We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is a little jaded in parts but is so well situated that its forgiven! its literally a stroll; from Hadrians Wall and 20 mins from Kielder so well placed for discovering both newcastle and the beauty of the area. we had a room at the back looking over the gardens and river which was lovely. It was quiet and clean and staff are really helpful. The only let down was the very average food of the table d'hote menu... not a place for foodies but if you just need feeding at the end of a full dayits fine - surrounding in the bar area are modern but cosy.
Bedroom was clean and tidy - furniture a bit past its best and bathroom needed upgrading but still ok if you are after a comfy place to lay your head rather than "luxury".
hotel now owned by Shearings - the coach trip people - so a more "mature" clientele.

Room Tip: with a river view is a necessity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel, gardens and views. It is situated in a beautiful part of Northumberland were there are many advantages of walks and days out.
The standard Table De hote menu is included in HB rates, however you can up grade to the a la carte menu. This is of course at an extra cost but does have offers on the set prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    223
    161
    90
    56
See reviews for
79
415
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went with our five year old son for a Sunday drink to check the place out and perhaps book for a Christmas treat as neither had been to the hotel in over 17 years. Nothing had changed the bar area had huge cobwebs hanging from the light fittings. It did amuse my son who counted all the cobwebs and spiders and cobwebs on the windows had dead bluebottles which had clearly been there fore some time. The staff were friendly but the place had no atmosphere. Lovely location. Expensive £10 for a lager, cider and diet coke. Won't be going again sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimberley8036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
I am sorry that you did not find parts of the hotel to liking or comfort. The cleanliness within the ground floor of the hotel has been looked into and reviewed with the standards of the highest order found and I find it hard to believe you are talking about the George hotel Chollerford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chollerford hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We received a really good deal on the price. The Hotel needs an update, but the staff and the food was really good.Would I stay there again? Certainly if only for the superb English breakfast, kippers included. The hotel is near Hadrians wall with all it's history and beauty. Hexham is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
The ground floor of the hotel is refurbished and newly decorated.
I agree, the hotel is situated in some beautiful grounds and the area is a fantastic place to go walking and sight seeing.
I am pleased you found the staff and the food to be really good, hopefully the Full English and kipper, set you up for a good day of walking and sight seeing. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

this hotel is surrounded by outstanding natural beauty. the views from our room window were fabulous. The public areas have been refurbished and are lovely. the rooms need some refurbishement but are very clean. some furniture is a little shabby but nothing to moan about. yes the tv is old fashioned but I dont go away for weekend breaks to watch telly so that wasnt a problem for us. The bathroom is very clean but again could do with a major upgrade. The staff were friendly and polite, they worked very hard. We were half board and breakfast was very nice. There wasnt a big choice of evening meal but everything we had we enjoyed. our biggest problem was that there isnt anywhere to go in the evening for a drink unless you go in the car. all things considered we would visit again

Room Tip: ask for south facing so you get a view of the river and bridge. we had 112 and would request it agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel. It is situated in a beautiful part of Northumberland were there are many advantages of walks and days out.
We have since had the TV’s changed to flat screen for those who do enjoy a bit of television.
The staff do work hard and I’m glad you had good service and found them and the food enjoyable.
The standard Table De hote menu is included in HB rates, however you can up grade to the a la carte menu. This is of course at an extra cost but does have offers on the set prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was my second stay at the George. This time with a large group of walking friends. The hotel whilst not the most modern in the world did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The food was of a good stand but the friendliness and efficiency particularly of the bar and dining room staff was of the highest order. I would certainly recommend it to anyone. it location close to the wall and within short distance of places of real historical interest make it ideal as a touring centre. Give it a try and ignore some of the negative points on here which seem strange to me to say the least.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for such a great, positive feedback. It is not often people come on here to praise in the way you have yourself. We hope you and your party return to the George one day as we look forward to welcoming you all back.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I had booked and paid extra for a superior room with scenic view for a special birthday celebration weekend only to be put in a dreadful, dark standard room. On complaining to reception I was told the computer would not let them change the room, no other rooms were available and the staff's attitude implied they did not care. A lady who I understood to be the manager eventually after a lot of discussion offered to refund the extra £111.00 I had paid. This was not acceptable, the room they had given us was dreadful. I requested a full refund as we wished to leave. We were asked to wait and eventually we were given a superior room. There were still lots of problems with lighting, comfort of beds, extractor fan, TV, free WiFi, - the list goes on. Did not bother to complain - not worth the effort. On the plus side food and waitresses good to excellent (steaks although an expensive supplement applied were superb). Lovely area but will not stay at a Coast and Country hotel again. The hassle to get the standard of room I had booked and paid for was so upsetting it spoit my birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
On your arrival at the hotel there had been a mistake in rooming allocation, the young lady who first dealt with your complaint did do her up most to help and resolve the issue.
A full refund was offered to you, but your question being because it was late afternoon were could you have gone to and especially after driving a long way.
A full apology although noted at this point it would not make a difference to yourselves was made to you along with complimentary drinks both in the late afternoon and in the evening.
Since I have been here we have had no complaints of any of our Superior or Premier rooms, I am once again sorry that this room did not meet your expectations either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

we have just got back having spent 5 days at the george hotel ,our room was very homely, and comfortable,the food was good, but we didnt agree with the supplements for a more varied menu ,the choice on the standard menu was limited, stayed in many shearings hotels , never had supplements on the breakfast menu either, staff were frienly, but didnt feel there was a good atmosphere especially in the dining room because everyone was eating at set times,different times, hotel setting was very relaxing, disapointed the pool was out of order but understand yiou have to do maintenence, over all a relaxing holiday Mr & Mrs Lusby

Room Tip: 216 lovely view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
I am pleased you found your room to be comfortable and the food good. It is a standard in Coast and Country Hotels who do supplements on menus.
Thank you for the understanding of the pool being shut due to maintenance, unfortunately it is one of those things the pool is now fully open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing