We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Luar Da Praia
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Imbassai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you are looking for a great beach, great hosts, great location and great atmosphere - this is the place! We spend three wonderful days here after busy Rio and before colourful Salvador. With our little son. This is the place to relax, jump in big waves, the pool and eat good homemade fish. Jorge is a friendly and very helpful host, and this goes for the whole staff. Just ask, and they will help you. We cannot recognise at all any of the criticism this place has received. Not much to do in Imbassai - and this is exactly the point! Just go, and enjoy your caipirinha. Best, Gro, Valdemar and Mikkel from Denmark

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelA2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Luar Da Praia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed two nights in a "superior" room between Christmas and New Year. It was not our first choice - other options were either fully booked or very expensive. Did not have great expectations but unfortunately the pousada failed to meet any of them. We phoned ahead to confirm that it would be okay to check in at midday. On arrival, we had to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned. We had to pay 50% deposit on booking and the remainder on arrival before seeing the room.
The large room was clean with fairly recent paintwork. The bed was comfy. The sofa was ripped, the ceiling fan did not work, the aircon was very noisy and insufficent to cool the room properly. The bathroom leading off the entrance hall was ancient and after receiving three electirc shocks in the shower (faulty earth connection) we asked for the power to be switched off for the rest of our stay. The entrance hall doubled as a second bedroom with two bunkbeds - it would have been too hot to sleep there as there was no fan or aircon provided. The view from our terrace was of an unfinished wall and building materials. The pool was dirty - it was cleaned the day we left.
The staff were very slow and uninterested. The breakfast was nothing special and served late - on the second day the guests arrived in the dinning area at 8.30 and sat around 20 minutes waiting for the buffet to be prepared. We ate out the rest of the time......
When we left on the second day they couldn't even find a record of us paying.
I have stayed in a number of pousadas over the years and haven't had an experience as bad as this one before. It is a shame as it is set in a really good location but the staff don't seem to care about their guests or the upkeep of the property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahia_Is_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel during the new year. The hotel is the best place near the beach, the only advantage.
The hotel is poorly maintained,everywhere need repairs ... the pool, walls, and especially electrical installations.
We chose the small room, really bad choice. Small, cleaning is poor, the bathroom extremely uncomfortable - poor lighting, bad shower, wall improvised. When we arrived, there was used soap in the sink and toilet paper in the trash!
The breakfast is average - bread, cheese, ham, few options fruit and homemade cake. The hotel sign announces the breakfast is from 8am to 10am, no tolerance. We arrived at 9:30 a.m. the first day and several items had already finished. We decided to arrive the next day 8am sharp, and believe it or not, the coffee was only served at 8:40 a.m.! Lack of respect!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tcusatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This small hotel is the only one in Imbassai situated right on the beach. Our room, no.15, had a large terrace looking out on palm trees, the wide sandy beach and the waves. There was a full moon and the site fully lived up to its name. This is a place for tranquility and simple living (could be even better if the television in the dining room were turned off). Service and food are modest but adequate. There is scope to discuss the price in the low season. The hotel and the beach scene may be different in the high season, especially as the owner has established close links with Swiss and German travel organisations. Building work on an extension is underway. This, too, may alter the hotel's character. So enjoy it in its present comfortable, quiet, laid back mode while you can!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed two days in this cozy little pousada, located directly at the beach of Imbassai. Forget the food and comfort, but enjoy the views and proximity to the beach. Very low room rates, busy over weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank serene_zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las mejores son las que tienen balcon y con vista al mar!!!, son las mas grandes y comodas!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones con vista al mar.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imbassai
0.0 mi away
Pousada Capitu
Pousada Capitu
#1 of 4 in Imbassai
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilangelim Eco-Pousada
Vilangelim Eco-Pousada
#4 of 4 in Imbassai
127 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sauipe Pousadas
Sauipe Pousadas
#3 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eco Hostel Lujimba
Eco Hostel Lujimba
#1 of 20 in Imbassai
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Luar Da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Luar Da Praia

Address: Imbassai, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Imbassai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Imbassai
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Luar Da Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Luar Da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Luar Da Praia Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing