We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hextable, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was delivering a training course at the venue. The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast and dinner were all excellent. To be honest lunch both days could have been better, but I guess that was what the organisation who had booed the training opted for and not the fault of the hotel. My room was well equipped with fridge, fan, and desk for working and was very clean and comfortable although the TV was a bit small. For a couple of nights business stay it was greatness a very beautiful setting with great views all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alip2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    63
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
84
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very good food, clean rooms and friendly staff. We went on a Friday night and though the restaurant was busy the service was still very good, the food beautifully presented and steaks cooked just the way we asked them too be. The following morning the same friendly staff looked after us and were most helpful regarding local places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andora-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend - South wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stay in one of the eight rooms the hotel section above the public areas of the golf club. Our room overlooked the first fairway it was tired and needed redecorating and 3 of the rooms light bulbs needed replacing.We had to request for the heating to be turned on as it was a chilly evening The room had not been thoroughly cleaned especially in the corners.
The food was below average and not very hot, the waitress/barmaid did her best to make our evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 676PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had booked last minute at the wooden lodges during the last bank holiday- it was so busy we could find only 2 days booking.

The lodge was excellent, every aspect went beyond are expectations - spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, clean and stylish bathroom, comfy beds, no ac or heater were required.

location was set in nice golf course

only thing they should allow non-golfers to take a stroller or build a pathway for access

Services - didnt need them at all
Restaurant served good breakfast and dinner- they accommodated us being vegetarians and also assisted with heating baby food

Overall ..great location, space and service..will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book he wooden lodges which look out at the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pals87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently made our third overnight stay and it has never disappointed. The room is comfortable, well sized and clean and the food is very good. There are a few improvements "around the edges" which could be initiated e.g. cracked wash basin, loose toilet roll holder but these are relatively minor and do not detract from an excellent rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Conveniently located off the A30 in a pleasant setting, this hotel is primarily a golf club with 9 guest rooms and restaurant available for non-members. There is generous car parking.
The building, including the attached driving range, is not particularly aesthetic but it is bright and airy. In the grounds there are several separate chalets providing additional accommodation. The grounds constitute the golf course, access to which is restricted to members.

Our room was well lit, and clean; equipped with a well stocked fridge and a very small TV high up on the wall opposite the bed. The door key had a simple cut, suggesting a basic lever lock was used, although I was assured the locks were secure. The en-suite had a tiny wash hand basin in a corner, a rickety towel rail above the radiator, toilet with ill-fitting seat, and Formica paneled shower cubicle. It could all do with a bit of a make-over.

The bed was quite firm but comfortable; the pillows less so.

The staff were pleasant, friendly and extremely helpful when asked, but would benefit from some professional coaching and training, which would transform the hotel from good to excellent.

Later in the evening several calls to reception got no response, which suggests there could be a problem with under-manning..

The restaurant food is average and the service could be a bit more professional.

Some suggestions that might help:

1. On checking-in, ask guests if they would like a newspaper in the morning, an early morning call, help with their bags, Wi-Fi access, etc. The same when checking-out; help with bags, ask how the guests enjoyed their stay, etc. — to create an atmosphere of hospitality and good service. At check-in we didn't receive any of these pleasantries, although the receptionist was perfectly friendly. Perhaps there was no one available to assist anyway, which in itself needs addressing.

2. In the restaurant give a menu to each guest at the table: two people having to share a menu is unnecessary, inconvenient, and wastes time when ordering.

3. Breakfast might be a lot easier if the cereals, juices, milk, fruits, pastries, etc. were laid out buffet-style, rather than brought on request. This makes ordering easier and cuts down on the waiting and serving time.

The hotel is best avoided at the weekend if there's a club function. The facilities and staff are likely to be stretched and the hotel will be very noisy.

.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had our wedding reception at the weekend. Most of our guest stayed for the weekend. We stayed in hotel rooms and lodges which were all excellent. The food was outstanding all weekend. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Why we were planing our wedding we dealt with Andy and he was more than helpful with all our requirements. We will definitely go back again. Fantastic job and thank you all for making my amazing weekend unforgettable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.7 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingle Glen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Property: Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Address: Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fingle Glen Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fingle Glen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel Tedburn St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing