We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just a few tips- be sure you email you dinner reservation request a few days before you arrive and tell your personal butler that you emailed in advance and they will take care of your request. if you are celebrating a special occasion on you vacation be sure and tell your butler and they will go out of their way to make this occasion very special. other than that be just enjoy every minute you have at this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We especially appreciate that such positive comments will go a far way in encouraging other prospective travellers to visit the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall. We encourage guests to take advantage of the Butler-included service – so hearing that you had done just that was indeed rewarding. It is our opinion that by including the Butler in the planning of your special occasions, your stay can only be more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,096 - 3,102 of 6,610 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 1st trip to this hotel, 2nd to an Iberostar Grand (also been to Grand Paraiso in Mexico), and 4th time to Jamaica. What a fantastic place! We traveled in a group of 3 couples, and everyone of us loved this place. The rooms are very large and well laid out, and they are extremely clean. The hotel put us all in a row and our rooms opened out onto a small private pool that only 7 rooms have access to. Each room has a very large bathroom, a large bedroom which steps down into a smaller sitting area, which then opened onto a covered deck, and just beyond that was the pool. We did have an issue with our shower head only spitting out little bits of water, but one call to the desk and they fixed it in a matter of minutes. The butler checked in a couple of times each day to make sure that our in room bar was stocked with whichever beverages and snacks we wanted. The food at both the buffets and the a la carte restaurants was superb. Great selection, service, and food quality. The beach barbeque at lunch featured grilled lobster tail and plenty of jerk chicken and pork, plus other delicious items. Every staff member that we encountered, and there are soooo many, went above and beyond to meet our needs. We truly did not want for anything. The top choice liquors such as Crown Royal, Grey Goose, etc. were there for us as well. I can not say enough good things about this resort. I would go back to it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChristyMtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your cordial review on this website. Your recommendation of, our beautifully appointed rooms, butler service, staff members in general and top-shelf liquors, was very encouraging to our team. Our Management and staff sincerely hopes that you and your spouse will think of returning soon. It would be a privilege to be able to serve you again.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There really aren't enough synonyms for "incredible" in the dictionary to describe this place. It's absolutely fantastic! I've been fortunate enough to stay in some really nice all-inclusives before in the Caribbean, most of which I would go back to. But my family and I tend to want to try new destinations so as much as we like a place, we usually don't go back. This is the first hotel where we all agreed we would 100% come back to. It really is that good!

The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly and the view from our room was beautiful. In addition to the regular daily housekeeping the maids do, you've got an evening turndown service, complete with a little chocolate on your pillow. There's also a fully stocked minibar that gets replenished often.

The grounds are beautifully maintained. We'd see workers constantly clipping bushes, waxing floors, and cleaning the pools each day. And EVERYONE will take a second and say hello to you with a smile. From the janitors to the chefs to the lifeguards, everybody is incredibly warm and friendly.

The beach is great too. Lots of spots to get some shade from the intense sun but also plenty of room to sunbathe. The water is pretty calm but it can get windy from time to time. It also doesn't hurt to have "water shoes" or crocs as the first few feet of beach are rocky when you're entering the water. It's nice and sandy after that though. There's a water sports hut located on the beach if you want to take out any sailboats or kayaks. You can get your scuba diving information from them too.

Let's not forget the food! It's amazing! There's plenty of variety from meal to meal and day to day at the buffet. Everything is placed in small plates there and gets replenished often so you're never eating anything that's been sitting under a hot lamp for an hour. And if you can tear yourself away from the buffet for one night to try an à la carte restaurant, make it the surf and turf place. Phenomenal! If you make time for two, do Japanese. You won't regret either choice.

Overall, this was a fantastic family vacation at a place that really defines five-star all-inclusive. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel. We were ecstatic to learn that our hotel had been your favorite holiday destination to date. Your comments about our scenic room views, warm customer service, and delicious food will serve to encourage our team. Our team looks forward to your return and hope that you will not hesitate to think of this hotel when planning your next vacation.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Iberostar Grand is my home away from home. It is a must...if you have not already done so. I must give credit where credit is due, ShortCake and Stella (great entertainers), Alesia (great sous chef), Kevin and Jason (great butlers), William (best doorman/bellman) and I must save the best for last...Barrington (the best front desk manager)! I would be remiss not to mention Basil, whom watches over us while in the pool. I will be back in November 2014!

Room Tip: Swim-out rooms a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank latonya1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm review of our hotel. Here at the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall, we pay particular emphasis on the delivery of exceptional customer service. To this end, it was inspiring to hear that you highly recommended our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope that you will think of this hotel as your Caribbean “home away from home”.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Absolute best trip a girl could have for her first anniversary! Staff were all experts! I have not made it back to reality from how this was such a blessing. Mr. & Mrs. Ganaway will definitely be back


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Tomeka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your cordial review of our hotel. It was our privilege to have been able to host you on your one-year anniversary. Our Management and Staff aims to provide the ultimate in all-inclusive accommodation. So it was rewarding to hear that you are thinking of returning. Please come again soon and we will aspire to exceed your expectations even further on your next visit.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was a great vacation, one of the best that I had in awhile. This hotel was excellent, the service was great, the restaurants were good, the night life offered variety, the shows were fun. There seemed to be a good variety of pools, but the beach was absolutely gorgeous. The water was so warm and just beautiful. There were little pebbles and rocks on shore, so it may help to wear water shoes, but we did okay without.

Our room was absolutely beautiful, it was a corner ocean front room that overlooked both ocean and pool areas. It was very bright and sunny and made our trip. I loved waking up in the morning and without even lifting my head off the pillow seeing the ocean. It was so peaceful and just amazing.

The staff was incredibly friendly and useful, their mission seemed to be to please the guests. They would go out of their way to ensure that guests were comfortable and happy.

For those of you who can't handle the heat, the spa has a cold well to cool down free of charge, also roman bath, Jacuzzi and spa, all free of charge.

Room Tip: I think the room is very important, waking up, looking out of the window and seeing ocean made my tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank opinionated_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your hearty recommendation on this website. We aspire to meet the unique needs of each of our guests. So we were elated to hear that our beautiful beach, luxurious rooms and friendly staff had met your discerning taste. Please continue to recommend us to your friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Iberostar Grand set the bar pretty high for any AIs my wife and I may choose to visit in the future. We chose this resort at the recommendation of several friends and family members who had stayed there previously. The Iberostar Grand is one of three resorts on the same property. Guests at Beaches and Suites are not allowed access to the grounds at the Grand. Guests at the Grand can use amenities at all three resorts. The Grand is Adults Only and does maintain security staff to ensure that guests from the other resorts and locals don't intrude. One of the other two resorts does have a Lazy River if you're into that sort of thing.

We arrived via private transfer after flying into Montego Bay Airport. Upon arrival (prior to 3pm check in), we received a cool towel and were greeted by a number of people in reception, at the lobby bar and were then escorted directly to our room. Reneish, the head butler, introduced himself, let us know our own butlers would be arriving shortly and gave us a tour of our room, including how to work the safe and the mini bar. He also asked what each of us liked to drink and had a full size (1L) bottle of each sent up for us. The mini bar was stocked with Red Stripe, some domestic (US) beer, a few single serving sized bottles of call liquor and a handful of soft drinks and bottled water. As a whole, the entire staff, from reception, to bartenders, waitresses, housekeeping and butlers seemed genuinely concerned with making sure the guests are comfortable throughout their stays. Dewayne and Donovan were very accommodating and made sure that we had everything we needed. And the ladies in housekeeping took care of making and turning down our beds each day/evening.

I'll reiterate what we were told before staying in an AI. The reason to stay in an AI is the food. For the most part, other than the dining quality and options, all AIs are basically the same. So with that in mind, the food at the Iberostar was great. Make your reservations for dinner in advance. The restaurants are not especially busy during their seatings, but the dining/reservations schedule for each week gets handed to the PR desk the Saturday before. We ate a quick lunch on arrival at the Port Maria buffet and then had a buffet dinner our first night there as we had intentionally not made reservations that night. The breakfast buffet has a little of something for everyone. They have lox, crepes, bagels, cereal, fresh juices, cold cuts and cheese, an omelette station. But you really owe it to yourself to order room service breakfast at least once while you're there. The room service sushi was adequate, but nothing special. My wife really enjoyed the room service Margherita pizza. The a la carte restaurants and room service were consistently pretty fantastic. The chefs have an eye for presentation, but never overlooked food quality. We ate at La Toscana on Friday night. I had steamed mussels in tomato broth as a starter, followed by the shrimp and lobster risotto and the tiramisu for dessert. My wife had a tomato mozzarella starter, spaghetti bolognese and the chocolate cake. On Sunday night, we at at Galleon for surf and turf. I ordered the seafood medley starter and she had the scallops gratin. We each ordered the lobster tail and beef fillet. I finished dinner with the apple tart and she had the chocolate cake.

We spent a great deal of time outdoors at the beach, pool and swim up bar. Our favorite drinks were the Jerry Special (you'll have to ask for Jerry at the swim up bar for these), the Jamaican Smile and the BBC. We tended to tip about a buck a drink while we were there and we never felt like our drinks were watered down. Every afternoon, there was some sort of drunken beach game to keep everyone entertained. The prime seats at the beach and pool get taken very early each morning, so make sure to either have your butler reserve one for you or get up very early to reserve one yourself.

We did book an excursion to Negril, but had done so privately prior to our arrival, so I can't speak to the excursion desk at the resort. If you want to spend a day in Negril, a round trip cab ride itself is $110 US, so you really are better off opting for a private tour guide for the day. We were able to see a couple touristy places, as well as do some local shopping and eat some jerk chicken off resort.

We also visited the spa. She had a coffee scrub with a 30 minute extension on the 30 minute massage. I had a 60 minute hot stone massage. Maxine and Sasha were amazing. And the spa treatments were less than comparable treatments in the States.

To be fair, I should mention that there were a couple issues during our stay. The first night, while we were at dinner, the air conditioning went out. We noticed it was warm in the restaurant, but assumed at the time that it was due to the doors being wide open. Once we returned to our suite, one of the butlers knocked to let us know, proactively, that they were aware of the issue and were working to repair the main AC unit. It was warm for a few hours overnight, but was working properly before morning. Also, the second night as we were getting ready for dinner, the water stopped running mid shower. My wife made a call to the front desk and was transferred to the PR staff, but was not entirely satisfied with their response. It didn't ruin our stay by any means, but there's certainly room for improvement in handling guest complaints when everything isn't running smoothly. That said, we understand that these sorts of issues can happen at a hotel anywhere.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar and were pleased to see they have other resorts in a number of other countries. We'd definitely recommend staying here to other couples looking for an Adults Only AI in Jamaica.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3rd floor Oceanfront room. The view of the beach and ocean was clear and we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geetar_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback of our hotel. We were grateful to hear that the quality of our food, beverages and spa service had surpassed your expectations. Our Management would certainly like to apologize for any inconsistencies in our service, when you attempted to lodge a complaint. Please be assured that though there was a technical problem with the air conditioning system that day, it has since been rectified. We were grateful that you did not allow this issue to affect the rest of your stay. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will not hesitate to return for your next Caribbean vacation.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,564 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,940 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £323 - £699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing