We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4/25-5/2/2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamson, New York
1 review
“4/25-5/2/2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I had a great trip. We stayed at the Grand Rose Hall. We had a beautiful room with our own pool and didn't even know we were getting that! The food was excellent and drinks were great and flowed freely. What really made the stay was the people. We had 3 butlers Leon, Yshi and Shane all took very good care of us. Made all our dinner reservations, checked up on us to see if we had any needs.
The comedy team of Kiki and Bubbles was a joy. They kept us laughing! My aerobic "sadist" Thenda tried to kill me with excercise!!!!! No problem Mon! The other instructor (can't remember his name..sorry. Was very funny, believe he's going to be on the cover of a tourist magazine! Bartenders-Kemar (sp?), Keenshaw (sp?), ONeill, Ricardo, Jerry, Sonia, Christopher, Darvon...Kacy Ann in the Suites just to name a few were fabulous! You were all great! Hostess Deniese at the buffet and the hostess at the Galleon 4/27 (sorry I can't remember all the names!!) Stephan at check in welcomed us warmly!
All the chamber maids were so friendly and greeted us every morning, evening and throughout the day!
The Dunn river excursion we took was irie! Driver Anwar, guides Gaylian and Christine were awesome! Curtis at Dunn River was so full of energy, that was a blast! Lunch at the beach was delicious.
Christine France for Amstar....she's a star. I'm gonna miss that girl!!!
It was truly a wonderful time...Ya Mon! Irie! No Problems only situations! Kudos to all! C and L Davis...Rochester, NY

Room Tip: Loved having our own pool! Very relaxing but wear shoes/slippers when getting out of the pool and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. It was our pleasure to have been able to host you and your husband. We were grateful to hear your positive recommendation of our staff, on-property activities and off-property excursions. We rely on the comments of our guests to assess whether or not we are meeting our desired customer service targets. To this end, your kind words will serve as reward to our hardworking team.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will consider our hotel as your destination for all future Caribbean getaways.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,898
    953
    248
    73
    42
See reviews for
664
4,092
143
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,927)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithton, Il.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The IBRHG lived up to my expectations as a top notch all inclusive resort. A beautiful property offering superb service for a reasonable price. Anybody who writes something otherwise attempting to confuse you, just may have had some bad luck. Or, perhaps has a behavior disorder. Nevertheless, the IBERO brand is very competitive in any area they exist.

My review today will critique an area of service that rarely shows up on this board. It will give divers that stay at IBRH, a perspective on Dressel Divers that service this property.
i was in for the 8:30 am dive, six days. These guys really have their ---- together. I was back to the dive shop before 10:30 each morning. This operation has a dock that allows you to step down on to their 200 hp boat that has tanks already on board at 200 bars plus. The captain, Albert, dropped us into the water at exactly the right spot so that we drifted down to the precise spot. Dive Masters/instructors, Colyn, and Marsha had correctly evaluated our skill set to enable us to always complete a challenging dive. Incidentally, my partner(Brian) and I didn't have to surface just because the first guy had exhausted his/her air supply. This Dressel operation is currently running at a top notch level. Believe me, I've had experiences with many other dive ops that didn't manage to deliver this type of service. However, don't expect to observe an overwhelming amount of critters while diving in this area. But, they do offer incredible wall dives namely "Big Drop Off" and "Devils Wall." Incidentally, utilize the electric carts to come and go to the dive shop. Mary will call your IRH resort for a pick up following your dive.

Room Tip: top floor, 5400 area facing out towards Montego bay with a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nosweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We appreciated your endorsement of our hotel’s customer service and value for money. No doubt, the dive shop will also be motivated by your recommendation of their service. You may also share your comments of the dive shop with their head office at info@dresseldivers.com. We look forward to hosting you again and hope that you will continue to think of the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall as your “home away from home”.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel was great. Top notch service across the board (bartenders, waitstaff, butler, etc...). Swim up bar was especially nice, with a great view of the beach/ocean. Minibar was restocked daily with whatever you wanted, be it soft drinks, alcohol, or other things.

Food was great everywhere in the Grand (even the buffets, which can tend to get funky after sitting out for a while). The sit-down restaurants were phenomenal, and it's hard to pick a favorite among them. You need to make reservations for them (easy to book them all on your first day), but what they don't mention is that the Japanese restaurant gives you the option of eating at the sushi bar without one; we did this and were directly waited on by chef Rayon, got to talk to the Sushi chef for the entire resort, and got to watch a couple of the chefs messing around practicing Teppanyaki tricks (some of it was better than the standard stuff they do at the regular tables, since they were far back enough to start playing with the sushi knife)

We had dinner at the Suites one night (we wanted Mexican), and while it was good, it seemed a half-step behind the Grand in quality. That seemed to be consistent throughout the Suites when compared to the Grand (we were allowed to basically go anywhere, but those in the Suites were not allowed over to the Grand), in terms of alcohol, food, decor... Not that the Suites were anything bad, the Grand was just really good. If you have the budget (and your group is all 18+) I highly recommend upgrading.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 3cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. Your heartwarming comments about the service of our bartenders, waiters and butler service was very motivating to our team. Our team tries to ensure that we are meeting the discerning needs of our guests. It is also our hope that we can build lasting partnerships with our guests. We look forward to being able to welcome you back and hope that you will return in the near future.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and was very disappointed in the inconsistency of the service. There's butler service but he's not your private butler, he's also servicing about 20 (or more?) other rooms so plan ahead and don't expect prompt service. If you call the number for him, the concierge picks up and then has the butler call you. If you tell the concierge what you need, she won't deliver the message, she'll just have the butler call you so you can repeat it.

The butler was supposed to show us around the room and explain everything to us. That didn't happen. We called and it took ages for someone (the housekeeper) to show up with requested extra hangers and the supposed aromatherapy to get rid of the room's musty smell. The lamp in my mother's room was filthy, covered with dust, and in our room, the blowdryer was so disgusting, I had to wrap tissues around it to hold it.

They locked our keycards out of our room a day early, then blocked the wifi. Wifi is slow and also you have to keep logging in. My cousin upgraded his room and they called him at 8am the day before he was to check-out to tell him he had to leave the room. He had his receipt for the upgrade but because he didn't have receipt for the base charge for the room (which had been prepaid as part of the wedding package by the travel agent), they told him he had to leave the room and the new room wasn't ready. He packed his things and when he went to front desk to get his new room, they told him he didn't have to leave after all. How about a phone call to let him know?

Safes are so old you can't read the numbers or the writing on the keypad so you better have a good memory of what a keypad should look like.

Wines are mediocre and bartenders can handle only the most basic requests. How about a wedge of lime in a bloody mary? Don't go asking for cosmos or manhattans. Stick to beer or pina coladas and bright tropical drinks full of food coloring. Top shelf liquor is basically Grey Goose and Black Label. Sauza and Cuervo are the tequila brands. Someone said they had 1800 in 2013 but not any more.

Orange juice delivered to the room was freshly squeezed the first morning, and after that, from a box. Apparently, if you want fresh squeezed (even though the menu says "fresh"), you have to specify.

They tell you they don't have reservations for the specialty restaurants, but restaurants are always more than half-empty.

A few staff are friendly and helpful (front desk and lunch staff at buffet seemed to be the best), but the rest are generally sullen. Waiters in the specialty restaurants are generally not well-versed on the menu and don't know how to pour wine without spilling it on the glass, avoid touching your bread when putting your plate in front of you and knowing not to take the plate when food is still on it).

Buffet is actually pretty good, even though I hate buffets.

This is only what I can remember. There were lots of little incidents throughout our stay that left me shaking my head.

Cigar lounge is really nice but they had no Black Label and it took the bartender half an hour to get it.

Lots of entertainment options (table tennis, foosball, volleyball) and a games room for chess, darts, pool, etc. Lobby is beautiful and the restrooms in public areas are clean and spacious. Rooms are nice but dated and there's only one available outlet and you'll have to move the dresser to get to it. Or you can unplug the coffee machine and a few lights. Or leave your gadgets to charge in the bathroom. Sitting room furniture consisted of a desk and 2 chairs and a chaise lounge which in some rooms smells bad due to idiots in wet bathing suits sitting on them.

Nice big veranda but the fan on ours wasn't working.

This hotel made me long for the Celebrity cruise we just took, where our 170 sq ft stateroom felt so much more luxurious and well laid out and service was stellar.

The property is beautiful and has potential but truly, the staff don't seem very invested and maybe it's because they're not well treated by management, but whatever the story, the service doesn't match the luxury experience they're trying to create. The one standout was Shawna, who did our turn-down service every night. I never saw her but we came back to a nice fresh bed and clean bathroom every night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Style_Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We regret that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We apologize wholeheartedly for any miscommunication or inconsistencies with our service. Our management tries to create a relaxing and hassle-free experience for our guests. To this end, we encourage guests to speak with our Public Relations Manager, to communicate any areas of concern or dissatisfaction. It would have been our goal to ensure that we met your needs. Please be assured that these experience are not the norm and does not reflect our usual impeccable standards.

We invite you to email us at dir.grandrh@iberostar.com.jm with a copy of this review as we would like to discuss how we could encourage you to visit again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and we had an amazing time! We were greeted with cool towels and mimosas. Our room 5404 had the perfect ocean view. Clean hotel with free Wifi. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Japanese steakhouse = YUM! Get the pasta dish with shrimp at the Italian restaurant. I was prepared for some of the buffet food to be a little cold because I had the same issue with Iberostar Punta Cana. All in all, I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tbell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We were ecstatic to hear that you had loved your room, the overall cleanliness of our hotel, delicious food and friendly staff. Our team was grateful to have been able to play an integral role in your vacation. We look forward to serving you again and trust that you will not hesitate to return.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is excellent, the food at the buffet are superb, food at the ala carte are great except for the Italian, the staff are really great. Would like to thank Kenroy at the checkin, he gave us a room at the 3rd floor with partial sea and forest view :) , Alfonso the Chef, Judy,Yohan, Mr. Or our butler, Kenisha that serve our beer and drinks at the palapas, I forget the names of the other staff that we met but they are all great and accomodating always smiling.

Room Tip: Take the higher room with the sea view and or forest or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. Your warm comments about our friendly staff and scenic room views was certainly encouraging. Our Management and Staff felt privileged to have hosted you and hope that you will not hesitate to return in the near future.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I'm going to make this review very short and direct:
The hotel is great , great location only 20 min from the airport , not busy at all there is always plenty of chairs at the pool and the beach , you can't come out of your room around 12 pm and expecting to find a great location at the pool and or beach ,
The buffet is great and also the specialty restaurants are excellent as we'll ,
The staff are amazing and very friendly and sincere,
We only saw our butler two times , once we arrived and once when they needed to get our flight info, other than that no butler sighting ,
The alcoholic drinks were great but make sure to ask for top shelf , or you can tip very good as soon as you arrive so they will know you and then everything will be fine
Anything you want or wish the staff will provide for you with a smile
Will definitely come back to this resort " yeah man"

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsoxBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel. Your positive comments about our hotel, buffet, friendly staff and delightful customer service meant a great deal to us. Such information assists us in evaluating our customer service. From your review it is obvious that you received our usual first-class service. We hope you will return soon to the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall, as we can assure you that we intend to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,179 reviews
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing