We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
148
260
181
98
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
260
181
98
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth tynethree stara la carte menuhadrian's wallweekend breakbar mealsrestaurant stafflovely settingsteam roomoverlooking the riverchesters roman fortkippersenjoyable stayleisure clubwell worth a visitfull englishspa facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This hotel looks quite nice from the outside but once you get inside you can see its very tired and worn out - it appears to be owned by Schearings Coach Holidays (thats what the receipt says at the end of your stay) so overwhelmingly evryone staying there is either on a coach package or some other form of touring package and a pensioner!. The dinner was poor and expensive (6 pounds 50 supplement for a steak that was beaten to death and cooked to charcoal - it was incredibly poor) - we were also at dinner seated next to a damp wall (paper peeling, plaster crumbling etc) it was so obviously a bad position that we laughed as did the people next to us. That night we didnt sleep as the staff held a bbq oustide for the staff - this admittedly only went on till midnight but it simply seemed to ignore the fact that this was a hotel and people may be trying to sleep - even worse the waiters at breakfast told us that they had a bbq and that they were noisy - quite an odd admission. In summary - room was okay ish, food was appallingly bad, location is great and that was all that mattered as we were walking Hadrians Wall that passed through Chollerford - apart form that we wouldnt recommend it or stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1QualityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here 15 years ago and re-visited it in June for a special occasion. We were very disappointed that the standards had visibly dropped in that time. The decor was badly in need of updating, with worn carpets greeting you as you entered the building, and wallpaper peeling in some rooms. It desperately needed a good clean with dust on surfaces in both public rooms and in our bedroom. The leisure facilities were out of action because of emergency repairs taking place to a leaking swimming pool, and the gardens badly need some attention. Food was adequate, but there are plenty of good inns offering at least as good if not better value for money in the locality.
Its a great location with nice views across the river, but sadly the hotel is no longer what it once was.
I wouldn't recommend this at the prices charged. It requires some serious attention to cleanliness and maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

this was a huge disappointment. the location is great for Wall walkers and the hotel is set right on the river bank. The room was adequate with a bathtub and lots of hot water. That's about the best that can be said for it. Unhelpful, uninterested staff, food horrendous, overinflated prices; terrible value. stay anywhere else if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hadrianwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

After reading a number of other reviews its fair to say my partner and I had some concerns about our two night stay at the Hotel, unfortunately these were to be confirmed. We were allocated room no.120, which comes with stunning views of the river and garden, however, the decoration leaves a lot to be desired and in need of an update (wallpaper coming from the walls). Whilst we walked along the corridor on arrival we had a feeling of the cold, however, we thought that once we got into the room this would be a different case, how wrong we were!!!! As we entered we realised it was even colder, with the radiators being lukewarm at best. The corridors had a stale smell, which resembled dampness, this maybe understandable given how cold it was. I have to say at this point that this was the annex part of the hotel (back of the hotel) and was the only part of the hotel that appeared cold. The corrdiors in the main building were very warm and the rooms were most probably indicative of this. However, back to room 120, we should have on refection requested a change of room immediately, particularly as we had a baby with us but we thought maybe it would warm up later in the day. After a nice meal at the hotel. a nice quiet drink, it was back to the cold room to sleep???? Well, this would have been fine if the baby had of been warm enough. We had to bring our baby into bed to warm him up.

Things got no better the next day when we discovered we had no fresh towels and the ones we were using were the ones we'd used the previous day, which had simply been neatly folded and presented for use again. The towels were still damp and through the lack of heat in the room made it impossible for them to dry.

Coffee/Tea making facilities - yes they were there, but when we attempted to make a brew on the second day we discovered that the cups had mearly been rinsed and placed back for use with the coffee still evident in the cup and saucer.Obviously we had no drinks at this point.

Leisure - On the plus side we enjoyed the leisure facilites, the pool, sauna and steam room are well maintained, lovely!

We stayed on a two nights dinner bed and breakfast deal and found the food to be of a good standard, and altough our first morning at breakfast went without problems, on the second morning we waited 52 minutes before being served our breakfast after the order had been taken. It must be stated, however, that while the restaurant staff worked very hard there appeared to be no stucture or organisation, with the waiters/resses attending to all tables, not knowing what had been done or vice versa, hence the breakfast service on our second morning resembled something from Fawtly Towers!!!!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but this was merely down to the banter with the staff who were very accomodating.

One last point of interest - this may be classed as 3 star accomodation, however, no questionnaires were made available, and if we had not of complained at the end of the stay the hotel would not have known our concerns. I wonder who it is who assesses the star rating?????"

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Go to Hexham or Newcastle. Over 200 years old and looks every year of it. Undergoing renovation work, would be better if it were demolished and they rebuilt it. I had food poisoning on my final night, for only the second time in my life.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drewpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews