We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had an average experience staying at this hotel : we could not believe there was no free internet in an all exclusive hotel. The food was average, and it was very difficult to find English speaking staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment about Iberostar Praia do Forte with us on TripAdvisor! Your feedback is very important to assure the improvement of our products and services.
I would like to share with you the fact that, even though we are located in an area where only a very few people speak a second language and the majority of our guests are Brazilians, the hotel management is always concerned about our international clients. Our front desk and guest relations staff speak English, Spanish and Portuguese and Iberostar provides Spanish and English classes to our staff from all areas, understanding the importance of communication in order to provide a great service and believing that we can help our personnel’s growth and development. Of course learning a new language takes time, but we do believe we are on the right path and expect to have you back in the near future certain that you will notice our progress.

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,437
    1,704
    517
    167
    114
See reviews for
3,061
1,301
51
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlovac, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everything was great besides some small problems with inability to switch air condition off in our rooms.Quality food,pleasant staff although they only seem to understand portuguese with some spanish.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on trip advisor! At Iberostar Praia do Forte we value your feedback and believe it is the key factor for improvement and quality assurance. Thank you again for your comment and suggestions, we hope to have you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia Do Forte
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great food, very friendly people and great service by the staff.
The property is beautiful the amenities and spa were wonderful.
A nice trail to go running, the exercise room was nice clean with fresh towels and tv,
My overall experience was excellent, the attention by staff at dinner and at buffet was great. The food selection and variety was abundant.
Thanks to Rosie for helping me with shopping and tips. Lalesca for keeping our plates and drinks full at buffet. Big thanks to Fanny for arranging and helping with travel to the city and World Cup game.
During the World Cup they had their convention center showing the games, great experience and big thanks to the resort for doing this with food and drinks included. It made the experience great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed our vacation. We will congratulate all the employees mentioned to collaborating for your holidays being even more special. It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future here at IBEROSTAR Praia do forte.

Best regards,

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia Do Forte
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excelent and confortable hotel. Well located at Praia do Forte Beach in Bahia - Brasil. I strongly recommend. Variety of restaurants inside the complex. The rooms are so confortable and quietly. Even to work or vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment about IBEROSTAR Praia do Forte with us on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel and we hope to have you back in the near futur!

Sincerely,

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed by myself for a week in May 2014. It's actually more adequate for families but found opportunity for good solo routine: very good gym, "quiet pool" option, pleasant beach. Exactly same format as Iberostar in Cuba, except broader choice of restaurants for dinner because they include the Iberostar Bahia property next door. Quality of food ok, not outstanding. Quality of shows reasonably lowbrow (except for atrocious local comedy). Staff is friendly but could use a little bit of minimum language training to deal with English / Spanish speaking guests (such as slowing down when speaking Portuguese. Key positive factor is beautiful views and nice climate at least this time of year. Caveat: rooms with best views are 2 floors up no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to assure the improvement of our products and services . We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at IBEROSTAR Praia do forte. Thank you one more time for sharing your experience with us, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The closest airport is Salvador (deputado Luis Eduardo Magalhaes), that is around 1 hour drive to Praia do Forte.

We got a good first impression of the hotel, as it is quite beautiful, exquisitely decorated, with a neat garden, that is very well looked after.The pool area is pleasant and clean.

On our check in we had the experience that has been confrmed during all our stay Athough the staff are friendly and work hard to please the guests, they are few to deliver good quality due the size of the hotel and large number of guests. It was clear that the hotel is not able to deliver quantity with quality.

There is no excuse to not provide complimentary wi fi for all the rooms.

Although upon my reservation and checkin the hotel advertises that the Iberostar Praia do Forte guests can use the Iberostar Bahia faciilities during the stay, we couldn't go there because there were an event being held at Iberostar Bahia.

There were food all the day and night long, but althought there is quantity and variety, the quality is average, except for Acaraje, Tapioca and donuts.

The all inclusive system without being constantly and fast refilled, lead people to weird behaviour. At the buffet the guests run after ithe food impetously to grab more they can eat, sometimes leaving nothing for the next ones, that have to wait for the hotel to refill the buffet when and if possible (sometimes during our stay the hotel run out of specific assortmens).
These behaviour also lead to big lines for Acaraje (people grab 10 to not have to come back to the line), Tapioca, swimming pool bar and to book the special restaurants (Brazilian, french and oriental). At the restaurant and at the pool we had to search for a place to sit down during the peak hours.

Location:

The hotel is located by a beautiful beach, good for a walk on the sands, but not advisable for swimming due the stormy sea.
It is not at walking distance of the charming Praia do Forte villa or Tamar Project. Taxi are expensive and have a fix rate. We were charged R$ 80,00 round trip to go there, as the hotel provides no complimentary transportation. The taxis take advantage of our lack of choices, the hotel should have at least a special agreement on behalf of their guest with a fair price.

Infra strucure

Our room was spacious and comfortable, but we stayed on the 2nd floor and there is no elevator, so we had to carry our luggage all the way up by stairs, as there were no bell man available upon our arrival. We had to carry it all the way down upon our departure, as the hotel staff took too long (asked 1 one hour ) to take our luggage to the lobby.
The shower was great! But there were no room for our personal shampoo and soap, we had to leave it on the floor.

The bed was confortable, and the room clean.

We arrived late at night (1 am) and although the staff were working hard to attend everyone, there were not enough people at the reception to take care of the number of guests that arrived. We let the families with young children or with special needs to go first, We had to wait long to be assisted and we were really tired due the late time of arrival. After our checkin there were no bell man available to take our luggage to our room, and it was quite a long walk, We got lost as the signals to the rooms were little confusing.

Entertainment
The entertainment staff were really nice and friendly. But it would be nice to recieve a paper with daily program at our room instad of having to look fir the signs with the adult program around the hotel, and there is no program for the kids. Also we would appreciate if the hotel could have specific entertainment program for teenagers.

At the gym the staff were knowlegeable and attentive. The gym is well equipment, except tfir he treadmill

The night entertainment at the theater were awfull, specially the comic show. Keep serving during the show does not help out.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far from the theater and from the pool whit entertainment staff. Ask for rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelBrasil, Online reputation manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor. Our staff does its utmost each day to ensure that all our guests fell at home while enjoying beautiful sunny days in Bahia! We are delighted you have enjoyed our hotel while experiencing a great vacation. I would like to inform you that we have an eco via (Inaugurated last year, special for our guess) with access to the village Praia do Forte. For the dinner night we have a variety food to offer, with our four restaurant a la carte: Baiano (typical baiano food), Gourmet do lago (French food), Oriental Mai Tai (Asiatic gastronomic) and a Surf and Turf Restaurant Maresias, just doing the reservation with our concierge desk, you are able to delight our a la carte gastronomic. All your comments were transferred to ours managers department in order to improve the items mentioned. We thank you for your observation since it helps us improve the quality of the services provided. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

i was attending a conference in April 2014, at Iberostar Praia do Forte, and i was greatly disappointed by the level of service.
the staff is lazy and slow.
moreover - ok... please do not read into my review as whining by the spoiled american brat. i am an immigrant, and speak several languages fluently. well, Portuguese is not one of them. but do you think 5 star resort could teach MINIMAL (and i mean MINIMAL, like numbers, hello, good bye and left / right kind of minimal) English to its staff???
nobody other then 2 people at reception area, spoke English. whats worse - when you would be confused and not understand what staff is saying in Portuguese, they would start laughing (i presume, at me?) and pointing fingers. whats up with that?
and food - Brazilian cuisine is great, but i guess the Iberostar didnt get the memo. most dishes were like your mom-and-pop's diner specials..

i would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia do Forte
2.3 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.4 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
#1 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Praia do Forte

Property: Iberostar Praia do Forte
Address: Rodovia BA 99 Km 56, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
#3 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Praia do Forte 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star hotel located in Praia do Forte, only 60km away from Salvador (Brazil). Sea–turtles reserve. 5 restaurants. Tennis courts. SPA and Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Praia Do
Iberostar Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Brazil
Iberostar Brazil
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Brazil - Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing