We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Weekend Break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Weekend Break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are not long back home after our weekend break at the George Hotel.
What a lovely setting on the riverside & very convenient for visiting the local "English Heritage" sites with the Roman remains, which were all very interesting & informing.
The Hotel was very welcoming & our room, although dated was very clean with a nice view over the garden & the indoor pool. The downside was that where our room was situated we had to go through 9 doors, before we reached the Reception area, where we had to exchange our room key for one for the pool area, which was near our room!! However, when the weather is fine you can easily walk through the gardens.
We really appreciated the swimming pool & I enjoyed the Jacuzzi. The pool towels were fluffy & large.
The dining room is very pleasant as were all the waiting staff, who worked hard bringing all our tasty meals.
Overall a good experience, despite some rainy weather!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your honest and positive review, I shall pass your comments on to the team and I am sure they will be thrilled.
This area is overflowing with history; Chester’s Roman Fort and Museum is a short walk from the hotel and certainly worth the visit for guests of all ages.
We recently found a hotel guest book which dates back to 1897 and even has a comment and signature of a Mr & Mrs Baden Powell, I am sure that you saw the scouting information and booklets so this will make sense to you.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future, we will try for some sunshine the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    223
    161
    91
    56
See reviews for
79
416
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had a 4 night stay in January at this excellent hotel on the banks of the North Tyne in beautiful scenic countryside. Close to Hadrians Wall and the town of Hexham in Northumbria.
Our room was very large with a great bathroom and shower,comfortable beds and first class in every way. A nice airy dining room overlooking the gardens and river, food very good and staff very helpful and courteous. Highly recommende. Look forward to re visiting

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
William, thank you for your review. It is rewarding for the team to see these comments as it really does help boost morale.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Situated bang on the Hadrian's Wall route, this is an ideal stop for any walkers. The setting is stunning as well right next to the river overlooked by an old bridge.

The hotel was the cheapest of all the places that we stayed on the walk and the rooms were of a good size. The hotel though is looking tired and probably in need of a revamp although as Walkers who just need a shower and a bed, it is more than adequate. However, had we been staying for a romantic weekend then we would have been disappointed.

The staff were all very friendly with the receptionist the pick of the bunch. We ate in the restaurant and the 3 course set menu was really good value as was the pack lunch we booked for the following day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasider968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
As a fellow seasider I can certainly agree with your comments, the countryside views are amazing at the George and the bridge does top it off.
We are indeed right on the trail of Hadrian’s Wall so we do receive many tourists who enjoy the facilities at the George. I am sure that you enjoyed the beer garden after a long days walk. I just hope that the sun came out and made the rest of your walk enjoyable too.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent 3 nights here over the very busy Easter weekend.

Our room was very comfortable, warm & clean. No idea if the TV worked because we were too busy to try it! All staff were friendly & helpful.

The food was great, plenty of choice on the set menu, but there is a deal on offer if you wish to choose from the A la Carte menu instead.

Lovely area to explore, nowhere seems to be very far from anywhere else.

would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyladyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review, you are correct in saying that it is a lovely place to explore, and that no where seems to be very far from anywhere else. We are an ideal base for people wishing to visit the historic sites in the area and only 20 miles from Newcastle to if you wish to experience the famous Geordie nightlife!!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent four nights in the area salmon fishing on the Tyne. The first two nights we were able to get rooms at the brilliant Angel Hotel in nearby Corbridge. The difference was a shock to the system. The setting of the Hotel couldn't have been bettered. Right on the river and overlooking a beautiful old road bridge. It went downhill fast! The George is a lovely old building unlike the rooms in the wing built in the 70's and probably not updated since then. My room was dingy with one bedside light not working. The window was left open by the cleaning staff to help alleviate the condensation and the towels were paper thin having seen better days.The first evening we ate in the restaurant and had probably the worst steak ever with "boil in the bag" frozen vegetables.
Breakfast the next morning was awful - ham and eggs. One slice of toast with a single slice of ham and one over cooked poached egg. We ate out the next evening in Corbridge and didn't bother to stay for breakfast on the morning of departure.
The hotel was busy and appeared to be full of elderly people on a coach trip to the local area. On returning to the hotel on the first night, cold and wet from a day's fishing there was nobody on reception to hand over the key and I waited minutes for somebody to turn up. Reception wasn't manned after 10.00pm with a note announcing the mobile 'phone number of the night porter.
For very little more money there are far better alternatives. My advice, avoid the George.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. I have visited the Angel in Corbridge myself and I do agree that it is a brilliant establishment, being honest I would have been very proud if our food and accommodation did live up to that of a highly rated 4 star hotel with an award winning restaurant.
I have passed on your comments regarding the towels to our laundry supplier and the steak to our local butcher, and I must also inform you and any other future guests that our vegetables are certainly not frozen and definitely not boil in the bag. Nor will they ever be.
Reception is manned from 0730 till 2230 everyday and then the night porter takes over and indeed there is a phone and a notice at reception should you need his attention while he is carrying out duties in another part of the hotel.
Regarding your comment about the “elderly People”. If you did not realise at the time of booking, we are owned by Coast and Country Hotels and they do operate a coach tour sometimes from a Monday to Friday, this coach helps increase room sales and keeps our business going. These guests are certainly not elderly and they fully enjoy there holidays and the excellent excursions that the coach does go on too.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we do read and respond to all of our reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chollerford hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Gorgeous venue by the River Tyne just off Hadrian's Wall. It was quiet when we arrived but we were greeted by very friendly and professional staff.

The Bar Meals were inexpensive and although my Roast Beef meal (£7.95) was over cooked for my liking, my friend's Sirloin Steak was juicy, succulent and described as fantastic.

Will definitely go back as it is so charming and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your lunch and that you will return. The weather is starting to turn amazing now and the gardens are an amazing place for your next spot of lunch!
We don’t often get reviews from non hotel staying guests so to hear that guests that come and enjoy lunch are taking the time to write a review for us really is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lounges give false sense of hope as they are lovely. Rest of hotel especially rooms and corridors stuck in a very dated and dusty time warp ( light bulbs made me sneeze) even still have two pin round plugs on bedside lights. More worrying were the mouldy curtains ( room 119) due to heavy condensation caused by lack of room radiator heat ( non existent in bathroom ) and a useless electric heater ( cuts out after five mins ) on aluminium windows creating an internal water feature.
My biggest concern is personal safety. The easy access ( why no electronic fob???) by literally anyone from side entrance open to all which although a fire door was consitently wedged open. When wedge was removed it does not close too. Not a case of sleep well... more burn well!!
On arrival at 2.15pm reception barked that check was not till 3pm. I asked if poss to just see if our room was ready and a flat refusal to even check just same barked instruction to return at 3pm. We did ...along with everyone else which then meant a huge delay/ queue and even more stressed receptionist.. First impression count for nothing here. Im more than happy with cheap and chearful and budget hotels The George unfortunately is neither but with more consideration and some investment could warrant five star and double the fee given its location and potential. Frustrated that its more take your money and run.. The only good point i can make is the lovely friendly waiting staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a hotel company we are constantly improving our hotels and The George is one that is receiving refurbishment for some of its rooms next month. I am sure that you agree that to see a hotel investing in refurbishment in the current economical climate is a good sign.
When we inherited the hotel from the previous owners it was left in a serious state of disrepair. The public areas have been refurbished first as we feel they are the place that you would spend the most quality time. Bedrooms are next on the agenda and then when these are out of the way possible the corridors, However I must say that these were only re painted a couple of months back.
Your comments regarding the room have somewhat confused me, I have been and inspected that room and do not see any mouldy curtains, and the issue about safety regarding a door being opened does not make any sense too. There is a fire door next to the room which does get regularly checked and by law these are kept closed. We certainly would not expect guest to use an electric fob to operate a fire door.
As it does state in the booking confirmation it is indeed 3 o clock for check in, only if all of the rooms are ready or it has been arranged in advance would we let guests in before this time.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing