We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Was looking forward ot visiting this place but very dissopointed by the time I left. The hotel is miles from anywhere, making it a boring place to stay if you need more than the hotel offers. It is so expensive- take your own drinks or you will need a lot of money to see the night out.
Food staff pretty incompitant- couldn't handle a reguest for a cup of tea. Food always ran out- there was never enough for the group. You are also rationed to one piece of meat per meal and a request to get more will get you a look of shock horror.
Rooms were tiny and boiling hot. Walls waifer thin.
Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!! A Holiday Inn is better than this!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

The hotel was easy to find and had a choice of carparks all with surveillance cameras. Had to park up and walk up the drive to the lovely main building to check in (in the main building that the website displays). Then had to walk back down the drive through the carpark to the stable court where my room was located. The room was well presented but small and dark - there was very little natural light and only a couple of dim lamps in the room. There was a group of young people (students?) staying down the corridor - I know thid because I could hear every word they were saying from my room! The hairdryer was faulty so unusable. On checking out the receptionist was miserable - I felt I was interrupting her by approaching the desk!

It was more expensive than some other better places in the area and breakfast was not included. Would stay again if there's nowhere else available.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed here for one night on business.

The hotels that were rated higher on Tripadvisor were busy, so I worked my way down the list and chose this one. Price was reasonable, and the location not too far from where I was working.

The hotel is out in the countryside, but not far from major road links. It is approached by a long driveway, with the imposing house at the end. Reception was friendly, and I had a room in the main building, up an interesting wide spiral staircase.

The room was comfy and clean, good bed, nice bathroom, all the normal things you would expect. I went for a stroll around the grounds which were pleasent and had a good view.

The room was quiet at night, and breakfast in the morning was a buffet with a good range of tasty food.

There are a few shared use PCs for internet access near reception

Overall I was happy with the hotel, and would return.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Used this hotel as a stop over after watching my team win at Wembley, it was 22:00 when I checked in but the night staff where possibly the best I have met, polite,friendly and helpful. The room in the stable block was small but it was clean and had all I needed, but the best part was having coffee outside and watching the beautiful landscape unfold as the sun burnt off the spring mist.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagyelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at. this hotel on one their special offers of £10 per night, Our room was in the stable block which was just off from the main hotel. The room itself was clean but quite small for a double room. The bed was a small double bed which was ok as I am only 4ft 11 and my partner is over 6ft . The bed was just big enough for both of us and one side was against a wall. Also as the room was quite small it did quite hot and stuffy. The hotel was in a lovely location and was very quiet and relaxing . It had a church in the grounds which I think was the local church for Heckfield. We had breakfast on our last morning and that was good with alot of choice. Overall for £10 poud a night it was worth it but I would not like to pay the full charge for the room that we stayed in as i would really class it as a single room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neetie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We were allocated a room in the seemingly infamous Stable Block and, though we noticed that other rooms were small (but apparently comfortable) our room was a very good size with a large and very comfortable bed plus a good sized bathroom. It was very quiet throughout our 3 night stay.
The grounds are very much a plus as is the surrounding quiet and largely unspoilt countryside.
The restaurant evening meal that we had was well up to standard with a good and varied menu.
All of the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful despite having to work hard to stage a wedding promotion (as with any hotel we'd not particularly wish to be there at the time of a big wedding). A minor complaint (about the internet connection) was dealt with quickly
and cheerfully.
The pub just down the road has reasonable food (as from 6pm) with friendly staff.
We were on the £10 / night promotional rate; had we been paying five or six times that amount we would still have considered it to be excellent value.
All in all a very peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Observer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I booked this hotel through the De Vere Winter offers at a rate of £10 per night, which for a De Vere hotel seemed like a bargain. After reading the reviews on this site pertaining to the stable block and the size of the rooms, I decided to upgrade to a room in the main house at an additional cost of £15 per night, which still seemed like a bargain. The room we were given was fantastic, great size bed and plenty of room. It was my girlfriends birthday and so the hotel arranged for champagne and roses to be waiting in the room for us when we checked in (at an additional cost of course), which made my girlfriends day.

We never actually ate in the hotel, as the restaurant looked quite empty the two nights we were there and lacking in atmosphere and so cannot comment on the food but the menu itself looked great and the bar area was really nice, with a large selection of drinks, at reasonable prices. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and a great setting for a romantic weekend away. The staff were also extremely helpful.

So overall I would definately recommend this hotel but would suggest paying a little extra and upgrading to a room in the main house.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boygenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
151 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
2,018 reviews
4 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#6 of 7 in Hook
492 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing