We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country hotel near Hadrian's Wall”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent country hotel near Hadrian's Wall”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautifully located hotel beside the river. Good food. Comfortable,clean bedrooms. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar prices were a little steep though. Quiet location in village.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has wonderful views of the gardens and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 108KayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    233
    167
    95
    58
See reviews for
83
435
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lunch before Chesters - was directed to the cocktail bar for light bites etc as the full restaurant is only on at dinner. Not an issue but when you're charging £8 for scampi and chips, make sure it's not just becuase you're a hotel by the river bank! We spent £20 for a pint, a small wine, scampi and chips, soup and sandwiches, and really, perhaps the George is just not very bothered, but it is distinctly average cantine fare that I could've got at the tea rooms across the roundabout. To its credit, it's a gorgeous location so I would spend time particularly in the outside area admiring the river bank views.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank periwinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review, We do update our light bight menus each year and the prices are reflective not just of the location but of prices that other hotels/bars in the area set too. I do agree that you probably could get the same thing over the road at the cafe for a small amount cheaper. But then you would not receive the service or standards that you would at the George, nor would you be able to have the excellent view that the George offers. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent location food great staff very hard working and always cheerful the rooms are very comfortable and cleaned to a very high standard would defiantly stay here again very good value for money we have rebooted for early next year if have booked you Will not be disappointed

Room Tip: River view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Joseph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, we are thrilled that you have booked for next year and we look forward to seeing you then. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were at the George last weekend.We had a nice stay and the hotel was fine. However, this establishment could so easily be a 4 or 5 star hotel. It has so much going for it. Fab old building, terrific location. It stands on a river bank and has lovely gardens. The swimming pool is small but beautifully formed as they say. All they really need to do to make it great is upgrade the food from OK to very good. Bigger portions would be nice. Vegetables could so easily be fresh as they have a really big greenhouse that is not being used. It was at one point but it was abandoned at some point and left to overrun. Instead they serve tasteless frozen veg which they buy in bulk consignments. Staff are a bit scarce at times.At one point on Saturday,the barman in the cocktail bar was running between there and the restaurant serving meals. The poor lad was actually running between them. Have to say the staff were brilliant and breakfast was served quickly and was very nice. Would it hurt to serve two sausages with the full breakfast? They were delicious but quite small.Please Management team, learn from our American cousins, do not be stingy with the food portions. Remember, the actual food is quite cheap to buy in wholesale, it's the prep and staffing levels that cost the most. As I said great hotel which is a credit as a 3* but could be a 4* without a lot of effort. Such a fabulous hotel not being used to it's full potential. Big thanks to all the staff who were great, especially Arico who was a joy. (hope I got the name right, she is from Hungary I think)

Room Tip: Upgrade, the ordinary rooms have very soft beds.Which is OK if you like that. But not if you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I have passed your comments on to the team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from an excellent 2 night stay at the George to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, having stayed there on our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the Premier Rooms with a 4 poster bed, the mattress and pillows were so comfortable that it ensured an excellent nights sleep. The bathroom was super, beautifully clean with both a bath and shower cubicle. The room also had a small sitting area. The room was well decorated and again very clean.
The reception staff at the Saturday Check In were superb, very friendly and helpful. They really did make you feel welcome and wanted as a guest. They dealt with a small issue that we had exceedingly swiftly and effectively. All the staff in the restaurant were great, they did their job quietly but effectively and once again were very friendly. The barman on the Saturday night was great, we asked for a pitcher of Pimms, he told us it would be a few minutes being prepared but he would bring it to our table. It was a first class Pimms and he came to find us later to make sure that we had enjoyed it. Unfortunately the receptionist at check out did let the the team down, barely a smile and never asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if everything had been ok. Such a shame, given all the other staff, as this is the last memory you take home!
The food was superb, from afternoon tea on the lawn, to our evening meals and breakfasts. It was fresh, hot, well cooked and well presented at both dinner and breakfast.
The hotel is in a super location, the gardens are first class with the river running past the bottom of the garden.
One very minor gripe would be the wifi. It isn't always easy to connect and is very slow when it does. This shouldn't put you off visiting an otherwise super hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappycoupleBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Wow, thank you for your very positive review. I shall ensure that the team hear your kind words. I shall make sure that the receptionist that was on duty that morning is aware of your comments too. I have checked the WIFI and I have managed to connect in all areas of the hotel, this problem may have been down to some simple setting adjustments that can be made. For any future guests if you are struggling with the WIFI or wish for help in downloading the fastconnect app please contact reception during your stay. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shortlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms 218 and 220 old fashioned and tired. Bathroom in 220 had huge crack in the sink and the shower temperature was very hit and miss. We ordered sandwiches on arrival and waited well in excess of half an hour for them. The bed linen was spotlessly clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was very average and the service very slow - think this was due to not enough staff on duty as those that were on duty were rushing around. Finally on leaving we were told we had not paid in full despite having proof (as had the receptionist) that we had. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torretorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments on to the maintanance team who will look into the issues with the room. At the time that you ordered your sandwiches the bar and terrace was busy with other people waiting for food, so your food would of been in a queue. In regards to check out what had happened was that you had booked through an online booking site which takes your details to confirm the booking, any money that would be taken would only be done by by ourselves. which in this instance was not. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chollerford hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with coach party. Everything very good. Hotel layout a bit of a maze. Sometimes could of done with some breadcrumbs to drop to find way around. Not a typical shearings hotel. Swimming pool very good. Excellent stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to the George with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,109 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing