommend you back in so you can download your bags under cover. The villa had a 2 burner stove top and a mini fridge. The unit had a table and chairs for dining and the bedroom was separate from the living room/lounge. You have an ocean view from the living room. A couple of the windows had screens so you could open the windows without the sandflies getting in the room. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower. The shower had plenty of hot water but the only negative was the water pressure. It was adequate but barely. The location is less than a 5min drive to Pancake Rocks. The motel has it's own glow worm grotto and I did see a couple of the blue lights. This was a good stopover point on the west coast, though the motel is up for sale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Paparoa Park Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I choose this motel for a weekend getaway to celebrate birthday and Valentines day. We found it had everything we needed, and a bonus was the lovely balcony with awesome views across to pancake rocks. We stayed in "Gordons villa", an older building, but well maintained and set out. The beautiful bush and ferns surrounded the building, and it was great to sit in bed having coffee and watching the native birds in the trees right outside our window.
There was flyscreens on the windows, and some bug-guard and flyspray provided in case some sneaked in.
Pam and Cam were very friendly and helpful hosts.
It was awesome to have a glow-worm grotto on site, and the little bush path that leads down to it is just lovely.
We found there was no cellphone reception for my husbands 029 phone, but my 2 degrees one was fine.
The bed was quite firm, and we wondered if it might be too hard for us, but we slept well, so no problems.
We thoroughly enjoyed a quiet drink in the fabulous garden bar at the Punakaiki Tavern. We did not dine there, but were told the meals were great.
Did a lovely walk up the river just opposite the Tavern. What an enchanting trail, gorgeous Nikau Palms all around you. Gave the feel of being in the tropics, without the humidity.
We loved the sound of the waves all night long, and this visit there was not much of a sea running, so would be amazing when there was a good Nor-west swell rolling in.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Gordons Unit has fab views and bush surrounds.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed 1 night at the Paparoa Park Motel. Pam and Cam picked me up at the bus stop in Punakaiki, they turned out to be very friendly and helpful hosts. I booked a studio room which consisted of a large room with wooden panelling and a kitchenette, a balcony, and a bathroom. The accommodation was not luxurious but was clean and very good value for the price. The motel is approx. 2 km from Punakaiki and the Pancake Rocks. There is a laundry facility next to the main house. The beach is just a short walk from the motel.
Overall, a good stop over on the West Coast. The Pancake Rocks are quite spectacular - I travelled by bus that stops for 1/2 hour at Punakaiki so the passengers can see the Rocks but I think this is a bit short. I am glad I stayed overnight as I could walk a bit in the area and on the beach, and especially - spend more time at the Pancake Rocks, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit (Pete's Place). It was very roomy with the best-equipped kitchen of anywhere we stayed in New Zealand. It even had its own garage. Although it poured with rain the view was good; the best feature was the family of Wekas (parents + 2 chicks) feeding on the lawn otside the patio window. We also saw Westland Petrels flying over at dusk. At $220 it was not cheap but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Such lovely hosts - we were offered lifts to the start of trails when we mentioned our interest, maps, restaurant recommendations, everything :) such lovely people.

We stayed in the Bach which was huge, very clean and had everything we needed. Yes the decor is aged, but that had no functional effect on our stay. It was fantastic falling asleep and waking up only to the sound of the ocean and what an amazing view!

We had a great time and would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The highlight for us was falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the nearby shore. We stayed in unit 5 which had lovely leafy surrounds and ocean views. It was only 2 minutes drive to the blowholes and the cosy tavern.
The only problem we had was with the shower, the water temperature seemed to vary between two extremes. The cabin does get cold over night so make sure you have enough blankets handy during winter.

Room Tip: Request unit 5 for ocean views
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mon83Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here for one night while travelling down the west coast. had no reservations for anywhere, but really wanted to call it a day, after being at the pancake rocks til sunset. it was almost dark when we saw the motel sign, and decided to take a chance. the new owner was very welcoming and showed us the room options. My parents chose one of the newer rooms. It was really nice, all done in wood and very cosy feeling. We chose Gordens villa, which was older but had a balcony that you could see and hear the beach from. Although older, it was very well equipped and had a definate "cottage" feel. We had the best nights sleep there! Although our stay was short, I would recommend this hotel as a great spot to stay for short or long term!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
24.5 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in quiet coastal bush environment, overlooking Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and near Paparoa National Park one of New Zealand's treasured locations. On State Highway 6, a perfect location between Nelson & Glaciers, to walk native rainforest & rugged beaches.Spot native birds, particularly black petrels, wekas, wood pigeons and tuis, then after dark visit the glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paparoa Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing