We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the george hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at the george hotel chollerford fri/mon 15/18th feb ,from booking in to booking out we had a lovely time,all the staff were very pleasant especially the dining room staff,who were very nice and efficent,the meal were all very nicely presented and HOT, our room was very nice we did not pay any extra but it could not have been nicer if we had,the swimming pool was an extra bonus to us and a nice swim after a nice day out was lovey everything in there was clean.no complaints.So yes we would definitly stay at this hotel again,well done every one.

Room Tip: number 217 was our room very quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dorothyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Dorothy n

Thank you for you comments. We are glad to hear you found all the staff pleasent, efficient and that the Leisure club was an added bonus for you to relax in after a long day out.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the George Hotel, Chollerford soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I spent one night here because of a wedding. We were not impressed!
The outside area was pretty, old and cozy, but when you get inside you can see that this hotel is in desperate need of a renovation..
We got our room key and a description of how to get there.. Difficult! It's kind of a maze in there..
The pool and training room was a disappointment too..
The only good thing about this hotel was the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear MajorSL

Thank you for your response

Within the hotel's public ground floor areas there has been refurbishment done, as they are all newly decorated with new fittings, chairs and tables.
At the hotel we don't just have standard rooms, we also have rooms with a River View, 1 Superior Rooms with River View, 1 Premier Room with River View and 2 Premier Rooms. These are all at an extra cost, if you did not find your room to be of the standard you were expecting a request at reception for you room to be changed is always possible, providing of course the hotel is not full.
There is also 2 car parks one at the front of the hotel and one at the rear, if using the correct car park for were your room is allocated then it is quite easy to be able get to your room weather in the 100's, 200's or 300's.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your break here at the George Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed at the George on 28 January for 4 Nights. Had a very good deal with Shearings. We found the hotel very nice, room very clean and comfortable, slept really well there. Staff are all very nice, food excellent. We stayed in room 113 which looked over the swimming pool and small garden. Quite a nice outlook, better than looking over a car park! We didn't have time to use the pool as we had so many great outings with Shearings. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Was told rooms on south side faced the river, but hotel was full up when we arrived so could not acc...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tessy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Tessy1943

Thank you for your response

It is such a delight to read your positive and kind response to your 4 night break at the George Hotel, it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the George Hotel late January 2013, check in was quick and efficient and we were given room 101 (a bit too Orwellian) we found our room after what felt like a long trek through a warren of quite narrow corridors only to find the room was next to the rear car park entrance, we could have driven their in half the time it took to walk.
The room itself was very clean and quite spacious and well heated. The decor was a little dated, the hotel had obviously installed good quality furniture some time ago (a wall plaque mentioned an opening date of 1978) but it was beginning to look a little tired. I got the same impression with the access corridors, quality materials that were aging badly, but all spotlessly clean, the housekeeping staff certainly do a great job.
The hotel gave mixed messages about its carbon footprint, the room had energy saving bulbs which took an age to "warm up" but the reception area was always stiflingly hot.
I found the WiFi option very disappointing, the booking website stated that WiFi was available in all areas, this isn't true, its only available around the reception area and the signal strength was at best sporadic.
Breakfast was good quality and the service was very good, we had dinner twice in the hotel and both times the food was excellent (the wine was a little pricey, but its the same the world over), We can also highly recommend the Crown Inn at Humshaugh for hearty pub grub.

The hotel is in a great location for country walks & Hadrian's wall (weather permitting) and Hexham is well worth a visit (once you get past the supermarket area)
All in all the George Hotel is good value with warm spacious, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and great views.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grampy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Grampy G
Thank you for your response.

Firstly id like to apologise for you not being informed on check in that if you were to drive around to the rear car park your room would have been the first on the left from that entrance.

I am pleased you found your room to be clean and warm, we do have plans for the year to have the corridors touched up in areas, and also this year we have some rooms that are being re-furbished into a new colour scheme and spec.

The hotel is in a beautiful location along with some spectacular views along Hadrian’s Wall and out in Northumberland itself?

We look forward to welcoming you back here at the George Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I booked a room for Friday and Saturday evenings but, living in the South East, I was unable to make the 380 mile journey to The George Hotel because of appalling national weather conditions. All the advice on the news and radio was to not undertake any non-essential journeys. I'm glad I turned around half way up the A1 - the snow had been really hard and I can't even get out of my drive now.

Despite this the hotel won't refund me. Yes, I do understand that my booking was non-cancellable and non-transferable but any reasonable establishment would see that the conditions were exceptional and refund the money as a good will gesture. Bookings are made non-cancellable etc to prevent people booking and then changing their minds and stopping other bookings being taken but it's not like I deliberately messed them around and I very much doubt I prevented them taking a different booking (although I guess they might suggest that was the case).

Very disappointed

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Alex C

It is unfortunate that you had to cancel your 2 night stay due to weather conditions; however it was and always is possible in these circumstances for u to arrange alternative dates so that you do not loose any payment that you may have already made. All you would have needed to do is pay the price difference between your previous dates and the new dates - if coming in season were the prices do go up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

this hotel is in a great location for outdoor life the room 110 was a bit dated but clean in every way if you wanted anything all you needed to do was ask and it was there facilities were great with the pool etc. food was ok but i am a wee bit fussy when it comes to it i like my foodpiping hot and most of the time it was lukewarm. the dining room could do with a lot more heating but it was exceptionally cold when we were there its not all that pleasant eating when you are cold but the view was great staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. what else to say a great short break that doesnt break the bank !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinascotlandScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear tinascotlandScotland

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything the hotel and surrounding area has to offer, thank you so much for your review it reads very well.

We hope to see you again soon were we can make sure you food is piping hot exactly how you like it!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect in every way, Room was first class, Bar, Restaurant, Leisure facilities, Lovely Swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi. Above all the staff in every department. Would recommend this hotel & it was value for money, Area around the hotel was great for outdoor life & views.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have great view bridge & river
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Harrychoice

Thank you for such an outstanding review, I am so very pleased that you loved everything that the hotel has to offer including the beautiful surrounding areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the George sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,139 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing