We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at The George Hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have just reurned from a very pleasant stay for 4 nights over Christmas. The food was excellent although perhaps a little too much! We did not need to eat it all however. The staff are very friendly.The public areas have been refurbished but some of the bedrooms are perhaps a little tired ( but then so are some of the guests). The rooms were clean and warm and comfortable so we had no complaints. The location is excellent , very picturesque, within easy reach of some good walks and Hadrians wall. This was our second visit and I have no doubt that we will be back again, perhaps in summer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part have more character. The rooms in the newer annexe are fairly standard hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

Excellent value weekend stay. Rooms clean but could do with a refurb. Problem with heating dealt with by change and upgrade room. Food very good with plenty of choice and efficient and attentive staff. Reception Staff helpful and courteous. Will visit again in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rod159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Quiet a pleasent location with plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

my partner and myself have spent 26- 28 november had a fantastic time staff were all superb evening meal and breakfast cooked to perfection. view from dinning room to die for,lesure centre well worth a visit

Room Tip: river facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Run down hotel, understaffed. Room 118 filthy. See photographs. However, the receptionist was very helpful.

Food was very poor and reminded us of hospital fare. On our first evening all three courses were unpleasant - which takes some doing! The thought of eating dinner a 3rd night(we booked half board) was unimaginable, so we ate out at Battlesteads in Wark (Excellent).

The leisure centre was a big dissapointment. Entry was through a dirty and cold passageway, and the centre itself was like a large plastic conservatory built in the eighties. We managed to lock ouselves in when we inspected it, and had to escape via a fire door - which would not shut again properly. The whole place was full of condensation, misted up double glazing, filthy and most unappealing. We never used it - although that was one of the features which had made us choose this hotel.

The setting next to the North Tyne was lovely, and what a shame that the place has fallen so low. The gardens showed signs of having been cared for at some time, although much use had been made of 1960's concrete paths.

We were not alone in this opion, most other guests seemed to be having a grim time. I think it is part of Shearings and a mandatory stay for coach trips.

Room Tip: The whole Hotel seemed to be run down and dirty and of the same standard, but to be fair we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiverpoolMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

just returned from hotel and in all honesty we have no complaints whats so ever,helpful staff,good food we requested a room with a veiw and were not dissappointed one over looking river and bridge.my one issue is the price of the beer/wine etc but thats all.the pool and leisure things were great.
john roz

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboyTadcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guests, Thank you for your excellent feedback, it is nice to hear and our team will be pleased in the run up to a busy festive period to receive such positive comments. Regards David McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had great weekend break, lovely hotel and situated next to the river just what we were looking for. The food was really nice, a great selection each night and friendly staff. We used the leisure facilities which were ok and were quiet most times, which was great to be able to relax. A very peaceful and quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, the title of your review says it all! - I am delighted you enjoyed your break and managed to relax whilst with us. Your comments will be passede on to all our our team. I hope we will see you again soon. Regards David McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,584 reviews
21.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: £40 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing