We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll come back”
Review of The Rocks Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rocks Homestay
Ranked #1 of 2 Punakaiki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were just fully satisfied. One of our best experience during New Zealand travelling. Beutiful house, perfect hosts, very good breakfast... Next time we have to spend more time in this such a nice place.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank svamberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Lovely welcome. Beautiful location. Perfect accommodation. Helpful hosts with good local knowledge. Excellent breakfast. Lots of little extras that made us feel that we were the first people to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

`Our hosts at The Rocks were really welcoming and showed us the blue sea view room which was just perfect. Eva and Roli's attention to detail is so evident. They really make everything so perfect and the stay at The Rocks was of top quality.
Breakfast was really nice and the use of the guest area was a really nice touch. We could have easily stayed another night and had a great visit to the coast and Pancake Rocks. This was one of the highlights to our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

After battling torrential rains over Arthur's Pass, and a dismal stop in soggy Greymouth, we were ready for a place to relax and dry out. Found it at The Rocks. We booked "The Sea" room, no view due to weather, but you could hear the ocean waves -- lulling us to sleep. We took advantage of the beverage service, wine and beer by glass or bottle, and chilled in our spacious room. A huge, fresh breakfast spread awaited us in the a.m. Roli and Eva are wonderful, friendly hosts. We only spent one night, but it was very relaxing, quiet, lovely respite.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank debdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

After a great day of travel from the Picton area the weather started to turn as I arrived at The Rocks and it was great to have such a lovely place to stay. Instead of going out for dinner they offered to include me in their family dinner and the potato and leek soup that we had hit the spot.
The room was a good size and had a small enclosed sitting area over looking the water and beach. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate for me to do any walking in the area but it looked to be a beautiful spot.
The only downside was that the bathroom was very small but that wouldn't be something that would turn me away from staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had the absolute pleasure of staying one night in the gorgeous home of Roli, Eva and Aaron. We loved every minute.

We were traveling with our 10 month old twins, and were made to feel so welcome (plus it was great they could play with the hosts young son), nothing was too much trouble. The toy box was instantly a hit, and having a high chair available for feed time was so helpful. We really felt as if we were staying with friends.

Our room was comfortable, clean and well equipped with amazing sea views. The food made by Roli and Eva was delicious and abundant - but mostly we enjoyed chatting to our hosts and the 2 sets of guests also staying at the property. It felt like a fun night with friends catching up over wine and good food!

We can't recommend this home stay enough. All the best Roli and Eva, we loved our time with you. X

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisazoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Rock Home Stay B & B
Beautiful rooms in a fantastic area with great views from the balcony. There are only two restaurants in the area, but we chose (hotel / motel approx. 2 km from Home stay) was ok. Homemade breakfast in the kitchen with 2 other couples. Interesting to hear about the hosts, who have emigrated from Switzerland

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
2.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
2 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Homestay

Address: Hartmount Place 33, Punakaiki 7850, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Punakaiki
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Rocks Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think wild coast, isolated beaches, Nikau Palms, stunning views and fern-filled rainforest. Your hosts, Eva and Roland, welcome you to The Rocks Homestay at Punakaiki, nestled on the West Coast, the wildest side of New Zealand. Experience Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, forest tracks and river walks, canoeing, beach rambles, memorable sunsets and enjoy delicious home made evening meals. Complete your day relaxing in the conservatory with fantastic views on the rainforest and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rocks Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing