We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary & birthday trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I went to this beautiful resort as a dual anniversary and birthday celebration. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with wet towels and mimosas. The resort interiorly smells delicious of lavender. The front desk rep, Corey, was pleasant but said we would have to pay $50 extra/night for an upgrade to an oceanfront room despite the occasions. He led us to our room on the 4th floor, overlooking a closed off pool and a partial ocean view.

The room was spotless and came with ordinary bathroom amenities and our own mini-refrigerator filled with alcohol/juice/soda, etc., which was restocked daily. The room service was prompt and came with a pillow menu. Our butlers were Donovan, Kevin, and Duran. My boyfriend set up a bubble bath with swan towels, rose petals, champagne on the side, and happy birthday balloons set up in the bedroom itself. He also ordered birthday cake slices but there may have been confusion and they were never brought up.

We had a couples massage at the Spa/Salon within the resort and it was fantastic (not included). A little known secret was that the wellness pool and Jacuzzis are free to any guest of the hotel.

The food in the restaurants was very delicious and the staff prompt. We tipped the staff but I noted that not everyone did. We partook in the sea kayaking (free) that was difficult but a fun adventure! Toward the end of the trip, we began to notice more that guests (green/orange bracelets) from the other 2 less expensive resorts in Iberostar were eating and lounging at our resort. We’re not sure if they had access to our resort or if they somehow “wandered” to our resort without staff telling them otherwise. The cost to stay at the other 2 resorts was considerably less so it is worth noting that it may be possible to have access to our amenities at a far cheaper expense.

The last experience we had at this otherwise generous and extremely polite resort was off-putting. Upon checkout, guest services was curt and borderline rude. Kenroy and a young woman helped us. They didn’t ask us how our stay was or thank us for coming. Aside from this, our experience was amazing and we would consider returning to this resort some day in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade as there are usually rooms available but it depends on who is checking you in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review of our hotel. Your ecstatic comments about our rooms, spa services, and food will go a far way in motivating our team.

It was unfortunate that you had received a less than stellar customer service on your previous visit. Please be assured that this is certainly not the norm, and we will continue to remind the relevant persons of the importance of giving sincere customer service that is synonymous with the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall name. Our Management would like to take this opportunity to apologize for that negative experience. We are more than grateful of the fact that you did not let that experience prevent you from returning. Even more so, it was rewarding to hear that your anniversary/birthday trip had been a resounding success.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,488)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,957 - 2,963 of 6,488 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just got back from our stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. It was absolutely wonderful. We chose this resort for our Honeymoon for the adults only and the food reviews. We were not disappointed! The food was the best we have had from a resort. There were so many options to choose from, even the room service menu was outstanding! The Surf and Turf was our favorite restaurant. The steaks were amazing! The staff was beyond helpful and friendly. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask. Loved chatting to all the workers they had on site. Especially loved talking to Garry the pool guy. Always had good vibes and great stories for us. The Star friends were great too. Loved hanging with them by the pool and at the pirate party. Always very entertaining and never to pushy. We definitely plan to return. Everyone on site really tries to make their guests feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrissy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. Your comments about our food, staff and entertainment was very informative. We are always anxious to know how our guests feel about our services and amenities as a criterion for further improvement. To this end, it was rewarding to learn that we had met all your vacation needs. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an amazing time at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall. It was a very relaxing get-away by the beach/pools with hotel staff waiting on us hand-and-foot. However, there are several private events and weddings that occur each and every day (at least in the summer time) which "close off" the main beach area and some restaurants on any given night. Would be nice if they had a bonfire on the beach for all those staying at the hotel rather than a small wedding party.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen the IBEROSTAR Grand Rose Hall for your relaxing get-away. It really was a privilege to have been able to extend our usual sincere customer service. Please be assured that we have heard your suggestion for a bonfire to be a regular fixture of our entertainment offering, and will certainly bear it in mind. We hope you will consider recommending our hotel to your friends and family and will choose this property when next you are planning your vacation.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful, clean and well maintained resort. Food is great, bar service is fast, friendly, and generous. Service around pools and beach is friendly and often. Lounge chair cushions slide out of chair - a little frustrating. Wifi service was not good; weak, frequently disconnected, and not available in all areas of the resort. Nighttime entertainment was good. If you have never stayed at a 5 star resort like Iberostar or Excellence don't start now because you can't go back to lesser quality places after staying at one of these.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
4  Thank JimmyBoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review. We regret that you had experienced an issue with our Wi-fi and are not sure if you had spoken with Public Relations Team, to see if there was a problem for that particular period. As this issue is not the norm. We humbly apologize, and are only grateful that you did not let it affect your overall stay. Our team is looking forward to hosting you again soon and trusts that you will continue to think of us as your “home away from home”.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in may. Weather was the perfect temp. It rained one day but it was still a great time. The surf and turf restaurant was probably the best meal I've ever had. I didn't get an opportunity to try the japanese restaurant but the others were very good, just not as good as the surf and turf. We did have a problem with an electrical short in the bathroom. It took a few phone calls but they fixed it a couple of hours later. Later in the stay our ceiling started leaking. 4 phone calls to the desk and they kept telling us they would send the butler up. In 4 days we passed a guy in the hallway who said he was our butler but our day butler never appeared at our roon during the entire stay. The night butler was very good. Someone fron guest relations called about 30 minutes before our dinner reservation the night before we left to tell us our room change was ready but they never told us they were changing our room so we could be ready. We ended up staying in the room that night. With those exceptions the resort was amazing. Other than the non existent day butler, all the staff were incredible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank butchdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review of our hotel. We were grateful to hear the positive review of our restaurants and warm service of our staff in general. We would like to hastily apologize for the miscommunication regarding your room change, the maintenance issues you had experienced and inconsistent butler service. Such issues do not reflect the usual efficiency with which we normally serve our guests.

We hope that you will consider returning in the near future as we would certainly like to have another chance to show you a relaxing and hassle-free vacation.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is all that everyone has said. The staff is amazing, the food is top notch and the alcohol is free flowing. I have to give a special shout out to Barrington at the front desk who upgraded us to oceanfront upon learning that it was our 10 year anniversary. If you can get an oceanfront room, do it, the views are amazing. Also our butler Denston was unbelievable. My wife was not feeling well our last night, so Denston arranged it so we were able to have dinner form the surf and turf brought to our room. He went above and beyond. I also want to thank the pool girls Lisa and Theolyn, they really helped out my wife with her sunburn.

What keeps me from giving this hotel 5 stars is something that can easily be rectified if management and I mean the corporation that owns the Iberostar will listen to their guests. This hotel is in Jamaica and it needs a Jamaica vibe. I talked to at least 10 guests who all felt the same way. One couple actually left the hotel midway through their stay because the vibe was missing. Most guest are asking for music to be played throughout the day. All that needs to be done is set up speakers between the "quiet" pool and the activities pool and set up some type of music loop. The music by the pool bar is not enough. Also your 24 hour menu has no jerk options, this is Jamaica, I am guessing that is an oversight that can easily be corrected.

With these minor changes this will be a 5 star resort worthy of being in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms in building 5 have a great view, but if you go to bed early beware that most of the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank izzydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review of our hotel. It was an honor to have been able to accommodate you for such a special milestone as your Anniversary. We have noted the generous comments regarding the service of our Front Office team, Butlers, and Pool Concierge. We regret that you were disappointed with the ambience, especially as it concerns the music. However, our Hotel’s Management has to take into account the unique preference of each guest. A scan of the reviews on this website might reveal ,for example, that whilst at the pool, some persons prefer more music/or louder music. Then you have some guests who prefer no music at all, as they say the music interrupts their relaxation at the pool. We crave your understanding, as we try to ensure everyone enjoys their visit.

Please be assured, that your suggestion for a jerk option on the room service menu has been duly noted and we will certainly pass this on to our Executive Chef.

We look forward to your return and hope that you will consider our hotel when next you are planning your eleven (11) year Anniversary trip.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have just returned from a great two weeks at the Grand. What made it so enjoyable was mainly down to the fantastic staff that work here, from the maids to bar staff and of course the Star Friends. (Peter wish I could dance like you and Crystal and Kiki I will never know how you could walk in those shoes!)
The lobby when you enter is very grand and you are welcomed with a cold towel and mimosa. Check in quick and pleasant.
The suite was nice, got a free upgrade to an ocean view room that was nice and had a welcoming bottle of champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary (41 years) when we got back to the room our first night. Did think it was a bit dark but the king size bed was nice and comfortable and yes as others have said it is a bit strange that the toilet door is see through!
Food: Our favourite was the Japanese both the hibatchi and the sit down. Gourmet was very good. The Italian was OK as was the surf and turf. The Jamaican was also nice as it was at the Port Maria which is the only open air restaurant. I am now hooked on Jamaican patties and festival. We ate in all the restaurants twice except the Jamaican which was often used for weddings.
Entertainment: This was great - we never usually go to watch any shows when we were on holiday bit these were well worth watching. It was great to stay after the show had finished when the singers and band would just carry on. (Big band show highly recommended).
Beach: The beach was nice, sometimes a few stones to get over before entering the sea but once in the bottom was smooth and sandy, no need for water shoes. Water was nice and clear and especially late afternoon like a warm bath.
Service, staff and cleanliness: This was exceptional. The staff are fantastic and a few tears were shed when we left. We did tip but never made to feel that we had too.
We are going to try the Grand in Punta Cana next year which we have been told by some other guests (both UK and USA and Canadian) is even better (although I cant believe how until I see it. We had a wonderful two weeks at the Grand - our first time in Jamaica and hopefully not our last. If you have any questions I will try and answer them.

Room Tip: We had booked a garden view room but was given an ocean view on the 3rd floor block 6. Had a good vi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel. Your delightful comments about our Entertainment Staff, delicious food, nice beach and warm staff means a great deal to us. We work tirelessly to meet the unique needs of our guests. So it is always rewarding to hear that our guests are pleased with our service. We hope that you will consider returning soon on the occasion of your second (2nd) visit to the island.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#5 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £318 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing