We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Weeks Of Enjoyment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two Weeks Of Enjoyment”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived at 6:30 on Boxing Day to a very quick check-in.We were put in room 6207 which was very close to the main lobby,the lobby Bar,and to all the restaurants.We met with our Butllers Duran and Dwayne.We had more contact with Duran than Dwayne.Duran got us reservations at all of the Restaurants.We did not like the Gourment ,but spent time at the Japanese ,3 times and had a great time with Jason.He was the best.We also went to the Surf and Turf with Byron or Brian he was great.We also ate at the Italian and the food was good there as well.
We were there for New Years Eve and had an awesome meal which the staff went all out to prepare for us.The fireworks on the beach was good as well.The entertainment staff put on a great show for us before the fireworks started.
The Star staff was very helpfull as well .We spent time with Stella,Diamond and Shortcake these
ladies deserve a big pat on the back for all they do.Thanks Diamond for finding my Oiler Flags that went missing on our last day there.
The towel staff and the ladies that bring us drinks around the pools also did a wonderfull job
as well.
All the staff in the buffett do a great job and they will cook you up a great omlette or do your eggs any way you like them.
The ladies in the Lobby Bar who bring you drinks did an awesome job especially Kadeen.She was a Gem always smiling and made us feel like we lived there.
I cannot forget our maid who had our room cleaned by 10 every day.Cardella was her name and she did a wonderfull job as well.
All in all I would go back in a heart beat.The only problem we had and that it is not the Hotels
problem was when 150 people came and took over the lobby bar one night .They made it impossible to sit and talk to anyone as they were so loud.They forced my wife and I to leave the bar as it was way to loud.
TO the person who was complaining about the one broken Urinal at the pool bathrooms.It was still not fixed when I was there,but it never stopped me from using the rest of them in the very clean bathrooms by the pool.
I was very fortunate in meeting Young Debbie and her husband Rob from Stony Plain,Alta and
Alberta and Fred from Wandering River,Alta .

TO the management of the hotel you should give your wonderful staff a raise for all the hard work to keep us travellers well looked after as without them no one would ever go back there.

Tom and Peggy

Room Tip: Room 6207 had a good view, and was so close to eveything and it was quiet as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooilersLeduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent vacation on this website. We feel privileged to have been able to host you and your wife. Our staff make a great deal of effort to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable time, so your review serves as reward for their tireless efforts. It was also wonderful too note that you had made the extra effort to remember the names of all those staff who served you.

Our team looks forward to serving you again and hope that you will not hesitate to make the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, your destination for all future vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,937
    970
    251
    74
    43
See reviews for
675
4,127
144
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,948)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My GF's friends had a destination wedding here in the summer. I wasn't keen on the idea of Jamaica in late June, but it was AWESOME. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, beach, sailing, food, drinks, night club and the plethora of hotel amenities.
Highlights: Suntan lotion is the last thing you want to remember to pack or buy on vaca and they solved this buy having a suntan lotion station all gratis, well I guess the $500+ per night covers it, right? The NightClub was hilarious and awesome. It is two or three stories down so it is probably built right into the the foundation of the resort which allows for an insane sound system. They have a first class fog machine and light show along with all inclusive drinks that never stop flowing. It is a gooood time.
Lowlights: Food... This was the last straw. I am over all-inclusives. From value resorts (Divi in Aruba) to mid-range (Grand Rose Hall) you just can't get good food. By its very nature it is mass produced mediocre grub and that's all you will ever get at a big all-inclusive resort so I didn't let that affect my ratings.
Overall, the Grand was great and there we "no problems, mon"

Room Tip: We got the ground floor oceanfront room on the West corner and thought it was best in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We were honored to host you and your friends on your recent visit to our hotel. It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our various amenities offered, our disco and the pool/beach ambience.

We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with our food. Our team is committed to making consistent improvements in all aspects of our service. To this end, we welcome suggestions and encourage guests to speak with our Management team regarding any problems you are encountering whilst still in-house.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fantastic place ideally located away from Montego Bay on a gorgeous stretch of beach in the "exclusive" Rose Hall district. There are several resorts here but this along with The Half Moon Bay Resort are the best by far. Do not rent a car. Hire a driver to take you around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the fact that you opted to visit our hotel on your recent vacation to Jamaica. We are proud of our reputation for providing the very best in all-inclusive vacations. Our staff are delighted to serve you and to show you our typical warm hospitality. Please come again soon as it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent a nice week in December (13-20) at this resort and would recommend it. While my initial impression of the resort was that it was more compact than i was used to (especially the pools) and the check-in was a bit helter skelter, I grew to really enjoy this resort over the course of the week due to the quality of the food, surroundings and the staff. Our oceanfront room was quiet, comfortable and very clean - and of course, the view was beautiful. The pool was a bit cool, but fine. The beach was nice and the nightly entertainment was good, with the staff really working hard to entertain.
Pros:
1: the staff. Everyone was kind, and things usually happened on time.
Honorable Mention - Jerry at the Pool Bar. My man went out of his way to make me happy, making sure I had my rum & grapefruit! Also, Avian, Bubbles and Shortcake - all good folks.
2:the food was very good, better than I expected.

Cons: (minor)
1-Concerning the spa, while my massage was very good, the spa overall is lacking, especially compared to the Excellence resorts I've been to. It is smallish and not organized very well if you'd like to do anything besides the massage.
2- why is there no grapefruit juice at the bars?
3- check in was awkward with us just standing there for a bit, disoriented and wondering what to do for a couple of minutes. Also, the bell hop did not tell us much about the resort - or our room for that matter. Excellence resorts excel at this.

Overall, for the right price, I would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eandm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. Our team was delighted to have been your hosts on your recent Jamaican vacation. We apologize for the negative impression you received on check-in, but are relieved to hear that you considered our food, rooms and general cleanliness to have been above board. We recognize that there are a myriad of other Caribbean hotels from which to choose from and the fact that you chose our hotel means that we have an obligation to provide a flawless stay. To this end, it was rewarding to hear you had enjoyed your week with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at this resort for the third straight year Jan. 4 - 11. Once again, it is nearly perfect. We had only a few very minor complaints that keeps us from granting a five star review, none of which would prevent us from returning.

Check In:
Fast and efficient, but there were only two couples checking in so that is to be expected. We were in our room within ten minutes of arrival having been handing a cool cloth and cool drink on arrival.

Room
Very clean. Good Bed. Good shower.....ran out of hot water one evening but it was to be expected as there was a bit of rain and since it was time to go to prepare to go out for the evening meal, everyone rushed to the shower at the same time we expect. The rest of the time there was ample hot water. All plumbing functioned perfectly. The a/c in our room was very good, not clammy as it is sometimes in the tropics. There was a shattered pane of glass in the patio door held together with duct tape, but it was hidden by the curtains for the most part and was not a problem, although unsightly when exposed. Choice of pillows is a nice touch. For the most part the room was top notch.

Room Service
Room service was very good in arrival time and quality although we used it mainly for coffee and a bit of fruit in the morning. We filled out the card and it was always delivered right on time. For example, if you checked 7 - 730, it was always delivered within a few minutes of 7. Well done.

Butlers and Fridge service
We had problems with this on previous visits although it was improved this time, it still is a bit frustrating. We asked for certain items and a few times they were not delivered so it neccisitated a call to the Bultler who I assume calls room service. This causes a delay in delivery and oft times we were wanting to go to the balcony or get in the shower and not wait for delivery. We had left a note in the morning (with tip) so these items could be stocked during the day when we were out. I would say 5 days out of 7 they were not. A bit frustrating. We had requested ice at 4 oclock and it was done the first 2 days...perfect...but then the third day it was not....another wait in the room for ice!. This apparently occured because the butlers had changed, but the first one had written it down so it should have been passed along in our opinion. One thing that did improve though was that the glasses were restocked daily...had been a problem in previous visits. By the end of the week during those vists, we were drinking gin and tonic from a brandy snifter. This has been rectified at least it was for us. Much appreciated.

Beach and Pools
Both very well maintained The towel game was getting out of hand so we were glad to see that if you put out a towel before 7 am, they were trying to make sure you stayed at the lounger until seven. It seemed to help keep people from reserving multiple spots or at least gave other people a chance to get at least one spot.

A la cartes and Buffet
All good in our opinion, sometimes we felt a bit rushed to get out but we understand the next seating needed to take place or that they needed to close. One thing we would like to see is a little better air conditioning in the restaurants and indeed in the lobby bar.

Entertainment
We had seen the shows before so we only attended two or three. There are all quite good. We like the Big Band show and the Disco music show. There are some very talented singers and dancers in our opinion. We were impressed that the small band managed to put out a pretty big sound for the big band show..

Other sister resorts.
We walked thought the other resorts and it is our opinion that they have been improved since last year when we felt they had become a little less than well maintained. More impressed this year. One thing we found odd, the "cheaper resorts" had much better a/c in their lobbies particularly good was the most inexpensive. Just an observation.

All in all, it was an excellent vacation with really no serious complaints. Certainly we would not hesitate to return again. Any of our complaints are extremenly minor.

Room Tip: We think all rooms would be acceptable Upper floor gives a grander view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to return to our hotel a third time. We are grateful for your continued visits, as we feel your repeat visits serve as a testament of your satisfaction with our service. No doubt, your recommendation will also serve as a motivator to other prospective travellers who are considering our hotel.

We would like to apologize wholeheartedly for the inconsistency in your Butler service. Please be assured that we will be paying special attention to this problem. May we also suggest that to aid us you can always email us with reminders of your preferences to pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm

Our team continues to work at creating a flawless experience for all our guests and will therefore be using your comments to see how we can improve. We look forward to hosting you again and trust that you will think of our property as your “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After spending 2weeks at this resort with my partner over Nye. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone under the age of 35 or anyone interested in a sociable environment to stay at this hotel (the grand section only not Iberostar suites which is better suited to the younger crowd).
Good points. Stunning first impression very helpful butlers especially Denton and Randy. No pressure to tip although it’s common and a good job does deserves a tip.
Good choice of restaurants…. great premium alcohol at the bar with O’Neil being the absolute best bartender full of character conversation and charm! However, the Iberostar grand rose hall do not stock ciroc vodka or premium champagne’s, which was a bit disappointing.
Bad points. The concierge have very little knowledge of good restaurants in Montego bay, they want you to stay on property and can come across as very slow and unqualified for their role. For instance; we asked for a reservation to be made at Day o plantation restaurant this was dragged out by concierge over 1 week with no confirmation date/time. Eventually we made the reservation ourselves.
The Caribbean buffet night was disappointing we preferred the local food from jerkies and Scotches.
Be cautious! We had money stolen on property, one would expect to feel safe and at home, but I would recommend anyone visiting to keep your valuables in a safe at all times!
In all I definitely wouldn’t return, the Iberostar grand seemed very stuffy and full of the older and more conservative set.. I would try a secrets or possibly renting a villa in the future.
My hotel Star pick would be its spa as I had an absolutely amazing sports massage there.

Room Tip: All views from the grand are good, selecting an ocean front etc may be a bit of a waste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for review. It was a pleasure to have been your hosts for the New Year. We would like to first apologize for the negative impression you have received of our hotel’s Concierge. Our Concierge is responsible for assisting in any way possible, so we are not sure what happened as it concerns your reservations for the Day O Plantation Restaurant, but we would like to apologize for the inconvenience to you.

Though we regret the unfortunate incident of theft which you reported – we have placed room safes in all our guest rooms for the security of our guests’ personal belongings. Our Management would like to take this opportunity to remind all prospective guests to utilize the room safes.

Our resort tries to ensure that all our guests are satisfied, so though we have entertainment options on property, concern is given to those who might be here to relax and therefore require more quieter surroundings.

It is hoped that when you consider our Butler service, premium alcoholic beverages at no extra cost, excellent Spa Service, well-appointed rooms and scenic views, you will think of returning to our hotel for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

One week at the Iberostar was fantastic. The food was great, the people outstanding.
I climbed the 1000ft Dunns River Falls, swam with a dolphin, a jeep safari. One week was not enough.
I highly recommend this vacation to all!!!
Don't forget to check out the "mall" at the end of the resort.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor. You're close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall as your recent vacation destination. We are proud to have played an important role in such a memorable vacation. We look forward to accommodating you again and hope that we will be able to play an integral role in your other future Jamaican vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing