We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel,food & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel was beautiful. The rooms were huge with lots of extras including a butler. The food was fabulous. The best restaurant was Italian although they were all good. The staff was so friendly that it was infectious. The beach was not as nice as Punta Cana but it was still nice.
Will definitely return to Jamaica. Maybe not the Montego Bay Area but Negril

Room Tip: The rooms are close to everything. I don't believe there would be a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming comments. We have noted your kind recommendation of our food, restaurants, and friendly staff and appreciate that you have chosen to share your review on this website. We hope that you will reconsider returning to our hotel especially as we offer value for money and a convenient location which is close to the airport. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back and trust that you will not hesitate to call on us when planning your next vacation regarding any special requests you may have, via pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,904 - 3,910 of 6,807 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our third stay and the staff and resort did not disappoint. Here's why we keep coming back:
- The staff is the friendliest, kindest we have ever encountered in our travels and they remember return customers.
- 15 minutes from the airport - why waste vacation time on long drives
- Beautiful grounds, beach and pools
-Great room with mini bar to your specification
-Buffet food is good and ala carte restaurants are excellent
-Resort keeps upgrading - this time wifi in the rooms which was a nice addition

Everytime I think about traveling elsewhere I remember the wonderful staff, resort and atmosphere and can't go anywhere else because I am afraid it will not be as good as the Grand.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thrash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are encouraged by reviews such as yours as it highlights that our high level of service, keeps you returning year after year. Your positive comments about our staff, beautiful grounds, rooms and delicious food is also inspiring as our staff work assiduously to ensure the satisfaction of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you on your fourth stay and trust that you will not hesitate to think of the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall as your “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our third stay at the Grand Rose Hall. We went back for our tenth anniversary. There were quite a few improvements over our last trip. They are now finally playing more reggae music by the pool! We used the spa every day. It was heaven. The food was as excellent as we remembered it. They consistently had better food than we have had at most other all inclusive resorts. The room service is still excellent, although they did send the wrong food order three times! But it's vacation, and no worries. My wife loves Mohitos, but they ran out of mint at the pool bar on our first day and never had any the rest of the week. One disappointment was that the beds by the pool all used to have tents covering them. It gave great privacy and protection from the sun. They should bring them back. The Pirate Beach Party was amazing. No resort will ever be perfect, but they do a great job of trying to make you happy. The butlers went out of their way to help us with any request.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We were grateful to learn that you chose to return a third time to our property on the occasion of your 10th Anniversary. Your generous recommendation of our food, pirate beach party and butler service will certainly serve to motivate our team.

We apologize for the miscommunication with your room service orders and are sorry that our Public Relations Team did not hear from you regarding the inconsistency of our room service. Feedback such as yours assists us in rectifying issues and also to be aware of what aspects of our service are satisfactory.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

When we had first arrived we were booked for the Iberostar Beaches and were not impressed. We asked to look at and then switch to the Iberostar Rose Hall and the staff took us back and forth by way of golf carts and made the transition seem like no problem whatsoever. The views at Rose Hall are breathtaking and from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The swim up bar and view were incredible and the bartenders were as entertaining as any live show. The food was varying and delicious. They had lots for people to do to be entertained or you could do nothing at all and just enjoy the views undisturbed. Highly relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We are grateful to hear that we had been successful at providing you with a flawless and relaxing vacation. Your comments about our friendly staff, entertaining bartenders, delicious food and scenic views was also rewarding to our team. We look forward to serving you again and hope that you will think of us as your vacation “home away from home” when planning your future vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We visited the IGRH from November 3-10. The place is very nice and I am sure if you never been to an Iberostar Grand before you would think it was great. Let me start with the Pros. When we got there they gave us a free upgrade to an Ocean Front room since we are guests of the other Iberostar Grands. The rooms was very nice and the food was very good. The entertainment was pretty good also. Our butler Marlon was very good. He could not do enough for us. Now for the Cons. The resort is very compact and there is really no one to walk. Even on the beach you could not walk very far. We are beach people and we were not very happy with the beach. The sand was not the white powdery sand you find in Punta Cana or Mexico. It was brown and hard. The ocean had pebbles in it until you got all the way in. I like when the bottom of the ocean is nice and smooth. Plus the color of the ocean was not a nice blue color like other parts of the carribean. The pools were nice but it was hard to find a place to sit because all the chairs were taken. We told our Butler that all we really wanted in the mini bar was bottled water because we really do not drink in the room. It took 3 days until we got what we wanted but it was not his fault, the person filling the mini bar did not do his job. On the first day our hair dryer was broken. The end piece kept falling off. We told the front desk and they had someone come right away to look at it. They said they would ask there boss if they could get us a new one but we never heard anymore from them after that. We ended up putting a bandaid on it to keep it on. Some of the Star Friends were nice like Shortcake and Bubbles but the guy Star Friends were not friendly at all. On the day before we were leaving our Butler asked what time we wanted the bell boy to come for our luggage. We told him 11:00. Then about a half hour later the bell boy called and asked if they could come at 11:15. We told them we thought that was too late because our bus was coming at 11:30 so they should come at 11:00. The next day we were waiting for them to come to pick up our luggage and they never showed up. We even called at 11:10 and told them to send a bell boy right away. Then at 11:15 we ended up taking our luggage by ourselves. We have been to the Grand in Punta Cana twice and the Grand in Mexico once and they far exceed this one. I would rate the Grand in Mexico the best, with the one in Punta Cana next and the Rose Hall last. We will not be back because there are other places I would rather go to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DunnerPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. We have noted your comments about the sand on our beach and the inconsistent service you received. We will be speaking with our Butlers and our Front Desk staff on the importance of following up with guests on their requests as it is obvious that they did not engage in following up with you on the issues you brought to their attention. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused by our lack of follow-up on your requests and will endeavor to make the necessary improvements.

We are sorry for the mix-up as it concerned your departure time and the pick-up of your luggage. We can only surmise that perhaps the messages were not delivered to the Bellmen. This is not the norm and we assure you this is not typical of our Butlers/Bellmen.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again. It is unfortunate that these incidents took place and are sorry that our Public Relations Manager did not hear from you as we would have loved the opportunity to fix these problems before you checked out. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I Stay at Iberostar Grand from November 15-20, 2013 and this resort is truly a 5 star resorts from the resort to the staff. From the Front desk staff Barrington and Kenroy these guy really made you feel so welcome. The Oceanview room I had was spectacular.

To the butlers Donovan, Rushane and Roland where spectacular. My birthday was on 11/16 and Donovan and Rushane arranged a special surprise for me. These gentlemen decorated my room with balloons, Champange and a bath with heart-shape made from rose pedals along with making dinner reservation at the Japanese Steak House. After dinner Jeffrey from Surf and Turf came over with a plate that had Happy Birthday with a chocolate cupcake and a candle and he sang Happy Birthday to me this was such a surprise. These gentlemen were very accommodating and made my stay superb.

My maids Nicole, Antoinette, Felicia and Allison they are so appreciated be me. Lorain was so wonderful anything that I needed she made sure I got it and I thank her for that.

Tamara works as a cook in buffet this ladies was so wonderful, I was looking for some Jamaica greens, every morning when I arrive she prepares these green vegetables for me and I really appreciate her for taking the time to do that.

Katie Ann (security) , Linval and Keverne (bellman) who always greet you with a warm smile to a cool refreshing face towel.

These employees really made my stay here at Iberostar one I will never forget and I truly appreciate them all from the bottom of my heart. When I get home I will be making arrangement to come back to Iberostar next November, 2014 to celebrate my birthday again.

MJ

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suxel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments about our staff and our personalized service was certainly encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and trust that you will not hesitate to make our hotel your destination of choice for all future birthday celebrations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I just got back from spending 10 nights in Montego Bay, half at Secrets where we were married, and half at the Grand Iberostar Rose Hall. Both properties were lovely, but we feel that Secrets was much better than Grand Iberostar in almost every category. Almost as soon as we arrived at the Grand Iberostar for the honeymoon portion of our trip, we wished we had stayed at Secrets.

Here is an attempt to compare the two properties, realizing that a lot of this is just personal preference because you really can't go wrong with either resort.

Property: Both were extremely well kept and clean. However, Secrets was set up much better. The grounds at Secrets was beautiful. It was meticulously kept up everyday and had nice touches with some peacocks and parrots scattered about. There were numerous bars right on the beach/pool. All the restaurants are right together and there are three that are right on the beach/pool area whereas everything at Grand Iberostar is inside, away from the beach and pool (except one pool bar and one buffet only open for lunch). We loved the all adults at Secrets and paid the extra to get the same at the Grand Iberostar portion of the Iberostar property. Unfortunately, the adults only portion at the Iberostar resort is rather small and limited. Half of the a la carte restaurants (Mexican, Mediterranean, one of the steakhouses, and Cajun) are in the portion accessible by children. We also really enjoyed the overall feel of Secrets. Everything was outside and close to the ocean. Most everything at the Grand Iberostar was inside, upstairs, and away from the beach.

Rooms: A slight edge to Secrets. Both resorts offered nearly identical amenities. Iberostar's mini bar was much better (had little bottles of liquor that Secrets does not provide, red stripe bottles while Secrets unfortunately downgraded to Carib beer since our last visit) and it did have a dvd player which was nice (dvds from concierge are included), but Secrets was better everywhere else. The biggest difference to us were the views and the noise. Despite the resort being completely booked, we never heard any noise from our neighbors at Secrets. The same cannot be said at Iberostar where we constantly heard thumping from above and noises from the hallway. Both of our views were right out on the beach, but we had to pay extra to get that at Iberostar. On the other hand, all of the rooms at Secrets are ocean view and include views of mountains and, in our opinion, a better beach and ocean view (see below). Also, most of the rooms at Secrets (especially at the Wild Orchid side), have a view of the sunset that takes place right over the mountains and ocean. The sunset at Grand Iberostar was behind the building and not over the ocean.

Food: Both resorts offered a la carte restaurants, but there were a lot of important differences. This was the biggest point of disappointment for us at Grand Iberostar. First, the food quality…both resorts had good tasting food if you could find something you liked which brings us to…Second, the selection…Secrets really has thought of everything. The menus were expansive and offered numerous choices for every course. There were numerous restaurants to choose from (Mexican, seafood, steakhouse, Italian, hibachi tables, Asian, and Jamaican) and most importantly, you could eat at any of these on any day and at any time you like without needing a reservation. While Grand Iberostar had a la carte restaurants of Mexican, asian, hibachi, Italian, steakhouse, surf and turf, Cajun, Mediterranean, none of them offered outside seating, some of them were located on the opposite end of a huge resort where kids were allowed, and all of them required a reservation. The reservation system at Iberostar was perhaps the most disappointing. They only offered times of 6:00, 6:30, 8:30, or 9:00 and you had to make reservations the day you arrived for each meal of your trip or else they would be full and you would end up at the buffet (which happened to us one night). Nobody wants to have to plan out what they are going to do for dinner six days later. As far as the menus, we had a hard time selecting something that we liked at every place except the surf and turf which was delicious (the steak was as good as Ruth's Chris) Third, location…I already touched on this, but at Secrets all of the restaurants were together, close to the ocean and offered outside seating. Fourth, lunches…Secrets offered two different sit down restaurants right on the beach and pool area that served delicious wraps, sandwiches, etc., an additional snack/burger shack, and the traditional buffet. An added bonus was the jerk chicken barbeque stand out everyday for lunch. On the other hand, Grand Iberostar only offered a buffet for lunch, with a jerk chicken or similar stand out on some of the days. Fifth, the buffet at Secrets was better and offered more, especially at breakfast.

Room Service: Both resorts offered 24 hour room service as part of the all-inclusive. We took advantage of this at Secrets nearly everyday for a midday or late night snack. The menu selection and response time were awesome. An added bonus is the box that they place your food in so that you don't need to worry about answering the door. We never ordered room service at the Grand Iberostar because their all-day menu selection was not very good.

Entertainment: Both resorts had entertainment planned throughout the day and night. Both offered non-motorized water sports. The kayaking, etc. was somewhat better at Secrets primarily because there were no children (even at the Grand portion of the hotel at Iberostar, children could use the watersports) and the ocean was better (some rocks and small reef to go around). Secrets offered much better night entertainment. The primary place to be was a bar outside close to the ocean. The bar was centrally located right next to all of the restaurants. There was plenty of seating and was outside. There was a piano bar atmosphere for some of the night with additional entertainment on the outdoor stage earlier in the evening. At Iberostar, the entertainment at night was exclusively in the theater inside.

Drinks: This is the one area where Grand Iberostar wins, although only slightly. Grand Iberostar truly had top shelf (with more options) at every bar. Secrets had top shelf but fewer options and not at the pool/beach bars.

Staff/Service: Service at the Grand Iberostar swim up bar was definitely FAR better than the same at Secrets. The poolside service at Secrets was really the only thing that disappointed us at all while at Secrets. It wasn't terrible but you definitely noticed a difference at the Grand Iberostar. In all other areas, we give the edge to Secrets. Although there were a few bad examples, everyone was so friendly and helpful at Secrets. Service at any of the bars at night was always prompt.

Pools: Both resorts had lovely pools that were right off the ocean with swim up bars. The major difference is that Secrets had a much lovelier view from the pools (including infinity section).

Beach: Secrets was easily better in this category. Better view, better access, better seating, clearer water, etc. Secrets also had a number of rock walkways and gazebos out over the ocean that Iberostar did not have. The beach/ocean at Grand Iberostar was more detached from the rest of the property whereas at Secrets the property is all right on top of the ocean.

Spa: This category isn't even close. We had a Swedish couples massage at both resorts. The entire process was much better at Secrets…they bring you in for a tour through multiple different pools, steam rooms, etc. The whole process is very well planned and very relaxing. The locker rooms, showers, etc. were all clean and very nice. The staff was also excellent and very welcoming. As for the actual massage, it was perfect. As for the Grand Iberostar resort…they tried to give the same experience, but half of the pools/rooms were broken. The actual massage was just ok at best. With the exception of the manager who was very nice, the rest of the staff seemed extremely annoyed that we decided to come get a massage. It was very unwelcoming. The locker rooms were dirty and unpleasant.

Company: As expected, both resorts were made up primarily of couples. However, we were shocked at the difference in ages and personality of the guests at the respective resorts. We are 29 and had to be one of the youngest couples at Grand Iberostar while we were there. The guests at Grand Iberostar were, on average, much more uptight, rude, and snobby than those at Secrets. Secrets was comprised of couples ranging from the mid-20s all the way up but there were a lot more younger couples and most were more laid back. We enjoyed that neither resort had a party feel to it.

Value: Secrets was better and also cheaper so it easily wins for value. All junior suites offered ocean views without any additional cost.

Overall, I would recommend either resort. Both were better than any other all inclusive that I've been to, but Secrets is the better of the two resorts.

Room Tip: Request upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We would like to extend our apologies for not meeting all your expectations. We are especially sorry too that you did not make contact with one of our Managers as we would have loved to sit and discuss how we can serve you better in the future. Please be assured that we will go through the suggestions you have made in order to see how your suggestions fit into our operations. We look forward to serving you in the future and can promise you that we will make every effort to ensure your satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,144 reviews
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £302 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Atrapalo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing