We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here when the hotel with the conference I was attending turned out to be full. The entrance was impressive with trees bordering the drive. I was amazed that I could book a place like this for £29.50 + breakfast.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the room, although small, had facilities as good as some 4/5 star hotels I've stayed in - eg, iron and board in the room and a proper desk area. It was spotlessly clean, although in common with many hotels, there were a few black spots of mould in the shower.
I stayed in the annexe which was fine; although it is a bit of trek from the main hotel, there is a car park outside. On the night I stayed this was full so I had to park a bit further away; the hotel might want to think about better lighting from the main car park to the Annexe - this didn't feel very safe.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility issues might find staying in the separate building a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscherylsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Good price, but the rest was average. Hotel rooms were small and not up to scratch (cold, tatty, no creature comforts). The rest of the hotel was ok but toning special. There are better hotels in the area if you are looking for somewhere nice to say.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AndrewCNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review. As we have responded many times, the bedrooms are not ALL 'small'. Every room is different with some small, medium, large and very large. As we are a meeting and event venue rather than a dedicated 'hotel', the smaller rooms are usually the ones that are left for bed & breakfast only as the larger rooms are taken by the conference groups in advance. On our website it does tell you which rooms are available when booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Don't even look at the pictures you're not staying in that lovely country house, your staying in a hovel 200 yards walk away.

I cannot believe how small the room was, it barely fitted a double bed.

Small is bearable if it was clean but the toilet and bath hadn't been cleaned and were full of black hairs. The young staff were friendly and polite but its clear the focus of the hotel is the corporate facilities side and no-one even asked how my stay was, they probably knew.

I was woken up all night by people leaving and entering the hotel, the walls are paper thin. The TV turned off and on every 60-90 seconds for some reason, but it was barely tuned anyway so not worth watching.

The phone was from the 90s and used to be white but had turned a lovely beige colour with age.

Everything about this place apart from the young staff was cheap, dirty and disgusting.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms near the entrance door its noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I would like to again respond on Tripadvisor that EVERY bedroom at Highfield Park is a different shape and size due to the blueprint of the original 17th century mansion house and the adjacent converted stables of the main house, Fir Tree Court.

This review states "Don't even look at the pictures you're not staying in that lovely country house, your staying in a hovel 200 yards walk away". This statement is incorrect. If booking a bedroom online it clearly offers the room types that are available which state 'mansion house' or 'Fir Tree Court'. As we are a conference and event venue rather than a hotel, it is usual for our main house bedrooms, (of which there are 20), to be allocated to guests attending an inhouse event and it is often only our smaller bedrooms in Fir Tree Court that are available to book for 'transient' stays. Please do check when booking on line if you have a preference or call the venue direct if you are unsure and do not wish to stay in a certain room type.

As with most public sleeping establishments, noise can often be heard from guests adjacent or in corridors due to the close proximity of the rooms / doors, we are sorry if you were inconvenienced by other guests, unfortunately this is outside of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure where these 5 star reviews are coming from?

The room I was in was tiny! The bathroom felt bigger! Dragging your luggage back to your room through the tiny corridors up stairs and self closing doors is a pain! Everything in the room feels out of date! The telephone was mouldy and looked like an antique (it wasn't a proper antique). The carpet wasn't clean either.


The walls were paper thin! So thin I could hear the guy next door snoring!


The TV was tuned in like it was something from the 90s!


The WiFi wasn't available at first but did come back up later. I can't complain too much about that as the wifi is free.


Breakfast wasn't nice either.


Good points;

Really nice views, some of the staff especially the younger ones were nice.....and not much else I could say. Not worth the price.


Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank gn1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your views with Tripadvisor readers.

As we have said on many previous reviews, every single bedroom at Highfield Park is a different shape and size, most have undergone refurbishment but there are a few smaller rooms in Fir Tree Court that are yet to have new furniture.

We do not know which room you stayed in as we cannot find any comments in our records that have been made directly to us by guests so it would appear you did not notify us of your dissatisfaction during your stay. Our General Manager has personally looked in every bedroom in Fir Tree Court to find the 'mouldy antique phone' to which you refer but was unable to find anything resembling this, therefore we would be most grateful if you could contact the venue direct to let us know which room you stayed in as we would of course like to address this immediately.

As our breakfast is a buffet with a vast selection available, it would also be most helpful if you could let us know what it was you found wrong with it as it is very difficult to address comments such as 'it wasn't nice'.

We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for a night and have to say that this is definitely not a four star hotel. We stayed in the separate annex and it has the feel and quality of a roadside motel. Nothing was very clean, wipe your finger on door frame and you get a build up of dust. Plus there was a lot of mould starting to grow around the shower, giving you the feeling you may be cleaner not using it. Little things mean a lot and having a kettle and coffee in the room is pretty much standard. What isn't is the massive amount of limescale build up inside the kettle which makes you decide you would rather go thirsty. One of the main gripes though was the staff. The junior staff seem to be trying, but when you have to wait in the bar for 15mins to get a drink because there is no staff around to serve you, it makes it clear the managers don't know how to organise. Then you arrive for breakfast and have to wait again because even though the restaurant should be open, there is no staff around to seat you or start taking your order. In the end, everyone waiting gave up and sat themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We read your review with concern as we would like to know please what led you to believe Highfield Park IS a four star hotel? As we are categorised as a Conference and Event 'Venue' not a hotel (and are part of DeVere Venues NOT DeVere Hotels), we do not actually have a star rating at all and if somewhere is listing us incorrectly we need to address this please. If anyone asks us for an approximate rating for facilities comparison we always say the equivalent of around a 3*.

Could you please also let us know which bedroom you stayed in and what date in order that we can address the possible cleanliness issue you refer to as this does not meet with our standards at all.

As we are a conference venue during the week and people are generally in meeting rooms during the day, our bar is manned Monday - Thursday from 6pm and at weekends (and Fridays when weddings are taking place) from 12 noon and we always displays a sign outside of these times requesting guests to ask at reception if they would like bar service at other times.

Regarding breakfast, we apologise there was no-one to greet you and seat you as this would normally happen, however our breakfast is a self service buffet as you know so, with the exception of taking a fresh tea or coffee order there are no breakfast orders to take and seating is free as well so hopefully this did not cause you too much inconvenience.

If you could contact the venue and advise us of the above questions in order that we can address the points raised we would be grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

There are only a few places I have been to, and if there is a problem, this hotel has done its up most to sort this out.

A perfect gem in a great country side, with some spectacle views.

On entrance to the hotel, was great by the staff, had food in the bar, wow what great food, this was great. Service by the staff second to none.

Room was great, was a little cold in the room, phoned the reception and within mins I was given a portable heater.

Free wifi, yes that is right, free wifi, and this was top speed as well.

Breakfast was a bit dull, but I was satisfied, just had toast and take away coffee.

An ideal retreat for any one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your views of your stay at Highfield, we are very glad you enjoyed your time here and found our staff to be so helpful; this review has been shared with the team and we hope you come back again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From our initial enquiry through all the arrangements and the wedding day itself, the wedding team were one, two and sometimes three steps ahead of us, polite, interested and super-helpful! Once we'd set our budget there were no hidden costs - everything was listed and costed very accurately.
Top marks for this hotel and how thrilled we were to have the option of an OUTDOOR CEREMONY at the lovely FOLLY in the grounds - our dream came true!
The lunch was delicious.
A very big thank you to Michelle Beaumont for planning our wedding and a special thank you to Ash, who orchestrated the day so calmly and professionally and understood exactly what was needed to make the day relaxed and informal.
Very well done, Highfield Park - our day was everything and more than we ever expected!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We are so glad that you had the day of your dreams here at Highfield Park and that we exceeded your expectations; this is always our aim and it is lovely to receive such wonderful feedback.

Wishing you both a wonderful married life and we hope you come back and visit us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
154 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
2,019 reviews
4 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#6 of 7 in Hook
492 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing