We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Conveniently located off the A30 in a pleasant setting, this hotel is primarily a golf club with 9 guest rooms and restaurant available for non-members. There is generous car parking.
The building, including the attached driving range, is not particularly aesthetic but it is bright and airy. In the grounds there are several separate chalets providing additional accommodation. The grounds constitute the golf course, access to which is restricted to members.

Our room was well lit, and clean; equipped with a well stocked fridge and a very small TV high up on the wall opposite the bed. The door key had a simple cut, suggesting a basic lever lock was used, although I was assured the locks were secure. The en-suite had a tiny wash hand basin in a corner, a rickety towel rail above the radiator, toilet with ill-fitting seat, and Formica paneled shower cubicle. It could all do with a bit of a make-over.

The bed was quite firm but comfortable; the pillows less so.

The staff were pleasant, friendly and extremely helpful when asked, but would benefit from some professional coaching and training, which would transform the hotel from good to excellent.

Later in the evening several calls to reception got no response, which suggests there could be a problem with under-manning..

The restaurant food is average and the service could be a bit more professional.

Some suggestions that might help:

1. On checking-in, ask guests if they would like a newspaper in the morning, an early morning call, help with their bags, Wi-Fi access, etc. The same when checking-out; help with bags, ask how the guests enjoyed their stay, etc. — to create an atmosphere of hospitality and good service. At check-in we didn't receive any of these pleasantries, although the receptionist was perfectly friendly. Perhaps there was no one available to assist anyway, which in itself needs addressing.

2. In the restaurant give a menu to each guest at the table: two people having to share a menu is unnecessary, inconvenient, and wastes time when ordering.

3. Breakfast might be a lot easier if the cereals, juices, milk, fruits, pastries, etc. were laid out buffet-style, rather than brought on request. This makes ordering easier and cuts down on the waiting and serving time.

The hotel is best avoided at the weekend if there's a club function. The facilities and staff are likely to be stretched and the hotel will be very noisy.

.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    67
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
92
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had our wedding reception at the weekend. Most of our guest stayed for the weekend. We stayed in hotel rooms and lodges which were all excellent. The food was outstanding all weekend. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Why we were planing our wedding we dealt with Andy and he was more than helpful with all our requirements. We will definitely go back again. Fantastic job and thank you all for making my amazing weekend unforgettable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at Fingle Glen for a 3 night golf break, booked into one of the Hotel rooms which was clean and spacious, it was a return trip and it was lovely to be greeted by the same staff that we met on our first visit 3 years ago. This to us is important as continuity in staff generally shows a good working environment and friendly team and we weren't disappointed. The club house and hotel rooms have all been refurbished since we last stayed to a very good standard.
We had a DBB package with all golf included, breakfast was the best we have ever had in any hotel, all freshly cooked to order and plenty of it. The evening meal was three courses all freshly made to order and beautifully presented also every one of their desserts is homemade which considering they were extremely busy with a wedding for 100+ people impressed us greatly.
The golf course is undulating and interesting, some hilly parts but buggies are available at a reasonable price for those who don't fancy the walk. Overall we cannot speak highly enough of the situation, the extremely helpful and friendly staff and the delicious food. We left feeling part of a very happy family and have already booked to return again in April next year but this time we are bringing friends and staying in one of the lovely lodges that line either side of the first fairway. Many thanks Andy and staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a brilliant weekend for my daughters wedding the staff were excellent the wedding meal the same. accommodation great we stayed in the lodges other guest stayed in the hotel all were very clean and tidy would differently stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at Fingle Glen for one night on our way to our timeshare on Dartmoor. I'll be positive by saying the served breakfast was nice. But our room (no 1), was the smallest (double) room I have ever stayed in. The wardrobe looked like the size of a coffin in the corner. The TV was the size of a laptop and we were kept awake all night by the sound of the large generator below our window (and kitchen wall). One of the windows was jammed open so we couldn't even shut the window! I put toilet tissue in my ears to try to get some sleep. It was too late to complain early in the morning so arranged to see the manager (Andy) after we played 9 holes of golf (golf course is not impressive). He could not have cared less. He asked me to look at it from his point of view about the generator timer not working (I'm not making this up)! He said he'd give us an upgrade next time we stayed, and I told him we wouldn't be staying again. He actually said why should he give me a discount if I wasn't going to stay there again! I had to insist on him crediting us with our extras on the bill (wine, drinks and trolley hire), but it was like pulling teeth! The worst experience of any hotel (it's really a golf club with rooms) that we have experienced. Please don't touch it with a barge pole. Oh, and the evening meal was not good. Sauté potatoes are boiled potatoes flashed in a pan for 5 seconds! Otherwise it was excellent...

Room Tip: Don' t stay in room number one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

For such a low price if just £17.50 for a round, we either thought the offer was very good or the course was very poor. Pleased too say the offer was very good as this is a very good and challenging course. Also then price of the buggy at only £10 made the whole experience very reasonable. Will definitely be back again and will recommend to friends

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EHP293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hey what a great time we had here the staff were incredible,the hotel fantastic and I would like to thank Fred (you know who you are) for telling me to book through theroomshack.com I saved a bundle at least 80% cheaper,the golf course is amazing,well done Fingle Glen will be back soon...

Room Tip: If you book with theroomshack.com request a corner suite they are large rooms and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
8.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingle Glen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Property: Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Address: Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fingle Glen Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fingle Glen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel Tedburn St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing