We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break to see Hadrians Wall”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had read previous reviews, so was a bit worried about booking this hotel for a stay 2 nights with my husband.The location looked perfect so we went ahead with the booking.
All the hotel staff were extremely professional,pleasant and efficient.
The reception areas are well maintained and have been updated.
We both thought the breakfasts and evening meals were presented very well and tasted good.
I agree with other reviews, the hotel bedrooms are in need of an update, but I think their previous guests have been very heavy handed causing the damage to washbasins and the bedroom furniture.
No lifts if you have any mobility problems, it can be quite a walk from the car park to the bedroom.
For the price of a half board stay I would recommend this hotel, knowing beforehand that the bedrooms are a bit worn, but if you get a river view at no extra cost!!
Unfortunately we didn't use the Leisure facilities so I cant comment on them.
The grounds and gardens also need a bit of care, but if you just want an overnight as a base and this hotel break is not the main part of your holiday,then this hotel is good value.

Room Tip: River View
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, As a company we are constantly improving our hotels. We have some more rooms being refurbished in the later half of this month. We do read and respond to every review on Trip Advisor. So thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our walk of Hadrian's Wall. The George is in a lovely setting with a pretty garden overlooking a beautiful bridge over the river but one should curb expectations. We arrived to find that, despite repeated 'phone calls beforehand and a promise to ring us back, our booking had not been recorded. Fortunately (after a long day's walk), a room was available. Reception at the hotel and service throughout was very good. However, this hotel appears to be stuck in the '70s or '80s and is in dire need of refurbishment. It clearly caters for an elderly clientele which is reflected in the menu as well as the general decor and standard of the rooms. The George has potential but much investment and refurbishment is needed if this is to be a sustainable business that offers real value for money,

Room Tip: Long rambling corridors and unsuitable for disabled with heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I have passed on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Came here with the wife whilst on business in the area and decided on somewhere close to the show the next day.

checked booking.com and this hotel came up, so rang them direct and got a better deal, great tip for anyone using online booking, even if you get same rate at least the commission stays with the hotel which can only help them make more money and re-invest in the hotel.

Liaised with Niki who was extremely helpful via email and again on reception when we checked in.

The room looks like it has been re-furbished and was spacious and comfortable, with a good hot shower. We were fortunate enough to have a view over the river and the bridge which was excellent especially considering it was a pleasant evening.

The main public areas of the hotel also looked like they have been refurbished and were modern and clean and there were places to hide and have a drink, however we sat in the bar by the open fire.

We booked a table for 8pm and were promptly seated and served by efficient and friendly waiting staff. We ate from the a la carte menu and had the following:

Seafood Chowder - smoked haddock, salmon and i think hake in a creamy sauce with garlic bread, this was superb, quite heavy but very scrumptious!

Melon and parma ham - did exactly what it said on the tin but a generous and well presented portion

Lamb shank - a right old chunk of meat in a lovely rich gravy served on a small bed of mash and accompanying veg - very good meat perfect for anyone who enjoys lamb

steak - cooked as per our instructions, chips were good too

creme brulee - one of best ive ever had, a silky consistency beneath crunchy sugar


Overall we had an excellent stay and would happily return.

My only suggestion would be to introduce a system where you didn't have to sign a check every time you ordered something. whether it was food or a drink we were asked "are you half board, what room are you, can you sign please", there was no rudeness in it but surely when we check into our room and we book a table all the information should be saved. It was a minor nuisance but didn't detract from our evening.

Room Tip: views over river very nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for leaving an honest and positive review, I shall be sure to pass on your comments to the chef regarding the food and to the rest of the team your other comments.
We ask guests to sign the check every time for security, If we didn’t and someone was charging it to another room we would have no way of knowing.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Pressure should be put on Shearings as the owner of this hotel to do a massive refurbishment! The standard rooms would disgrace the average B & B and the bathrooms are not fit for purpose. Our first room had a lovely view but the bathroom had a non-working extractor fan and a shower which was so poor, we were unable to use it. After one night, we complained and were upgraded to a premier room with modern furnishings, a good bed and a bathroom with walk-in shower. The duty manager dealt with our complaint swiftly and is obviously aware of the on-going problems. A great pity as overall, the hotel is good value for money but it is trading on the assumption that the majority of guests will put up with these poor conditions.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are a better bet than the standard ones but may not have a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colstongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review, I do agree that some bedrooms do need a refurbishment. However at this moment in time it is not viable for the hotel. We have refurbished the public areas and are getting around the rooms shortly. We do have a refurbishment plan and eventually all rooms will be refurbished.
Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed to find no one in attendance at lunch time, Sunday lunch is usually a busy time for bar meals, we had traveled from Carlisle to be informed the chef was to busy with a private party to make any bar meals, a number of customers were turned away 5 of our party amongst them, I understood the member of staffs frustration at the managements inadequacy to support a simple staff rotation task, I don't know any business that can afford to turn customers away !!
Clearly there is something wrong here, perhaps the group/ company that owns the place can shine a light on a potentially damaging situation.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Thaifoodcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

At the time that you arrived the kitchen was sending out food for over 90 guests that were having a function in the restaurant. As far as I am aware the kitchen was still serving bar food but possibly there was a delay whilst the function was being served. Thank you for your comment and I will be sure to bring this up with the head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My first time ever on Shearings coach holiday staying at The George, on arrival we were given the key to our room, I had asked for a scenic view, we were greeted with a few of overgrown trees, the back of a run down gym and the car park. The room was dark, dingy, with ancient out of date furniture and decor, the bathroom sink had a crack init, the toilet handle came off in your hand, the shower and curtain over the bath was filthy and slimy, also we had cobwebs behind a chair. We could not be moved to another room as they had no more spare twins, I doubt it would have made a difference. Like another review , we had food and breakfast the first day, but opted to eat out after as the food was disgusting. The attitude of the reception staff was terrible, the only pleasant person was the barman. Restaurant staff, I think had be brought in to learn English, it was a struggle to make the understand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I was working at the time of your stay and I feel disheartened that you never brought this to my attention.
I have looked into your booking and you booked a standard twin room, non of these do have a scenic view (assuming that you mean of the river) they do overlook the rear gardens, but only a few rooms overlook the car park and these are not twin rooms.
The handles to the toilet were an issue that we inherited from the previous hoteliers at the George, we have changed a majority of them to push handles but some are still to be done, however they do not come away from the unit. The room that you stayed in is due to be refurbished mid June so this will no longer be an issue. Should you wish to visit the George again please book directly so we can tailor the booking more to your liking. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are not long back home after our weekend break at the George Hotel.
What a lovely setting on the riverside & very convenient for visiting the local "English Heritage" sites with the Roman remains, which were all very interesting & informing.
The Hotel was very welcoming & our room, although dated was very clean with a nice view over the garden & the indoor pool. The downside was that where our room was situated we had to go through 9 doors, before we reached the Reception area, where we had to exchange our room key for one for the pool area, which was near our room!! However, when the weather is fine you can easily walk through the gardens.
We really appreciated the swimming pool & I enjoyed the Jacuzzi. The pool towels were fluffy & large.
The dining room is very pleasant as were all the waiting staff, who worked hard bringing all our tasty meals.
Overall a good experience, despite some rainy weather!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your honest and positive review, I shall pass your comments on to the team and I am sure they will be thrilled.
This area is overflowing with history; Chester’s Roman Fort and Museum is a short walk from the hotel and certainly worth the visit for guests of all ages.
We recently found a hotel guest book which dates back to 1897 and even has a comment and signature of a Mr & Mrs Baden Powell, I am sure that you saw the scouting information and booklets so this will make sense to you.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future, we will try for some sunshine the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,139 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,534 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing