We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation and a beautiful wedding location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I went in May 2013 for a wedding and it was the best trip. The staff was super friendly. The accommodations were luxurious (two words: Butler service). The food was great at all of the restaurants throughout the property. Oh, and the food, accommodations and dj provided for the wedding was top notch! I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BronxGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel on this website. Your comments regarding our friendly staff, luxurious accommodation, butler service and food will also serve as reward to our team. Whilst our management is aware of the hard work of our staff, comments like yours also highlight that our guests also notice. We look forward to your return and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,405 - 3,411 of 6,723 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Paradise.......

If I had to complain, it would only be nit-picking of minor things that don't matter.


I read posts on this site for months, waiting for my vacation to come. All u need to know is that it's great. Do a little pre planning for your meals and excursions, and it will make your vacation all the more smooth.

Food- excellent.
Room - excellent ( request 3rd floor or higher)
Staff - excellent
"Sales" persons on beach - excellent

My personal best vacation ever.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fatty7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your cordial review of our hotel. We were grateful to hear that you had enjoyed your vacation to the fullest. Such comments go a far way in inspiring our hardworking team. We look forward to your return to the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall and hope that you will continue to think of this hotel as your vacation “home away from home”.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Iberostar Grand Rose Hall is wonderful! The best that luxury offers! My husband and I were sold on going to Iberostar not only based on the fact that any friends of ours who already went here recommended this resort hands down, but even Jamaicans go and without hesitation recommend this resort! From the moment my husband and I walked into the resort, we were treated royally. They give you personalized service, and want to do anything for you to make sure you have a grand vacation!

One thing I have to mention is that their lobby smeels soooooooooo GOOD!!! I've never been to a resort that smells so good literally all the time! Everything is very clean, and you can tell they really take pride in taking care of their property.

The food in all the restaurants are very good, including the buffet! The only restaurant that was just okay to us was the Italian restaurant. I think the only complaint that we had was our iron. Our iron was horrible, and even when we asked for a new one, that one was bad too. But that small complaint will never keep us from this wonderful and truly grand hotel!

We have to give a special shout out to Kevin, our butler, who was so nice and sweet, Karen, one of our housekeepers, KeKe, Stella, & Short Cake!! We love them, and they definitely made our trip the best yet!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rldavis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review on this website. Our team appreciates the reviews of our guests as they assist us in assessing the quality of our service and amenities. Please be assured that we will be looking into the problem you mentioned concerning a faulty iron with a view to replacing same. We sincerely apologize for such an inconvenience. We look forward to serving you again and hope that you will also recommend our property to your friends and family.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I visited this resort for my birthday and this was the best vacation I have ever been on. My travels have never been outside the US so I was somewhat concerned of the accomodations. The staff was welcoming and made me feel like royalty. I was met with a smile from everyone from the man painting to the entertainment crew and everyone wanted to make sure I was enjoying my time there. Travis at Jambalaya made sure my dining experience was memorable. I will be scheduling my vacation for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review of our property. Our team was grateful to hear that your recent vacation had been your best vacation to date. Our aim is to ensure that you have lasting vacation memories. For this reason, we have made the effort to ensure that we offer the very best in accommodation, customer service and amenities. We look forward to your return and invite you to email us prior to your arrival via pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand from May 3rd to the 8th. I was very excited to go, read reviews trip advisor reviews every day. I couldn't wait. I went to the Iberostar Grand web page, there you could "configure your stay". This did not work for this resort. The mini bar wasn't as requested, in fact half of the mini bar was missing, Maybe it does, its just someone arrived before we did and they were given a room they did not like, so the hotel gave them the room we were supposed to get and we were given their room. The only way I knew that happened was because when we went to dinner and I told them our room number they said "are you sure it isn't XXXX?" People say there isn't a bad view in the hotel, not true. There are some rooms that you cannot see anything but palm trees. We were placed in one of these rooms, however it really didn't matter to us. The room was located very close to everything.

Butlers are hit and miss. We apparently got the miss side. This helped with the disappointment of this resort. First thing when I told him about the "configure your stay" they acted like I was expecting more than I should, I did receive and email from the resort saying they would make sure everything was in the room, except peanuts because they don't have them. I feel they shouldn't even offer it if they don't do it. The mini bar had no vodka or gin. I asked for a couple bottles of each. I also asked for the pillows I requested on the website. The pillows showed 3 hours later. When the butler showed with the pillows, he asked if I needed anything else, I said yes 2 hangers. Keeping in mind the vodka and gin still did not show. I was so disappointed I went to the web page and emailed about the requests I made earlier. I figured this was the only place they would understand how disappointed I was. I sent an email for dinner reservations. I requested 7pm every night but the first night they only had 8:30 available. This was very late after a long day travel. Every other request was good either I received 6:30 or 7 every night. After my 8:30 dinner I was very tired. Public Relations called, just as I fell asleep wanting to talk to me about my email. I told them I would talk about it tomorrow. And this is when I receive my hangers. 3 hours later. I did talk to them the next day and again she basically told me that the rooms are all set up the same and that they don't make exceptions. Ok why have this on the site then.

I did not let this ruin my vacation. I forged forward and enjoyed every other aspect of the resort. The food was very good, the bar service everywhere was awesome. They keep the resort very clean and it is just breath taking. The resort does have a strong mildew smell, but I attribute that to high humidity. The resort does need a lot of work, broken tiles everywhere the pools floors, but it is still beautiful. The resort is small but beautiful. The beach is rocky but very calm. We picked a good time weather wise, it was perfect.

I would not go back, however, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schwammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. Your positive comments concerning our rooms, food and service was greatly appreciated. We regret the miscommunication which took place regarding your special requests. We would also like to sincerely apologize for the problems you had with your Butler service, getting your mini-bar stocked to your preference and with any unpleasant smell you had encountered. Please be assured that such issues are not the norm. We look forward to the possibility of your return in the near future.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overview

My wife and I just returned from vacation at the Iberostar Grand (April 29 – May 6). There is a ton of info on Trip Advisor about this hotel, so I won’t try to duplicate what others have said about the great rooms and impressive grounds. Bottom line for us is this: the hotel has many great features, but a few major flaws (noted below) that preclude us from returning. I’ll use the rest of this review to try and give future guests some insights and tips based on our experience.

Arrival

Our plane arrived on Tuesday April 29 at 11:20 AM. After a long walk through the terminal to Immigrations we found about 80-100 people ahead of us in the line, which was served by 5 Immigration officers. We didn’t use Club Mobay, but saw that those folks seemed to have their own line on the far right with a dedicated officer, who also took people from our line when he was free. Total time for us to get to and through Immigrations was 25 minutes.

Next we claimed our bags and proceeded to Customs. Here we found 4 separate lines for those with nothing to declare, each line leading to its own customs official. We chose the line on the far left, which turned out to be a mistake because this was the line that Club Mobay used to fast track its customers. Even with this we only spent 10 minutes getting through Customs.

Once outside the terminal we found our representative from Clive’s Transport Service for our prearranged private transfer to the hotel. We asked the driver to stop somewhere along the way so we could purchase a local SIM card for our unlocked phone. He stopped at a small shop where the clerk took 10 minutes to set me up with a SIM and 800 minutes of calling time back to the US for $16. We finally got to the hotel at 12:25 PM.

Our room

The Grand is the first Iberostar resort you come to on your trip from the airport. On its west side is open, undeveloped land. On its east side is the (attached) Suites hotel, and then the (stand-alone) Beach hotel. Each hotel is U-shaped with the pools and gardens in the middle and opening to the beach. We checked in for our reserved Garden View and were given a room on the left side of the U (this side is called building 6). Building 6 has rooms on its right and left hand sides. The rooms on the right face the center of the U while the rooms on the left face the undeveloped land next door. Our room was on the left side. While these rooms are probably the quietest in the resort (and we had requested a quiet room) we didn’t care for the view, which besides the undeveloped land and a view of the ocean also featured a 10 foot concrete security fence. We asked to be moved to the right side of the U and this request was quickly granted. If you’re interested in obtaining (or avoiding) one of these outside rooms, then look for rooms numbered 6x24 - 6x32, where x is the floor number (0-4).

“Room Service”

After being brought to our room by the bellman, we were quickly greeted by one of our butlers for the week. He walked us through the features of the room and showed us how to program the safe. I must say, we didn’t have much luck with the butler or concierge service. We made 4 or 5 requests of our various butlers concerning dinner reservations and some items for the room, and they batted about .500 on these requests. The concierge was 0 for 2 on our request to have the TV in the room fixed (it only got 4 of the 50 advertised channels). After these early fails, we found it easier to stop by the Guest Services office off the main lobby with our requests. I think the three levels of service are a bit confusing and maybe create an atmosphere where no one really feels responsible for following up on things. Guest Services was the winner for us.

Food and Beverage

We didn’t think the restaurants were too special. We tried each of the ala carte restaurants at the Grand and weren’t really impressed with the small servings and the average-tasting food. The exception was the Japanese restaurant. Dinner there was very enjoyable, both from the perspective of the food itself and the antics of the chef. I’ve posted pictures of the menus from these 4 restaurants with this review so you can get a feeling for what they offer. We also tried 2 of the ala carte restaurants at the Suites: the Calabash and the Mediterranean. The Calabash was just okay, but the Mediterranean was terrific. Here the appetizers and desserts are served buffet-style while the soup and main course are ordered off the menu. The food was all delicious. Wherever you plan to eat, do book your dining reservations from home a week or so out (email to pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm), and confirm them once you get there. Apparently their reservation system only goes from Saturday to Saturday, so if you are staying over a weekend as we were you might have to wait till the Saturday after you arrive to book the last few days.

The breakfast and lunch buffets at the Grand were okay but not memorable. We tried the breakfast buffet at the Suites on a couple of mornings. It was similar to the one at the Grand, but it did offer a handful of outside tables. The Grand also had a special beach luncheon just about every day. Prepared right there, it was generally good food served nice and hot (as opposed to the buffets where hot food was served warm and cold food was also sometimes warm!)

We never used Room Service, but I’ve posted a picture of their menu.

Wines were disappointing. I think they only had 4 wines that they offered at the restaurants: a Chardonnay, a Sauvignon Blanc, a Cabernet and a Merlot. We tried each of these and didn’t like any. The hotel does offer a weekly wine tasting on Tuesdays at 12:30 PM, which we unfortunately missed. If wine is important to you, I’d plan on attending. I know you can order better wines at the restaurants for a price, but maybe they also have some other included alternatives that you can learn about at the tasting.

Mixed drinks that we tried were uniformly very good. The only beer I needed (Red Stripe) was included in the room’s mini-bar and available at all the restaurants. So I don’t know what else they have.

The Beach

The beach is where we spend most of our time on vacation. We liked a lot about this beach, but it was also our biggest disappointment. The water was warm and not at all rough, with a nice sandy bottom. There were plenty of chairs available both in the sun and in the shade. No one played the towel game while we were there. (A beach waitress did pass along a good tip regarding beach towels though. The mats that are on the loungers tend to slip down over time. She told us to place a towel between the mat and the lounger to prevent this. Works like a charm). Bar service at the beach was good. And the hotel’s arrangement with the on-site Dressel Divers concession gives its guests free use of snorkel equipment, kayaks and Hobie Cats. If you take out a Cat, you will need to sign a release that asks if you know how to sail. If you do, fine. If you don’t, admit the fact and they will offer you a 15-20 minute lesson for $15. After that you can set sail with confidence!

A couple of things were not so sweet about the beach. The shoreline is very rocky in places, especially from the eastern end of the Grand’s beach through almost the entire Suites beach. This made for some painful trips into the water and some unpleasant strolls down the beach in the morning. Also, my wife saved me from stepping on a sea urchin in the water one morning. The life guard who removed it (and several others during the week) told us that its spines were not poisonous, but could break off in your skin and cause a lot of pain. They apparently roll in on the tide from an offshore reef. Obviously this is not in the hotel’s control, but because the beach scene is so important to us it’s enough to keep us from returning. For others water shoes would be a good option.

Entertainment

We’re not late night people, so we only went to a couple of evening events: the Pirate’s Party and the Ideal Couple show. Both were funny and entertaining. Here’s a big tip if you go to the Pirate’s Party. They play a game where the Pirate hammers a nail a bit into a board to get it started. Then he and a guest take turns hitting the nail until someone wins by smashing it down flush with the board. Stay away from this game! We saw one guest take a giant swing and hit the nail a glancing blow, causing the nail to fly out of the board and strike an onlooker in the chest. Now I know why pirates wear eye patches.

People

The people who work at the Grand are the real reason for going there. They are some of the nicest, hardest-working, sincerest people I have met at any of the places we’ve visited. The Star Friends are a lot of fun - energetic and playful as they cajole you to participate in their many games. We looked forward to their frequent forays into the beach crowd to get their volunteers.

The wait-staff was great too. With the exception of one waitress having a bad day, we received prompt and friendly service from everyone on the wait-staff. There is no such thing as “Island Time” here. I estimate that about half of the guests tip the cocktail waitresses and the wait-staff in the restaurants. Rest assured that you will be given the same professional, efficient service regardless of whether or not you tip.

A Final Tip

The hotel delivers the local paper each morning to your room, and we read stories of the tough times that Jamaicans are going through right now. There is high unemployment and a high cost-of-living, and wages that have been flat for a long time. My final tip would be to recognize the hard work these folks do to make your vacation so enjoyable. Show them some love and respect with a little something in addition to a “thank you” for their effort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review of our hotel. We regret that we had not met all your vacation needs.

You can imagine that the line for Customs at the Sangster International Airport is beyond the control of our hotel’s Management. You have also mentioned that our Butler service and Concierge service were major sore points of your stay, and we humbly apologize for any such disappointment. However, we can assure you that a conversation with our Public Relations Manager, prior to your date of departure would have alleviated these issues.

We have noted your concerns regarding periodic sea urchins in the sea. Whilst we do try to have sea urchins removed each morning, sea urchins are a natural habitant of the sea, and thus likely to be in the sea at any point. We do have some small pebbles in the sand, so we would encourage persons to bring their water shoes or purchase same from the hotel’s gift shop for added safety.

Our management team is committed to the overall satisfaction of our guests. To this end, we encourage any guest facing any challenges with our service to have dialogue with our Public Relations Manager. We would be only too happy to solve any such issues. We would love the opportunity to serve you again soon and hope that you will consider returning in the near future.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What can I say..... awesome, awesome, awesome. Those who have never experienced total relaxation you need to make this your "to go" destination. I wished that I could have spent an eternity there. The food is great, the beaches are beyond spectacular, and the hospitality is beyond anything you could ever imagine. I wish we could take some of their kindness home with us and show our people how to treat one another. Totally amazing Jamaican hospitality. This was my first experience as an all inclusive package and wouldn't have changed anything. I could go on and on but I know that I will be returning again and again. I had the best time of my life while there for 8 days for my sons wedding. Cried when I left saying goodbye to all the friendly staff that made our trip enjoyous. The whole resort was impecable. Not a drop of garbage to be found on the grounds.

Room Tip: We had the oceanview room and would highly recommend it. We were on the 3rd floor and never had any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for the delightful review of our property. We were truly grateful to hear that the hospitality of our staff, delicious food and cleanliness of our property, had contributed to making your vacation extra special. Our team strives to build lasting relationships with our guests, so we sincerely hope you will think of returning. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,690 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,075 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £310 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing