We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in September. Found hotel to need updating greatly. Toilet handle was hanging off the wall, and the service from the waiting staff at breakfast left much to be desired. Only ate here for breakfast which was average.

There was an adjoining door on between our room and the next and in the morning you could hear the other guests so loudly it was as though they were in our room! This def needs rectifying or for the hotel only to put families in adjoining rooms.

Didn't get chance to use pool do cant comment on that. Location on the river is nice.

Overall would not stay here again as not worth the money. I have written a letter to the hotel however reply not received which makes me think that customer service is not a priority for this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Blondie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I am sorry you found your room, waiting staff and breakfast not to your satisfaction, guests have actually always complemented the waiting staff and food as you can see from previous Trip Advisor comments.
If your room was not to the standard you expected and you had made a complaint to reception we would have dealt with the problems raised immediately or alternatively offered you another room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is a little jaded in parts but is so well situated that its forgiven! its literally a stroll; from Hadrians Wall and 20 mins from Kielder so well placed for discovering both newcastle and the beauty of the area. we had a room at the back looking over the gardens and river which was lovely. It was quiet and clean and staff are really helpful. The only let down was the very average food of the table d'hote menu... not a place for foodies but if you just need feeding at the end of a full dayits fine - surrounding in the bar area are modern but cosy.
Bedroom was clean and tidy - furniture a bit past its best and bathroom needed upgrading but still ok if you are after a comfy place to lay your head rather than "luxury".
hotel now owned by Shearings - the coach trip people - so a more "mature" clientele.

Room Tip: with a river view is a necessity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel, gardens and views. It is situated in a beautiful part of Northumberland were there are many advantages of walks and days out.
The standard Table De hote menu is included in HB rates, however you can up grade to the a la carte menu. This is of course at an extra cost but does have offers on the set prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went with our five year old son for a Sunday drink to check the place out and perhaps book for a Christmas treat as neither had been to the hotel in over 17 years. Nothing had changed the bar area had huge cobwebs hanging from the light fittings. It did amuse my son who counted all the cobwebs and spiders and cobwebs on the windows had dead bluebottles which had clearly been there fore some time. The staff were friendly but the place had no atmosphere. Lovely location. Expensive £10 for a lager, cider and diet coke. Won't be going again sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kimberley8036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I am sorry that you did not find parts of the hotel to liking or comfort. The cleanliness within the ground floor of the hotel has been looked into and reviewed with the standards of the highest order found and I find it hard to believe you are talking about the George hotel Chollerford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We received a really good deal on the price. The Hotel needs an update, but the staff and the food was really good.Would I stay there again? Certainly if only for the superb English breakfast, kippers included. The hotel is near Hadrians wall with all it's history and beauty. Hexham is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

The ground floor of the hotel is refurbished and newly decorated.
I agree, the hotel is situated in some beautiful grounds and the area is a fantastic place to go walking and sight seeing.
I am pleased you found the staff and the food to be really good, hopefully the Full English and kipper, set you up for a good day of walking and sight seeing. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

this hotel is surrounded by outstanding natural beauty. the views from our room window were fabulous. The public areas have been refurbished and are lovely. the rooms need some refurbishement but are very clean. some furniture is a little shabby but nothing to moan about. yes the tv is old fashioned but I dont go away for weekend breaks to watch telly so that wasnt a problem for us. The bathroom is very clean but again could do with a major upgrade. The staff were friendly and polite, they worked very hard. We were half board and breakfast was very nice. There wasnt a big choice of evening meal but everything we had we enjoyed. our biggest problem was that there isnt anywhere to go in the evening for a drink unless you go in the car. all things considered we would visit again

Room Tip: ask for south facing so you get a view of the river and bridge. we had 112 and would request it agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel. It is situated in a beautiful part of Northumberland were there are many advantages of walks and days out.
We have since had the TV’s changed to flat screen for those who do enjoy a bit of television.
The staff do work hard and I’m glad you had good service and found them and the food enjoyable.
The standard Table De hote menu is included in HB rates, however you can up grade to the a la carte menu. This is of course at an extra cost but does have offers on the set prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was my second stay at the George. This time with a large group of walking friends. The hotel whilst not the most modern in the world did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The food was of a good stand but the friendliness and efficiency particularly of the bar and dining room staff was of the highest order. I would certainly recommend it to anyone. it location close to the wall and within short distance of places of real historical interest make it ideal as a touring centre. Give it a try and ignore some of the negative points on here which seem strange to me to say the least.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for such a great, positive feedback. It is not often people come on here to praise in the way you have yourself. We hope you and your party return to the George one day as we look forward to welcoming you all back.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I had booked and paid extra for a superior room with scenic view for a special birthday celebration weekend only to be put in a dreadful, dark standard room. On complaining to reception I was told the computer would not let them change the room, no other rooms were available and the staff's attitude implied they did not care. A lady who I understood to be the manager eventually after a lot of discussion offered to refund the extra £111.00 I had paid. This was not acceptable, the room they had given us was dreadful. I requested a full refund as we wished to leave. We were asked to wait and eventually we were given a superior room. There were still lots of problems with lighting, comfort of beds, extractor fan, TV, free WiFi, - the list goes on. Did not bother to complain - not worth the effort. On the plus side food and waitresses good to excellent (steaks although an expensive supplement applied were superb). Lovely area but will not stay at a Coast and Country hotel again. The hassle to get the standard of room I had booked and paid for was so upsetting it spoit my birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

On your arrival at the hotel there had been a mistake in rooming allocation, the young lady who first dealt with your complaint did do her up most to help and resolve the issue.
A full refund was offered to you, but your question being because it was late afternoon were could you have gone to and especially after driving a long way.
A full apology although noted at this point it would not make a difference to yourselves was made to you along with complimentary drinks both in the late afternoon and in the evening.
Since I have been here we have had no complaints of any of our Superior or Premier rooms, I am once again sorry that this room did not meet your expectations either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,573 reviews
21.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: £46 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing