We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a locely place!”
Review of The Rocks Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rocks Homestay
Ranked #1 of 2 Punakaiki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this breathtaking homestay for 2 nights. Viktor who helps the managers greeted us with tea and cookies and showed us around. We met Patrick in the evening. What a sweetheart, a neverending source of tips and advices. Joe, his partner looked after us for breakfast. The selfmade bread and cakes are to die for. We could have stayed forever. Thank you so much for this memorable time we had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived mid pm and shown to Sea room which was nice and had great views although you need binos to see Pancake rocks. Unfortunately the owner (now back in Swtizerland) had double booked the room which let to an uncomfortable stay with an extra couple in the house who quite rightly were disappointed. The hosts run other hostels in the area and at times there was nobody around to oversee the place. I suspect the team have taken on too much particulalry during the summer months. Breakfast was good. Owner and team were very apologetic but it couldnt undo the difficult stay we had here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First off, the house and location are simply beautiful. However, the overall stay experience fell a bit short. We were greeted on arrival by Victor and Char, who help out the managers who also run a hostel in town. Not having the actual manager/owner on site was a bit strange. Our room, the Art room, had a great conservatory and view. The room itself was ok, but certainly not spacious. My complaints are centered on the bathroom. It was very small, with really no place to set down your toiletries. No soap or shampoo was provided in the tiny shower, which was a first for us in a b&b. The towels were flimsy, as if from a cheap motel. Breakfast was very good, however.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The B&B is very nice and offers wonderful views on one of the most beautiful parts of the South Island's coastline. We stayed in the Arts room, which is elegantly decorated, although I agree with one of the previous reviewers that there is no closet space whatsoever and the bathroom is small. It looks like they don't expect people to stay longer than one night. We stayed for two, and our room was not cleaned after the first day. However, when we asked, we were given fresh towels and some shampoo. The hosts are very friendly and the whole atmosphere of the place is quite pleasant. The breakfast is excellent, with home baked bread, fresh vegetables from the garden and excellent eggs from their own chicken. In terms of carbon footprint you couldn't do better. The surroundings are gorgeous.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs have a great view, whereas the twin room downstairs is probably not as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudioandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

As homestays go it probably doesn't get much better than this. There are three rooms with 'sea' and 'Art' upstairs - both are nice but Art maybe a touch better with a small conservatory outside. Views over forest to the sea and a large lounge diner with similar views. The host is great and friendly guy with Victor as assistant. A lovely walk down the Truman track to a stunning beach via a short cut close to the house. Turn off road 50yards uphill from Truman track carpark.
Breakfast good, bed and linens very nice.

Room Tip: Art is just about better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We came across the Rocks Homestay by accident. This is a fabulous B&B that offers a couple of lovely rooms - one with a beautiful conservatory. The views of the sunset are wonderful and breakfast was great. Make sure you get the instructions to find it from the website.

Room Tip: Get the room with the conservatory!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a pretty basic B&B. The location is OK and the views are pleasant but the facilities are below par given the cost. The en-suite bathroom for our room (the 'Art Room') was woeful - not much bigger than a broom cupboard with inadequate water pressure, insufficient hot water for 2 decent showers and nothing by way of shampoo or conditioner. The bedroom was small but adequate but there was nowhere two hang or store clothes apart from a few hooks. The hosts were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was continental but of a good quality. All in all, not a disaster but less than could be reasonably expected at the cost. The limitations of the property aside, the area has a lot to commend it and is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I believe the 'Sea Room' is a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
2.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#3 of 3 in Punakaiki
97 reviews
2 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 8 in Punakaiki
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
2.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 8 in Punakaiki
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Homestay

Address: Hartmount Place 33, Punakaiki 7850, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Punakaiki
Price Range: £82 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Rocks Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think wild coast, isolated beaches, Nikau Palms, stunning views and fern-filled rainforest. Your hosts, Eva and Roland, welcome you to The Rocks Homestay at Punakaiki, nestled on the West Coast, the wildest side of New Zealand. Experience Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, forest tracks and river walks, canoeing, beach rambles, memorable sunsets and enjoy delicious home made evening meals. Complete your day relaxing in the conservatory with fantastic views on the rainforest and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rocks Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing