We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and terrible”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Disappointing and terrible”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was looking forward to staying in the DeVere as it usually has a good name - how wrong was I? After a 30-minute check-in insisting I filled every detail about me (obviously for data-capture to use later).

I was given a site map and shown where my room block was - a 100mtr outside walk in the dark, wind and rain. It was 10pm. No porter assistance!

Eventually, I found my room that represented a prison cell! I measured it...I'm not joking: 7ft x 8ft (2020cms x 2100 cms). The room was stuffed with a desk, chair, bedside table and all accessories found in a proper size room. There was literally no room for me! It was like clambering in a storage cupboard. I honestly thought it was a hidden camera TV joke show!

At 5am my neighbour turned the TV on and it was as if it was next to my left ear!! The walls of this cheap out-building conversion are chipboard with no privacy at all.

Finally, the overall quality of the room, fixtures and fittings represent the bargain-basement reject department of a hardware store.

Conclusion: Absolutely TERRIBLE! Spend your money elsewhere and don't be fooled by the brand DeVere that should be re-branded "DeAwful".

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay with us, this is never our intention. Check in should not take any longer than 5 minutes to complete so we are sorry you experienced such an extended time.

Our website does state 'classic single Fir Tree bedroom' for the room type you are describing that you booked and for readers of this review we would like to clarify that we have 3 rooms of this type that indeed house single beds and the furniture that people attending conferences here require, (which is the main part of our business), to the best of our ability in the room size available.

Like many venues and hotels, you can sometimes here people in neighbouring rooms which unfortunately we are unable to change and are sorry you were affected by this.

We ask readers to please be aware of our many different room types and that some are in the main house and some in the Fir Tree Court annexe when booking and ensure you book a room that suits your requirements - the prices do reflect the different sizes and facilities of each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    96
    93
    62
    30
See reviews for
65
93
20
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself was one of 3 in the area, and our sat nav does not use postcodes! Therefore rather difficult to find. However the hotel conference/hotel complex was pleasantly situated. The bar food was good value; Bed was rather lumpy, with only one bedside table, so my husband had to use an upturned waste bin next to the bed. But maybe we are just fussy! Thank you De Vere for making us welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main house - but may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we are glad on the whole you enjoyed it, that is great to hear.

Sorry your satnav doesn't use postcodes! We would like to assure readers that if your satnav does use postcodes it will bring you direct to us. If you do not use technology, we are just one minute from the main A33 and situated on the B3349 main Hook - Reading road from the M3 and brown 'Highfield Park' signs with a bed on them will guide you in!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in a single room for 4 days. There is no doubt lots of green and wildlife around the hotel so if you like countryside this is a great location. However the hotel itself doesn't live up the expectations, I knew I booked a single room but I would describe it more like a meter by meter cleaners cupboard with pitched roof, a single bed tucked in the corner, the toilet with broken tap to which staff couldn't get the repair done because plumber doesn't arrive until 9am in the morning. Even at 10am no other bother to turn up or even an update so managed to repair myself.

There was a wedding party so the restaurant was closed throughout the stay and please note since you're out in the woods, don't expect you'll be able to walk out to a nearby restaurant for a meal. The hotel also didn't had a common area or perhaps it was closed due to wedding party.

The hotel was pretty cheap however I would not recommend to stay unless you're ready to go through the trouble of staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad_Adeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, this is most upsetting to read.

As we have explained in previous responses, our single bedrooms, as stated on our website, are actually single bedrooms and are priced accordingly, at times guests do book a single bedroom but arrive expecting it to be a larger room for the price of a single room which is most unfortunate as we only have available what is shown available to book.

We are sorry you were affected by the many weddings that take place here during your stay. It is sometimes possible for us to have a replacement lounge area depending on the rooms being utilised by the wedding so we are sorry this did not meet your requirements on this occasion. We have checked our system for your booking as we would have liked to respond personally but we have been unable to recognise you as a guest that stayed with us so assume, as your location is shown as very local to us that you must have booked on behalf of a friend or colleague which is why we could not locate the booking. Should you have any future requirements for friends to stay locally we would be most happy to welcome them here but please do check with us that the room you have booked is acceptable to the guest and we will be more than happy to confirm and make their stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you very much for your comments about our beautiful setting - it is indeed stunning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heckfield hotels

Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a night here with my husband on a special rate which included a bottle of wine, dinner and breakfast. Our room was in the small stable block a short walk from the main building and although it was fairly small it was very comfortable and spotless.

As the weather was perfect we had dinner outside on the patio, it was a buffet which we hadn't expected but was very good indeed. We could help ourselves to what we wanted and even had cheese and biscuits to finish. The waitress was helpful, friendly and we couldn't fault the evening. The view from the terrace is beautiful and it was lovely to sit out there and watch the sun go down.

Breakfast was served in the same buffet format and there was plenty of food, however we did discover that by the time we were finishing a lot of items were running out and were not replaced.

This was a lovely break for us, although we don't live far away it is nice to get away from the house every now and then and have some time together. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and we didn't have any problems, we left the window open during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyFiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are glad your enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwood, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This venue was not at all what we expected. In the hotels photos there was a very nice large room described as a "double" room. Our room was very small, and not attractive at all. Also, the photos of the restaurant made it seem like an upscale room. It was not, and it was serve yourself to a large extent. When my wife called the manager to complain he was not interested in helping and verged on rude. To be fair to the venue, it turned out that this is not a hotel or B&B, as the manager made very clear. It is a venue for meetings and conferences. It would be fine for that purpose. Either De Vere misrepresented itself to LateRooms or LateRooms misrepresented the venue to us.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying at this accommodation for a night as wedding guests. The food and the service throughout the day was exceptional and could not be faulted at all, however we were very disappointed with the accommodation. We stayed in room 1 in the fir tree area adjacent to the hotel. This room was not specifically booked by us as rooms for the occasion had been reserved including ours and others staying in the same area as us. The room itself was very small and dark with a small "double bed." Also running a hotel it is basic common knowledge to provide the correct amount of provisions for the people staying in the room, however we only had one cup and one glass, when I queried this at reception, the receptionist was very happy to help and this was rectified. We also noticed that there were hairs in the bath and the toilet was squished against the wall, so anyone with a larger physique may struggle with this, light in the room was very minimal which included 2 lights against the wall and a lamp with an energy saving light bulb which may as well not have worked. I also think your tea tray needs to be altered and revised as there is no proper tea. Even it said original on the packet it didn't taste like normal breakfast tea? That's if you even provide it?? The coffee was a sandy colour and looked see through when I poured hot water in it. And lastly the cupboard next to the the bathroom has a loose door knob.
You clearly state in your responses that you mainly specialise in events and occasions not necessarily the hotel, however if you want to be a successful business you should be able to accept criticism and rectify it, because as you are aware you are charging rates from £80 per night for very basic accommodation and expecting customers to be happy with this. People have a right to complain if they aren't happy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryrose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booked the dinner and breakfast option which appears something of a bargain on first site. Really a conference venue but takes separate bookings as well but more geared towards large groups.

Impressive gravel driveway leads up to the main building which seems to be a little private hamlet with its own quaint church. Perfect for weddings and the grounds and setting are lovely very well maintained and some views looking out across green fields. Check in late afternoon was friendly, professional and efficient.

On the lowest package I was in the stable block which is a 2/3 minute walk from the main house in separate 2 story building. Room on ground floor very secure but small with double bed. Had everything and was clean and quite large bathroom. Fine for short stay but would have been nice to know size of bed as for two people far too cosy.

Bar is in the main building and serves food as well. The restaurant is next door and more suited to the conference venue this is. There is a bar menu and spotted some of these orders going out and they looked good but on the package then it is simple three course menu with bottle of italian wine. At best OK but this food not great to be honest. Basic and no veg in site. Duck breast was quite large but not really a relaxed meal in a large brightly lit dining room and a large group arrived whilst we were seated and had the same menu.

Slept okish and room very quiet. Pillows very thin and little support and as mentioned bed too small really for 2 adults. Breakfast was in the same dining room and buffet setup. Food quite good and room felt bright and airy in the day time.

Overall the venue is definately 4/5 or 5 depending on price paid. But on the package then let down by size and comfort of bed and poor evening meal. Would go back but stick to bar menu in future or visit lovely local pub just down road. At the right price this place is definitely an option but depends what you are looking for and not really a romantic escape at bargain price more place for business people to sleep overnight or really the larger groups it is really aiming to serve.

Room Tip: Package is good value but let down by dinner and size/quality of bed. Its not a bad option for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
96 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hook
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,917 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing