We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Inn, decent food, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Heckfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Inn, decent food, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Just got back after a 4 night stay here. My partner booked a double and we were given the 4 poster which really is a lovely room. The inn is clean, cosy and inviting. The staff are warm friendly and helpful, especially Ben and the 2 housekeeping ladies. The food portions are really big and the food really nice. We ate breakfast each morning, I had lunch each day (the chicken and bacon salad with a side of cheesy garlic bread is the best) and dinner here twice. The only disappointment food wise was my partners steak pie, he didn't like the pastry. The bar is well stocked, warm and clean. Very cosy with candles burning and in winter I imagine the fires are lit. Outside there are plenty of tables and benches with lovely hanging baskets. I'd be happy to stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZedhedzZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2015
glad you had a great time-sorry the pastry wasn't too your partners liking it was a short crust which is very popular. Glad you had a good stay though and it did not spoil your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    61
    23
    16
    13
See reviews for
40
73
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Were booked to stay here for one night for a party that was walking distance from the hotel. Didn't actually get to stay thanks to Laterooms.com messing up our booking. Owners could have just left it at that but they didn't. They found us a room in a near by hotel which was great in itself, but recognising that our plans to walk to and from the hotel to the party were scuppered, they offered to pick us up, take us there then do the return trip at the end of the night! They did just this, which we think was amazing.

So - we can't comment on staying here but we wholeheartedly thank the considerate, friendly owners who did all they possibly could to make up for a mistake that wasn't theirs. Many many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2015
It was a pleasure, glad all was okay in the end.Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I find it hard to believe anyone can find anything bad to say about this place.

For the very reasonable price I paid for a one nights stay I must say that I'm struggling to remember staying in such a nice hotel.

Every member of staff I encountered were warm, friendly and helpful.

The setting and buildings are beautiful.

The room itself was well appointed and fresh and clean with a comfy bed and lovely tv.

The breakfast was superb also.

I visit this area occasionally and will definitely be booking a room here again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MattLuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Rooms were very basic, despite not being full we were given a ground floor room right opposite the entrance so we were aware of every movement in the hallways.
The room had a very odd musky smell that didn't go away despite having the window open at every suitable opportunity. Unfortunately we couldn't leave the window open as we were very concerned about valuables in the room after a phone went missing whilst one of us was in the shower! (still missing!)
The pub itself seemed popular enough but with reasonable drinks prices and some good dishes, this didn't translate to the breakfast. Staff were obviously annoyed that we came to breakfast at 9.30 (it stopped at 10 on a sunday) and we had to repeatedly ask for more orange juice that was dispensed into what I can only describe as an egg cup! The cooked breakfast was ok but took quite a long time to arrive and the toast was either like bread or like charcoal!!
All in all I wouldn't recommend it here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenwin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

rooms were amazing, very clean and comfy beds. Staff were very polite and helpful. Food tasted lovely. Just generally a lovely place to stay if you need a break away from the kids, deffo recommend it and will be coming again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinpHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your review and so pleased you had a lovely time, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We ate here one Sunday evening. This is a very attractive pub with welcoming and friendly staff, so we expected the food to match. Sadly it didn't. My paella looked like a bowl of yellow rice, slightly oily and although I did find some tiny pieces of seafood and cubes of chicken, it was clearly a reheated convenience meal. The slice of garlic bread told a similar story. My partner's chicken in sweet chilli sauce was similarly underwhelming and was black -almost certainly black bean sauce, no hint of chilli there. And finally, both plates were sprinkled with dried parsley flakes. Really woeful and at £10.95 a head, not even cheap. We won't be eating there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishkamitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Being a Senior Trip Advisor Contributor I would have presumed you would have made the staff aware it was not too your liking and we could have done something about it instead of rushing back home to compile your negative review.We are a very busy successful establishment and the dishes concerned are not as you have described-surely if all those things had been wrong I personally would have asked to see myself or my husband and not been content with writing a review-I guess this is a sign of the modern media times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a more recent addition to the characterful pub. The country setting is reflected in the style of furnishings but the lack of art on the walls gives the room a slightly spartan air.

There are radiators but no fans or air-conditioning; the windows can be opened but the noise from the road can be intrusive.

Breakfast is served in the pub dining room. It was made to order and promptly delivered.

Pluses
Biscuits provided with in-room tea (black tea only) and coffee
Two armchairs in room
Firm mattress
Trouser press
Excellent Wi-fi throughout hotel and pub
Proper large bath sheet sized towel

Minuses
No air-conditioning
Close to road, so can be noisy
Cups for tea and coffee not mugs
Soap dispensers only toiletries
Thin curtains that don't block much light
Shower over bath
Only black tea provided in-room

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
0.7 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Odiham Rd, Heckfield RG27 0LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Heckfield
The New Inn Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing