We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I travelled to this hotel for our annual 7 day get-away. We have not been to Jamaica in 15 years and really enjoyed returning to this beautiful country. We really enjoyed the private transfer to and from the airport. Upon arrival at the hotel, our room was not ready but Barrington assured us we would be pleased when it was and we were. We wandered briefly around the resort, had a quick drink, and then our Ocean-front room was ready for us. (Upgrade! Woo too!) The room, as seen in many pictures posted is beautiful. The layout is among the nicest we have seen. The only issue that we had with noise throughout our stay was people playing music on their balcony in late afternoon. This made it difficult for me to nap on the lovely basket chair. LOL The butler service was quite convenient. We didn't use it extensively but anything we did request was handled promptly and professionally. Our butlers were Randy and Darwin and they were both excellent! The beach and pools were beautiful; very clean and well kept. We didn't have any trouble getting chairs but the towel game is definitely FIERCE with many people reserving multiple chairs at the pool and the beach for the whole day. Although I really enjoyed not having a limit on beach towels, this only added to the problem. I watched some couples get 8 towels. They then reserved 4 chairs at the beach (2 sun / 2 shade) and the same at the pool. This would not be possible if the hotel did the standard 1 towel per person. It's really a shame that some people can be such jerks. The food was great. My husband is still talking about his steak from the Surf and Turf restaurant! We also really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant with our chef "Blackie Chan"--Very entertaining and great food as well. The drinks were outstanding….so fresh and interesting. "Bar" service extended to pool and beachside. You literally never had to leave your chair. The pirate show was great. This was the only evening entertainment that we did, other than lounging in the billiards room one evening. The only downside for us is that the hotel was much busier than we were expecting. We typically travel to smaller resorts, as you will see from my previous posts. The volume of guests in the resorts, particularly with the large corporate groups, made the hotel a bit busy and noisy for us at times. This did not impact on level of service but did, at times, impact on our level of relaxation.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is a must!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Finnmac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous recommendation of our hotel on this website. Your positive comments about our rooms, beach/pools, food and beverages highlights our attention to details and emphasis on guest satisfaction. Our team was grateful to be of service on your recent Caribbean get-away. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,488)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,316 - 3,322 of 6,488 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I traveled with good friends of ours to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall February 12-19th. We promised them an amazing trip based on the experience we had last year at Iberostar Grand Bavaro. The Grand didn't disappoint, we had a fantastic time and it validated all our raves from the year prior, solidifying the attention to detail and service. From the minute we arrived the staff was attentive and accommodating, many times surprising us with the extra step taken on their own initiative.

The food was outstanding, really. Last year at The Grand Bavaro we ate at the cook-to-order buffet most nights and loved the choices and service. This year at the Grand Rose Hall we enjoyed the ala carte restaurants each night and every meal was note worthy. The dishes were flavorful with sauces, fresh ingredients, and presentation...everything you would find in fine dining. I'm gluten intolerant so I have restrictions, and each restaurant was well aware of a gluten free diet and offered amazing options. We ate at the Italian, Surf and Turf, Gourmet, and Asian....all were equally delicious. The lobster Risotto and The Sea Bass were the most memorable, both served at the Italian. For lunch, the beach-side buffet was fantastic every day offering new fresh choices of seafood, meats, salads, and veggies. YUM! And each meal I enjoyed a chilled glass of Vina Tobiah White Wine, so good.

The beach was beautiful with it's white glistening sand and turquoise water. It was breathtaking. Before arriving we were concerned with the short distance to walk as last year the Bavaro offered miles of beachwalking. But it proved a welcomed distance and we found ourselves taking more walks to the end and back. Win-win...we loved it. The palapas on the beach were reserved each day well before 7am as they offered the shade many wanted. People need to calm down about the towel game, if you want a spot, get up and get it....but be sure you are using it! If not, your towels will be pulled, rightfully so. We made our own little spot down the beach with the four of us and took turns placing our towels each day...But we also occupied the space all day. When 2:00 came around and we headed to the pool, we pulled our towels. Just be respectful and it works. The drinks on the beach were plenty and always served with a smile...such a nice perk!

Did you know you can snorkel right off the beach? So amazing...walk right off the beach and snorkel, no trips, no drop off in middle of ocean, perfect. You can also kayak anytime of the day. Couldn't be better. The pool was by far the the nicest - well planned pool we've been to on vacation, and we are not pool people. We found ourselves taking a dip and enjoying some shade in the late afternoon, so relaxing. There is plenty of room to swim. lounge, relax, have a cocktail at the swim up bar, or enjoy the many activities offered.

Our room.....awesome with a stunning view. We had an oceanview room on the top floor and we couldn't have wished for anything more. Our butler, Tafari, made our experience the best it could be with his attentive, friendly approach and gentle kind sincerity. He made sure our friends had special attention as they enjoyed an anniversary and birthday celebration. He...will go places. We also have to shout out Kareem who made our dinner on the Terrace at the Italian a memorable night...if only all waiters at home were as polished as Kareem! Sonia our beach waitress, Calishia the Conssiere, Stella and Crystal - the beautiful fun friends, Marvin our bellhop, and the chef on the beach who made me a very special GF Jerk Chicken. Beautiful people, and they make the trip amazing.

I am forever an "Iberostar Grand Fan", nothing....else...compares. Book it...you will love it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have amazing views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNBeachwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review of our property. Our hotel aims to provide guests with unique vacation experiences. It is also our intention to ensure that we create lasting memories that will ensure the repeated visits of our loyal guests. So it was very inspirational to hear that you had visited our property after a previous visit at our sister-resort in the Dominican Republic. It was a pleasure to hear that our food, beach/pool, rooms, activities and staff had all contributed to a fabulous stay. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My Wife & I just returned from a week stay at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Montego Bay Jamaica , We have been to many parts of the Caribbean, our first time to Jamaica , I was a little hesitant at first, But I am happy to say it was our Best vacation so far, Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay perfect... The food, the service and the entertainment was outstanding,

Kudos to: short cake, Kiki, Stella, Thunda, Mr Fresh, Dexter (front desk) Norlan our waiter chefs Natalie & Keran, Ceresa (house keeping) Dwayne(lobby bar) Sonia & Jodian, Jodene (public relations) and Jonay Guerra Montesdeoca ( front desk manager)and our butlers always greeted us with a smile and couldn't do enough for us.. The nicest group of people...this is a 5 star plus resort... we will DEFINTLEY be going back........P.S. Shout outs to our new friends, Bruce and Jean and Jeff and Chris

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southjerseyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are grateful to hear that our food, service and the entertainment had met your discerning standards. We exceptionally pleased to hear that you received our usual exceptional customer service from our team. Our hotel pays great emphasis on genuine and personalized service, so it was very encouraging to see your review. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will not hesitate to return in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed in Jamaica on 2 other occasions and both were at a Sandals resort. We didn't think we could find another hotel chain that could match the Sandals experience, but we tried the Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica as we couldn't stay at the Sandals resort we wanted due to our booking last minute, so to Iberostar Grand we went. We were very pleasantly surprised!! We booked a 10 night stay from March 10-20/14 and chose to book one of their cheaper rooms - a suite room. The other categories were ocean view suite and oceanfront suite which were both substantially more money. When we checked in, we were provided a cool cloth and a glass of champagne. Our butler (shared with other rooms on our floor) escorted us to our room and were surprised to see they had upgraded us to an oceanfront room at no extra charge!! The rooms (which are all suites) are exactly as they are depicted on the website. The floor was marble tiles. The bathroom was massive and all marble. There was a huge Jacuzzi tub in the centre of the bathroom, and a shower on one side of it and the toilet was on the other side of the tub. There were his and hers sinks at opposite ends of the bathroom, so you didn't get into each others way. Opposite the bathroom which is about 18-20 feet long is a hallway and a wall full of closet space. From the hall, you entered the bedroom which has a king sized bed and any type of pillow you heart desires. I had a memory foam pillow which I sleep in at home. There is a step down from the bed area to a desk and a chaise lounge. Triple sliding glass doors lead to a huge terrace/balcony area with a sofa and a 2 person swing. The floor is made of decking. We loved this outdoor area as we could sit outside comfortably as there was a ceiling fan that would cool is off.
The Grand is for adults 18 and over. Our first week there was during the Canadian "March Break" and there were many young adults in the 18-21 years category. I wouldn't recommend going during the march break if you are bothered by the sounds of rowdy young adults getting drunk ++. We stayed away from them. They gravitated towards each other, as the older adults stayed together in another area on the beach.
The beach at the Grand id very nice. Not the best I have been on, but the sand is nice. The ocean is crystal clear and in the swimming area, the ocean floor is pure sand. The water in the ocean is warmer than the 3 pools. It was beautiful.
One complaint I do have is that there is a "towel game" going on in the reservation of lounges at the beach and around the pool. We were up at 5:30 am everyday to get the spot we wanted. All of the good spots were reserved by 6 am. I would suggest that they invest in more lounges at the beach to help reduce this problem. However, when we were there, the pool concierge was cracking down on those chairs that were reserved for indefinite periods of time - they would remove the towels to make room for others to enjoy.
The food was excellent.
The staff were outstanding. The Jamaican people are so welcoming and happy!! They made us laugh all the time.
There were numerous activities to participate in if you wanted to. The staff had beach BBQ's, beach parties, aerobics, etc. They were always making sure you were not bored.
The service was fabulous. We did tip quite a bit, but it was worth it. There were at least 6 bartenders at the pool bar and bar staff who serviced the pool and the beach. The drinks were super, as they used premium liquor.
Our second week there was quieter as all of the young adults returned to school.
We met the most wonderful guests there from all across Canada and the US.
We will be returning to the Grand in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are too large to hear outside noise, but if you can spring for an oceanfront room, do it...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your cordial review of our property. We appreciated your informative feedback on your overall stay. It was particularly encouraging to hear that our friendly staff, well-appointed rooms, inviting beach and excellent customer service made your trip so memorable. Our team looks forward to your return and hope that you will continue to think of us as your vacation “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

5 day 4 night stay at the Grand Hall with best gal friend was complete luxury. Beach front room with beautiful balcony hammock and settee magnificent. Room sparkling clean, comfortable with lovely soft cushy beds that are covered in wonderful cotton linens - no polyester here! Pillows abound in any shape and support that you desire. Bathroom huge, two sinks excellent, glass separated shower/tub/toilet facilities are lovely. 100% top shelf liquor abounds where ever you are - rooms, pools, bars, beach. Staff members were magnificent, they are trained to answer your every need - and if they do not, it's probably because you are not being clear about your needs, or are perhaps hesitating to allow yourself to be pampered. All restaurants except Italian were excellent - Italian was really off the evening we were there and there was miscommunication regarding reservation times. Pay attention to the dates of your al la carte dining reservation details. They are written in "backwards" order (last date first), once we realized this, we got back on track with our itinerary. Jamaican Tours escorted us to and from the airport - they provided fantastic service - most notably safe, quick, on schedule. No sitting in hot vans or waiting in long lines with this group. The people of Jamaica are beautiful and those in the hotel and everywhere we traveled wanted to wish us well and help make our trip the best it could possibly be. We returned from the Grand Rose Hall by Iberostar as rested and pampered as money could buy. This adults only, beachfront, 5 star holiday was expensive, but 5 star linens, facilities, food and beverages were as advertised and promised. We got what we paid for in every way - which included a quiet roomy elegant experience that might be hard to quantify in terms of dollars vs value. However, when you return home more rested and pampered than you may have ever been in your life, you may realize, as we did, that we got our money bought us rest and relaxation unlike we have ever experienced before.

Room Tip: The hotel sits absolutely beach front, so our beach front room was like our own personal oasis on th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAALenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative feedback of your recent vacation spent with us. We were delighted to hear that both you and your friend had enjoyed a restful and luxurious stay. Your many positive comments will also serve to motivate our staff. We appreciated that you made mention of our staff’s professional demeanor, high quality amenities and excellent restaurants. We apologize profusely for the mix-up with your dinner reservation at the Italian Restaurant. Please feel free to email your specific comments about the food at the Italian Restaurant to pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm as we do pass on these comments to our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you will not hesitate to think of this hotel as your Caribbean “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a nice way to get away from the winter doldrums. Staff made you feel welcome the minute you arrived!! The entire was always smiling and asking us if we needed anything. Our butlers "Glendon and Kavin" were very attentive and never acted as though we were a bother. The food was some of the best we've had at a resort. I especially liked "Surf and Turf and the "Gourmet" but the buffets were fantastic too. I especially liked the cooking done on the beach. I miss jerk chicken already!! The little extra dessert cart that came around end of the afternoon was always fun.The amount of sun beds poolside were a nice touch.(other resorts only had 2 or 3) I always like a swim up bar and this one didnt let me down.
A special thanks to the activity group (Bubbles, Shortcake,Kiki etc). They always had a smile and a great way to get you involved if you wanted to be or let you relax if you didn't. We are already thinking of friends we can bring back with us on our next visit!!

Room Tip: I heard lots about high ocean front rooms and worried when we hadn't booked one. No issue. Ours...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall as your winter-getaway. We were honored to have you. Your comments about our staff in general, delicious food, desserts and friendly entertainment staff were very inspirational. It was encouraging to hear that your trip was generally flawless. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope that when planning your next vacation, we will be foremost on your mind as your destination of choice.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I didn't what to expect at our first trip to Jamaica, my wife and I were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary. From the time we stepped off the shuttle bus at our hotel we were amazed about the people who worked here, they were so awesome, they treated us like friends and not just guest. We had a butler named Kevin who was so great, our room maid Patricia was awesome and said anything we needed just asked. The front desk help, the outside activities folks, Fresh (so funny) and the others, the swim up pool bartenders, Jerry, Ricco, Keifer were all outstanding touch notch service. We laughed for hours and they just great. Thanks Iberostar! The food was great, Jap. Italian, buffets, etc.
Too much food to pick from. The nighttime entertainment was so much fun. I can't get over the hours these folks put in, daytime and nighttime, then come up to us and mingle after the performances. When did they sleep? This place was simply over the top service.
Many people we meet had tried other places, Sands, Riu, etc. and said this place was the best. Ricco, Keifer, Kevin.. and Iberostar In Jamaica we will be back..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank JeffSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We were thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time at our hotel. Your comments about our hardworking staff means a lot to us, as whilst we appreciate their efforts, such positive comments from our guests serves to motivate our staff even more. Your positive mention of our food, housekeeping service and a la carte restaurants was also greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#5 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £318 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing