We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I live in Bahia and spent 4 days in the Iberostar Bahia. The place is wonderful! Great decoration! Looks like a big Villa Espanhola...but..the food in the self-serv restaurant -Meu Rei- is horrible. The guest don´t deserve such qualily food. I hope they change!

4  Thank annaSalvador-bahia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 6,345 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2009

This place is truly amazing,the staff are very friendly and try their best with what english they have picked up,fortunately I have some very rusty portuguese to get by on.The animation team were fantastic and the shows that they put on were 1st class.The sea was not for the feint-hearted,good fun in the waves though.My wife would disappear for hours on a walk along the beach,it just kept on going.Flew down to Rio for my 50th birthday and had one night there.First day went up Sugarloaf mountain and this was to die for,the views were spectacular,next day we went up to Christ the Redeemer,again the views were stunning for the whole 360 degrees,we were very lucky with the weather,not a cloud in the sky for the 2 days,the hotel was on Copacabana beach and on the roof there were great views,so all in all not a bad way to spend your birthday.2 1/2 hour flight back up to Salvador then coach to hotel arriving back around 10pm.Would we go back? The only thing that is is that there are no tour operators go there as from 2009.I do not understand why!! the planes are full.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Javo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel in July 2007 and had such a fantastic time. We loved every minute and would love to go back!
The food was great. Very relaxing holiday. We couldn't fault a thing during our stay. The bars, nightlife, restaurants, golf course, pools were all kept to a very high standard.
We went on the Rio trip whilst we were there. Again, excellent and was well worth the money. Although Rio was freezing in July. Make sure you take a fleece, umbrella and your thermals! Went to Christ the Reedeemer and Sugar Loaf mountain.
We also ventured out to the local town of Praia do Forte one evening. Lots of fantastic restuarants, bars and nightlife.
Fantastic Holiday. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bubble977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

why o why has first choice decided to stop travel to this hotel!! We chose the hotel back in 2007, it was wonderful, the personal touches by the staff were first rate. The food you couldnt fault, whether you were diabetic, or on a certain diet, there was something for everyone. BRING BACK BRAZIL!!! Thats all I have to say . Thankyou (ps First Choice have now offered me 2 weeks in Cuba ... the Paradisus de oro in Guadlavaca so would appreciate any feedback ) Thanx

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank loubell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

It was the best holiday ever, we all want to go back. There was 14 of us staying. All though the same. Best trip ever.

It was my fathers 60th birthday and we all went friends and family. Visited the amazon rainforest and saw some monkeys, others went to Rio for the weekend.

No-one wanted to go home. The entertainment was fantastic, never been anywhere as entertaining, 24-hour entertainment.
The food was brilliant also, we went everywhere, we visited the japanese styled restaraunt twice, all 14 of us loved it.

We flew with first choice, we were the last trip out there. Nearly the whole plan were going to the iberostar.
The only bad thing is first choice have stopped now, and no-one has taken over doing it.
Brazil needs more publicity, especially the iberostar. The best hotel by far. Everyone was very nice, the entertainment crew helped us completley, we even attended a football match with some of them and other portugese people. We have still kept in touch with some of them.
It wasn't just british nationality there either, there were many brazilians, spanish, germans and italians.

The rooms were also amazing, plenty of room, and storage space. The maids were equally as nice, we often got little comments of them saying thank you.
Me and My friend shared a room, a double bed each. It was pure luxury.
I missed it when i got home.
October was plesent enough, wasnt too hot, but hot enough that you could get a brilliant tan!!

Its a very safe place to be aswel, we were slightly worried about leaving towels hung on our balcony as we were on the bottom floor, as you would do on some holidays, however this was no problem nothing ever got stolen or blew away.

I would advise anyone to go, we got a very good deal.
Fit for a King!!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bekkaa-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Bit late in writing this review. Stayed last year on the end leg of a Rio, Iguassu, Salvador trip.

Had perviously stayed at Iberostar Varedero and that was great but this place was even better.

Apart from the weather ( we went in the winter ) everything was fantastic. Great food, service, staff, grounds.

Town is about a 30 -40 minute walk along the beech but most people cab.

One small tip, if you do walk dont go at high tide as the beech access at the end by the lighthouse is cut off by the tide.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I currently live in The Netherlands, but being brazilian I thought it would be cheaper to book it with a brazilian travel agency or directly with the hotel. To my disappointment, booking it in Europe was half the price. The reason? The price is aligned with the prices of the Iberostar in Mexico ( Playa del Carmen ). To give an idea of the price, we paid Euro 140 per night per superior room with sea view, this price is valid for 2 adults + 2 children, the standard room was Euro 118.

ROOM: we stayed at a beachfront room on the second floor of building 1. The room is really nice, spacious, excellent king size bed, and since we really wanted sea view, it was worth the extra money. However, building 1 is the further away from the restaurants, would be better to stay in one of the other 2 buildings. Standard rooms are also nice, just a tad smaller.

RESTAURANTS: during breakfast the lines were annoying if you wanted to get tapiocas and eggs, even to get ice for you orange juice there were lines, what is not acceptable in a hotel that is officially a 5*. Lunch was nice but generally the same food was served in the beach restaurant. Dinner buffet could be more varied and a bit more upscale, didn't have shrimps at all! A la carte was nice, our favourite was the asian, gourmet was also nice, the steakhouse was a joke for a true brazilian - we were served around 8 kinds of meat in 40 minutes - THIS IS NOT HOW A RODIZIO IS SUPPOSED TO BE - however, if you have never been to a rodizio you will like it ( my dutch husband did ).

DRINKS: we drink very little, but the caipirinhas were fantastic. My favourite was the strawberry one, but be wild, even if it is not in the menu, just ask them to make one with your favourite fruit ( passion fruit, pineapple, caju, and even lemon :o) ! )

LOCATION: perfect for relaxing, but I would prefer if the hotel was closer to the village of Praia do Forte. The hotel could also have a shuttle, but they don't and a return taxi fare is R$ 40 ( something like Euro 14 ).

Some advice:
- the hotel has no elevator, if you stay in the 2nd floor, you have to walk up the stairs. This is a problem if you have mobility problems or children / strollers. Couldn't Iberostar have installed elevators?
- car rental: be careful when renting a car in the hotel. Despite being more expensive than in the village of Praia do Forte ( check the company aluga brasil ) we decided to rent in the hotel because we thought it would be more reliant. When getting the car, a "pre authorization" ( deposit ) was needed and international credit cards do not work with this system. The sales person told us that she would " pass it " as a sale and cancel it when we return the car, but she couldn't do it, her manager also couldn't, they would not return my money, and I had to leave with the promiss they would do it later. Almost a month passed and I still don't have it cancelled.
- check the Iberostar Praia do Forte next door. It is brand new and more deluxe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dri-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia do Forte
2.3 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
516 reviews
2.4 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
521 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,772 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
#1 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Praia do Forte

Address: Rodovia BA 99 Km 56, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
#3 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range: £254 - £654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Praia do Forte 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star hotel located in Praia do Forte, only 60km away from Salvador (Brazil). Sea–turtles reserve. 5 restaurants. Tennis courts. SPA and Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Praia Do
Iberostar Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Brazil
Iberostar Brazil
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Brazil - Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing