We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Widnes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We have just come back from the George and what a great holiday we had. The hotel is fantastic all round. The hotel is very clean and the staff are excellent nothing is to much trouble for them. What ever we asked for it was provided with out question and with a smile. the staff in the restaurant were pleasant and eager to please. Each night after dinner we asked if we could have our coffee outside, the staff always said to go outside and they would bring it out for us which they did. We asked for extra coffee and milk in our room and this was provided by the lady that cleaned our room. Carl in the bar was very pleasant and always prepared to do anything he could to help.
We have been on about 7 Shearings holidays now and the food in the George is by far the best we have had. Tthe food was always hot and cooked very well. When you go to restaurants they are ways say to be careful of the plate being hot and really they are warm, but in the George they really were hot.
Although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere the setting is beautiful.
We would recommend that anybody looking for a relaxing holiday should try the George.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    234
    168
    95
    59
See reviews for
84
439
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Firstly, we didn't stay here but were at the camping ground across the street that is only for Hadrian's Wall through walkers - so not even for the crowds. 'We' were a mother and two children (7 & 5 yo and yes they walked the whole lot). After arriving in Chollerford, we set up the tent and then went across for dinner but the officious woman on the front desk said they were too busy. By now, the sandwhich shop/petrol station was closed. I pleaded that there must be something they could serve kids but she told us to go to another town and try there. Exactly what we felt like doing after walking 15 km. There were 3 other tents and all were refused. We ended up with cheese and bikkies from our emergency rations for dinner. Even if Monday 31 May was the busiest night ever, I don't think it was asking too much to add a sausage to your grill and give it as a take away. The lack of empathy was amazing. Shame on you Swallow George, shame, shame, shame.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wombatinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chollerford hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

the sevice was 1st class in all areas , our room (326 ) had fab views over the gardens and river !! the bathroom was excellent we had a problem with the extracter fan carl sorted that for us which we were very pleased about as it was very very noisey 'the location is perfect for walkers we walked into hexham !!the best thing for me and my friend was the views and the gardens and watching the rabits which are very tame and all over the place much to the dislike of the staff due to them eatting the plants !! jamie 'dale and staff are doing a dam good job !! i will be back !!!!!! o for got to say the food was of fine dining standard gawjus

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel last year and enjoyed it . Not told it was being refurbished and being asthmatic could not sit in hotel as the smell of paint made me cough . Our bedroom 102 was terrible ,bins and dirty washing outside our window , the staff also smoked there so I could not open the window . Cobwebs in bedroom also in the room they were using as a dining room , they were in the corner of the beams and the curtain pelments were hanging with them . We complained to the manager about the state of hotel and told him if we had not paid at time of booking we would have moved on, he offered us a bottle of wine with our first nights meal. Big deal !!!Gallo wine that we buy 3 bottles for £10 at Asda. We left as soon as we had Breakfast on our second night's stay.Should have been told refurbishment in progress. The Hotel in a lovely setting its a pity what should have been a relaxing few days away ,ended up a nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed in the hotel over the weekend, which seems to be at the beginning of a refurbishment. The food, facilities and staff were excellent and the location was great for touring. Room was a bit tatty but the bed was comfy in our room. Leisure facilities very good. Very difficulty for people with mobility problems as there were lots of corridors and stairs, no evidence of a lift. Reception not always manned, had to get a girl from the kitchen to assist when we arrive. Overall a good experience, will go back and stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Stunning location alongside North Tyne valley adjacent to Roman Wall. Only critisicms were that rooms were slightly tired and staff a bit disorganised but these are relatively small points. Otherwise, the staff were pleasant and helpful - particularly in Reception - and made our stay memorable. The food was excellent. A Swimming Pool and Spa facilities are included.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone as Good Value

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

After all the critical comments we were not looking forward to our stay but it turned out to be one of the best Shearings hotel we have been to and we would not like others to be put off by what they might read.Food was excellent and tastefully presented and the staff were all helpful and pleasant. On the basis of our experience we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,520 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing