We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Luar Da Praia
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Imbassai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

You have to walk through a bridge to get to the pousada, and you are in an incredible place, wonderful service, far from any noise and right over the beach. We went with our 3 daughters and had a great time. I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Located directly at a wonderful Beach with nicely equipped rooms and an exceptional Swimmingpool Pool right above the Beach. The relaxing atmosphere and warm welcome, good breakfast and dishes really gives you a exceptional vacation feeling. We came to Pousada Luar da Praia with our Kids whereof one had an Accident before and we found a exceptional Team - very friendly, helpful and always attentative. We can only highly recommend this pousada.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very good pousada, right at the beach. We had a great room with an awesome view. It is located right in the city centre and close to all bars and restaurants. Staff is very friendly and the owners are a very sweet and helpful couple. The room was very clean and breakfast is simple but fresh. Loved it, very good for couples and it is really the best place one can get at Imbassai

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DyJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in November 2012 and on first impressions I panicked. It looked like something out of Tenyko. The rickety bridge going over to the Pousada then again crossing over the stream. When we arrived it was a bit mishmash but once settled into our room everything just fell into place. Yoga (Jorge) and Edna the hosts were great. The pool was well maintained, room was very clean and the air con was a god send. I wouldn't recommend for children tho, too many different levels. We would definitely go back. It is right on the beach and the town has some nice restaurants. The sound of the sea and crashing waves whilst lying in your hammock was soooo relaxing. We stayed 9 nights.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view and air con a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muetynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

You can't find better location - it's the only hotel on the dune with the beach right in front and the river in the back. No cars, just the sound of the waves. You can even swim in the pool looking at the sea. If you take a 5 min walk along the beach you will find the river beach as well with plenty of food stalls right IN the shallow riverside, where you can eat fresh fish or have a drink.
Our kids (7, 5 and 2) loved the place best where the river enters the sea because it was like ever changing adventure water park.

We liked the hotel as well. We had a large room (Ask for No 1) with a balcony right at the seafront. You can't beat the view from the hammoks or even from bed.
We did't expect a 5-star hotel so we were completely satisfied with the service. It was clean, breakfast was great (fresh fruit juices, including the view), and the staff was very friendly and helpful - the kids loved them.

We stayed two weeks, and our kids didn't didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Any room at beach front, No 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you are looking for a great beach, great hosts, great location and great atmosphere - this is the place! We spend three wonderful days here after busy Rio and before colourful Salvador. With our little son. This is the place to relax, jump in big waves, the pool and eat good homemade fish. Jorge is a friendly and very helpful host, and this goes for the whole staff. Just ask, and they will help you. We cannot recognise at all any of the criticism this place has received. Not much to do in Imbassai - and this is exactly the point! Just go, and enjoy your caipirinha. Best, Gro, Valdemar and Mikkel from Denmark

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelA2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed two nights in a "superior" room between Christmas and New Year. It was not our first choice - other options were either fully booked or very expensive. Did not have great expectations but unfortunately the pousada failed to meet any of them. We phoned ahead to confirm that it would be okay to check in at midday. On arrival, we had to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned. We had to pay 50% deposit on booking and the remainder on arrival before seeing the room.
The large room was clean with fairly recent paintwork. The bed was comfy. The sofa was ripped, the ceiling fan did not work, the aircon was very noisy and insufficent to cool the room properly. The bathroom leading off the entrance hall was ancient and after receiving three electirc shocks in the shower (faulty earth connection) we asked for the power to be switched off for the rest of our stay. The entrance hall doubled as a second bedroom with two bunkbeds - it would have been too hot to sleep there as there was no fan or aircon provided. The view from our terrace was of an unfinished wall and building materials. The pool was dirty - it was cleaned the day we left.
The staff were very slow and uninterested. The breakfast was nothing special and served late - on the second day the guests arrived in the dinning area at 8.30 and sat around 20 minutes waiting for the buffet to be prepared. We ate out the rest of the time......
When we left on the second day they couldn't even find a record of us paying.
I have stayed in a number of pousadas over the years and haven't had an experience as bad as this one before. It is a shame as it is set in a really good location but the staff don't seem to care about their guests or the upkeep of the property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahia_Is_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imbassai
0 mi away
Pousada Capitu
Pousada Capitu
#1 of 4 in Imbassai
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilangelim Eco-Pousada
Vilangelim Eco-Pousada
#4 of 4 in Imbassai
137 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sauipe Pousadas
Sauipe Pousadas
#3 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Luar Da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Luar Da Praia

Address: Imbassai, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Imbassai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Imbassai
Price Range: £42 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Luar Da Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Luar Da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Luar Da Praia Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing