We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for?”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for?”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This could be absolutely super. The original house is beautiful and our initial welcome at reception was good. We then went to the restaurant to book dinner (it was about 8.15pm) and although there were several tables occupied there was not a member of staff in sight and after five minutes of waiting around we left.

We were staying in the Fir Tree Courtyard which is a lovely conversion of the old stable blocks.

Once we turned on the heating the room warmed up quiet quickly, but the bathroom remained freezing. The floor in the bathroom had a really badly broken tile in it (which cut my toe) and the bath had a shower over but no screen or curtain, so the water went everywhere! The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy and we had to turn it off as it ran on in the middle of the night.

Housekeeping really let the room down - when moving the bedside cupboard to access the plug, it was clear that it had not been cleaned thoroughly and on further inspection the skirting boards, ironing board/trouser press and corners of the room where full of dust and cobwebs! Also the wardrobe door needed some DIY on it as the handle was coming off. Also the suggestion card from the previous occupant still remained on the bed - he wasn't impressed either.

The bed was very uncomfortable as it was only a small double and every time you moved you could hear the springs in the mattress!

I've stayed at other De Vere Venues, but this was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure you are an early riser as the doors in the other rooms slam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and for getting in touch personally in order that we could identify address and rectify the issues you encountered where possible which have now been done.

I can confirm for other readers that the bed in the room referred to is a standard 4ft 6" double bed (which can appear small to those who have a king size or larger bed at home).

I further confirm that this room did just house a bath but at the request of previous guests we installed a shower attachment on the bath for people to use to wash their hair easily, it is not meant as a stand up shower (as it is not possible to wall mount this and add a curtain due to the shape of the room unfortunately).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    92
    91
    61
    30
See reviews for
58
93
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Reception staff very welcoming on arrival. However, having stayed at the other De Vere's in the area, we were very disappointed with the room we were allocated - in Fir Tree Court. Room was on the small side - bed up against the wall and no bedside tables, OK as a single room but not good for 2 pensioners who tend to have to get up in the night!
Complained to reception and they came up with an alternative room - the disabled one!! Not that we are disabled in any way. This was better but storage was minimal with just a small, child size wardrobe and one small cupboard - good job we were only staying 2 nights.
The hot breakfast on the first morning was very disappointing - reasonable choice but only 2 dried up fried eggs left, black pudding hard as rocks, baked beans dried up too - one of the problems with buffet style hot food. The cold selection was quite good and the red fruit compote was delicious. Good to see marmite on offer too. Second morning's offering was slightly better.
One final comment - over £10 for 2 drinks in the bar - extortionate! Subsequently we took our own to our room.
On a positive note, the hotel is in lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Avoid Fir Tree 25, unless you want a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are sorry Highfield Park did not meet your expectations compared to other 'Devere's'. For future readers of this review I would like to confirm that we are NOT part of the Devere Hotels or Devere Village Group - we are part of 'Devere Venues' and all properties within the Devere Venues portfolio are different - Highfield Park being a 17th century mansion house with 20 bedrooms in the main house and 38 bedrooms in the converted stables from the old mansion - Fir Tree Court - bedrooms have all been converted in keeping with the original blueprint of the buildings and therefore, as I have said in many previous reviews are ALL different shapes and sizes therefore we stress to guests when booking to check carefully the room type you are booking and if you have any special requirements call the venue reception direct, not the Devere venues central booking office as they do not know each individual bedroom like our own reception team do.

Breakfast, whilst a buffet, is always refreshed regularly and should you arrive towards the end of the breakfast time, it is always possible to request fresh items should you wish.

Our bar prices are set by our head office and are the same throughout the portfolio so I am surprised you felt them to be expensive as you say you have also stayed at other Devere properties - certainly, I know from experience, the Devere HOTELS brand, have bar prices much higher than the venues business!

Thank you for the positive comments you made about our staff and grounds, these are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The previous reviews worried me somewhat but I was very pleased with our stay here.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and this continued throughout our stay, our room was of a good size in Fir Tree Court. This building is an annexe a short walk from the main house, next to the church. The car park is in the middle so you don't have to walk far. I agree that the carpet looks a little worn, the paintwork chipped but it's not dirty and perfectly adequate. I may object if I paid more than £60 per night. Our room was in the eaves and was lacking a little headroom so if you were tall might pose an issue.

Sleep quality
The bed was a little lumpy but firm with plenty of pillows, we were not disturbed at any point and slept through.

Our room had an iron,ironing board, hair dryer, phone and desk, no over head shower only a bath with attachment but clean with no signs of mould or dirty grout.

Breakfast
Fantastic quality, lots of choice and no cheap orange juice. Perfect to start the day. The dining area was set out in large tables which was odd but there was a wedding the night before so possible that was the reason.

On the whole a pleasant stay and I would certainly return in the future for the right price.




Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your objective review of your stay with us, it is really helpful when guests address issues raised by other reviewers and leave an accurate synopsis!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very little to say about this venue that you are unable to see from the pictures uploaded. Dirty rooms, mould, shabby carpets, filthy stained walls. I changed rooms but the second was not much better. Asked to change again was advised hotel is full, looked online to see the hotel still selling a range of rooms.
Complained at check out - offered a pathetic £10 off! (Because of covering their costs!!)

Positive - lovely helpful friendly staff and very nice external building and grounds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank muswell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are obviously very concerned to read your review as the contents of this are not in keeping with the standards we aspire to here at Highfield Park. We have been through our booking system to find a guest with the name Muswell (your trip advisor name) to obtain the record of the room you stayed in but we cannot find any guest with this name or any record of being informed of your findings.

The photographs you have uploaded do not enable us to identify a room you are referring to as they are of small areas that could have been taken in any DVV property (only identifiable by the feedback card that is shown with a drink stain on - our housekeepers have strict instructions to replace all marked feedback cards, not to re-use them and we are concerned why, as you clearly found the feedback card in the property you were in as to why you did not complete it and allow us to respond to you personally rather than posting an anonymous review on this website) - Our General Manager and Maintenance Manager have been round all the bedrooms looking for where these pictures could have been taken but have been unable to find anywhere with these stains shown.

With regard to the mattress photograph, our Head Housekeeper has been instructed to check every mattress to see if she can locate the one in the photograph as all our mattresses are replaced regularly and should never get to this condition. If you have been to Highfield Park, you will be aware that all our mattresses are covered with both sheets and mattress protectors - it would be most unusual for a guest coming purely to stay the night to remove all the bedding to look at the mattress.

Regarding the £10 off - I can find one record on our system where a £10 discount was given and this was to someone who had booked a promotional rate room at £29 therefore this was reducing the stay to just £19 but again this name is not Muswell so we are unable to identity you I am afraid.

Can I please ask you to contact the General Manager of the venue before 2nd May to advise your actual name and contact details along with the date of your stay and the room number these photographs were taken in. If we do not hear from you by this time we will request Trip advisor to remove this anonymous review along with the photographs that cannot be directly linked to our venue.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heckfield hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This accommodation was booked for me by work so had little say in where I stayed. I was disappointed to find, despite it being obvious this was a booking for a lone female traveller, I was accommodated in the 'Annexe' which meant walking across a courtyard, through a car park and a short way up the drive to the main building which housed the restaurant and bar. Felt a little vulnerable to say the least. Room small but clean and comfortable, no way of operating the lights without getting out of bed and using the swtich by the door. Radiator obvioulsy not working so floor standing electric heater provided about 6 inches from the bed, fire hazzard? this was plugged in via extension lead, trip hazzard in the dark? (hence previous comment about lights). Floor boards and joists in room above creaked very loudly so was disturbed several times in the night by the guest upstairs when they went 'walk about' during the night.. Suggest replacing the huge waste bin under the desk with something smaller, this would allow the chair to be pushed in a free some floor space. Breakfasts very good, one evening meal good, steak on second night rubbish.

Room Tip: If in Annexe don't have a room with one directly above it, or go for 1st floor room yourself. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. Unfortunately we only have 20 bedrooms in the main house, the other 38 are located in the Fir Tree Court annexe you mention which is a two minute walk from the main house.

All of your comments have been noted and past on to the relevant team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for work during the week.

First impressions are fantastic, service great. Can't give 5 stars purely because of my room. I stayed in the courtyard part. Room 13 was very small. The en-suite was probably bigger than the bedroom.

Although small, the bedroom was immaculate, with everything anyone would need. Bed was a tiny bit hard for me and a little short, but then I am 6ft 4, so not the smallest.

Food was great with either bar food or the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style, but beautifully fresh.

All in all a great stay and certainly will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Prior to your next visit, if you call reception in advance and advise them of your height, they will endeavour to allocate you a room to suit you better if at all possible as, being a 17th century property, all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes as I believe you are aware and it is really helpful to know when our guests are taller than average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

At first impression the hotel looks of a high standard, the small gym had only the rowing machine working at the time of my visit, the restaurant and food served were very good, my room was of a high standard but the bathroom had no shower... Free wifi is available in your room and bar areas but not in the dinning room...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Highfield Park, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have two bedrooms that have a bath but no shower due to the sloping ceiling making it not possible unfortunately.

We have double checked the wi-fi in the dining room and it appears fine so we are unsure why you could not get this in there.

The 'gym' you refer to is not actually an advertised 'gym' it is purely an exercise room with three items of equipment which we put in at the request of regular conference guests. We are sorry you only found one piece in working order during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
74 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hook
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,303 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing