We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Inclusive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were not disappointed. Rose Hall suites was a very nice resort with outstanding very roomy suites. The view from our room was excellent and the food at the many different restaurants was very good. Most of the staff was excellent but some of the staff showed indifference and were not friendly. The entertainment was average but the travel assistants at the hotel were very helpful. We booked an excursion to Dunn River falls and the Ocho Rios area and our guide Richard was the best. He was with Tourwise and did an excellent job taking us to all the sites we wanted to see. Swimming pool and swim up bar was nice. The beach was not crowded and the amenities were excellent. We will book again with Iberostar.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the fourth floor with an ocean view. The upgrade was worth the cost for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRoshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear guest,

Please accept our heartfelt thanks for choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Suites as your vacation destination and for sharing your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

We are truly pleased to hear that you found our services and amenities pleasing and our rooms comfortable. We do regret hearing that you found some persons were not as friendly as others, but rest assured this is not a true reflection of the friendliness and warmth of our staff.

With that being said, it is hoped that sometime in the near future we will be given the opportunity of hosting you at our hotel once more. Thank you for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 4,487 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I am used to staying at the Riu when travelling to Jamaica but I was not disappointed with our stay at this hotel.

Pros
-Food is on par if not better than the Riu
-No problem getting reservations to the speciality restuarants and in 1 occassion they actually fit us in (we were a large group of 16) even though they were booked up
-Staff are very professional and kind
-Rooms are clean and I didn't see one bug! ha.
-Room was cleaned and fridge stocked daily
-May have been a slow time but it was not crowded so no problem getting chairs on the beach or at the pool
-Infinity pool
-Close walk from hotel to beach and restaurants
-Breakfast open until 11:00am

Cons
-The lighting should be better throughout the hotel - especially in the common areas
-Not a huge fan of a rain shower myself. Usually there is an option in the shower for a more powerful head but not here. The bath had one though
-Water temperature strange - took too long to increase and decrease the shower temperature. Often it was too hot or too cold
-Sink water pressure was weak
-Entertainment at the Riu is superior - the staff are friendly here but the shows and activities are just not as elaborate as the Riu

TRAVELLER TIP

Please do check out the market just to the right of the pier. Don't be deterred by the warning sign. It is just for the hotel to protect their liability. The locals are just trying to earn some money so please have a look at what they have to offer. It will be cheaper than what you find at the shopping area outside the hotel for which they offer a free shuttle to. We went there everyday to visit the people and the dogs. Yes they will all try to get you into their shop of course so just learn how to handle that. They are harmless :P

Oh and we adopted a dog from the local market! It's actually not all that expensive (300 to 450) to bring him back to Canada - it does depend on the weight of the dog though. Please adopt. Jamaican dogs are the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you first and foremost for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation. It is our utmost pleasure to have given you a sweet vacation.

Your benevolent words have been well received and we are gratified to know that you have enjoyed the spectacular service of our courteous staff, our pools and beaches.

With that said, we have taken note of your concerns and we will see to it that they are conveyed to the respective managers.

We sincerely hope that we will once again have the absolute pleasure of serving you again at our resort. Thanks for making it Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed in several all-inclusive resorts. Everything here food, rooms, facilities were all on par or slightly better than our stays at other resorts. The real standouts – The Star staff was very friendly and engaging. The evening shows were much better. The other travelers were fun to be around. The ocean water was very warm and the waves were fairly small. The only downside was more of a personal preference. I really enjoy walking outside of the resort to see the local area. The location was too far out from anything to comfortably walk anywhere. I might try a different location next time, but I would recommend this resort to anyone that was staying in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of all the management and staff at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, we would like to thank you for not only choosing to be valued guests of our luxurious property, but also for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about how your holiday went with us.

We find it extremely gratifying hearing that you enjoyed our food, entertainment and accommodations. We are also very pleased to understand from your kind comments that you would recommend our hotel to others.

It is hoped that when planning future vacations that Iberostar is foremost in your thoughts.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Especially since our family loves the fun loving, friendly attitude of the Jamaican people, we were very disappointed in the inattentive, uninterested attitude of many of the hotel staff, especially at the restaurants, but also throughout the rest of the hotel. With a few expections of VIP and our waiter at the Gourmet restaurant, the staff just seemed like they were going through the motions. We had the wrong food served several times and had to ask for the same thing multiple times on multiple meals, which would have been acceptable if the waitress has just said "I'm sorry", but they did not do so. When my teenage sons thanked the waiters for a refill of water, the waitresses said absolutely nothing--no "your welcome" or anything else. No staff were rude or unfriendly but the hotel management needs to visit the Beaches Hotel in Negril, Jamaica and realize what friendly, customer focused service is all about.

In addition, on the first night of our four night stay, there was no water in the rooms--so, no shower, no flushing the commode, no faucet water until the next morning. We don't know if this was due to generally poor maintenance or just bad luck on our first night. However, the management could have at least left a message on hotel phones or on a note under the door saying they were sorry for the inconvenience, but that never happened...once again, terribly poor customer service.

Other problems included: 1. There's not enough sand on the beach volleyball court, so my son and several others skinned their knees on the cement under the shallow sand--just add a little more sand. 2. The first 10 yards of the beach had rocks that made it hard to walk out into the ocean--the management cannot change mother nature, but maybe they could rake a 10 yard wide area, so people could go into the Caribbean without hurting their feet. 3. The mattresses on the double beds were too weak to support two adults, so it created a V in the middle of the bed, thus making it hard to sleep. 4. We didn't realize our teenage sons had to wear long pants in the 4 a la carte restaurants, so we had to take 3 hours or so to go buy some pants--there's a note on this on the restaurant sites, but the hotel website want to make a note for people who might not go to the individual restaurant links. 5. Guest services made one of our dinner reservations for the wrong night. At the restaurant rather than saying they had extra tables, they just said we had no reservation, and it took 10-15 minutes for the restaurant staff to finally offer a table for us, given there were numerous vacant tables. 6. The lazy river had no current at all, which is different from most hotel lazy rivers. The Saturday night musical review was well done, but the Friday night show, which was primarily 5 males from the audience taking off their shirts and simulating a pole dance, was just awful.

This is the first time I have ever written a negative review, and I dislike doing so, but I truly believe the management has failed to train the employees on customer friendly service. I blame the management and not the individual employees, and this is something they can be fixed. If the service at this hotel could be improved, the hotel itself is a quality one; there are great ocean views from most rooms; there are lots of events; the food is better than at most all inclusive hotels; and individual employees such as VIP and Kimone at the Gourmet restaurant show how great this hotel could be with far better customer service. I hope the management either is changed or works to build a culture of friendly, customer focused service--exactly what most people have come to expect from the great people of Jamaica. The Edwards Family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guest,

Let me begin by saying thank you on behalf of the management and staff at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites for not only choosing our resort to spend your vacation, but also for taking time away from your busy schedule to send us your comments on your opinion of your experience at our hotel.

We would like to use this medium to express our most sincere apology if you were in any way unsatisfied with our standard of customer service provided by our team members. However, we assure you that this is certainly not a true representation of our standards of operation or the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless extend our apologies for any dissatisfaction or inconvenience you may have encountered while at our resort. Please note that we will definitely share your remarks with all the respective department managers as it is always our goal to continually improve upon our services and facilities in order to better serve our valued guests.

We are however thankful that despite some of your disappointments, you were satisfied with our delicious food and luxurious suites and able to be have impressionable comments for VIP and our service staff at the Gourmet.

Despite these situations, we hope that we will once again have the pleasure of serving you in the future as we would relish the opportunity to prove to you, our sincere dedication to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Family reunion with about 20 people of various food, activity, and leisure preferences. Age range from early 20's through 84 and international travel none to very experienced. Surprisingly everyone had a fabulous time. The buffet was a favorite and with it's variety it served vegetarians, gluten-free, egg free, and dairy free diets. Generally the buffet was preferred over the reservation resturants. The bartenders we very accommodating and mixed drinks as strong as your preference. The alcohol was mid to top shelf. All of the staff that I interacted with were delightful people. Personally I tipped generously, yet staff didn't seem to expect tips. We were upgraded from the Beach, we did really enjoy the Beach lobby bar as well as the Suites bars. People in our group enjoyed sailing, intro to scuba, and the pools. The rooms are a generous size, well kept, and not at all musty. Based on other reviews we were concerned about molds especially as some we sensitive to that so we were relieved to not have an issue.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank 9,642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Guest

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Rose hall Suites for you vacation.
Firstly, let me thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers how your holiday went at our Resort. It is a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to making your holiday excellent.

We feel extremely proud to know that you enjoyed every aspect of the resort and or sister property and we do hope that the experience that you received here is an unforgettable one.

We candidly look forward to your return as it would be an honor to extend our hospitality to you once more. Once again thank you for making it IBEROSTAR.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from a family vacation to Iberostar Suites. There were 11 of us--6 adults and 5 children--ages 3 to 10. Kids club and children activities were very good.
Entertainment wasn't as good as the Iberostar we stayed at in Riviera Maya--
Food was good but service was sometimes a bit slow in the gourmet restaurants. I recommend eating at the buffets if you have children with you--as the kids do get frigidity.
Resort and beach very clean.
Visited the Iberostar Grand (adults only) and it was very QUIET and lovely.
I will stick with the Iberostar chain.....
Thanks to Fay at Tripguy Travel for making the arrangements.

Room Tip: Request BUILDING 4-----2nd floor---great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripgalFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guest,

Please allow us to take this opportunity to thank you for once again choosing to vacation with the Iberostar chain of hotels and also for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to hear that we were able to provide you and your family with a wonderful holiday and that you were satisfied with our Kids Club, the cleanliness of our resort and the food at our various restaurants.

Your comments have been duly noted and will be directed to the restaurant manager for consideration.

It has been a pleasure hosting you at our resort and we sincerely hope that when planning your next vacation that Iberostar is foremost in your thoughts. Thanks for making it Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We just returned from our trip a couple of days ago. As parents travelling with an 11 month old infant, we have to say the trip was an overall success with a couple of hiccups. The resort itself was very nice in terms of decor, upkeep, and cleanliness. We felt it was good value for a 4 star hotel. Our room was spacious and had the usual security box, minibar, iron, hair dryer, king size bed. The room has a large fan and a powerful a/c to keep cool. We never felt hot in the room (unless the fan and a/c were off). We did notice there is some dampness and not sure if that's due to the humidity in the weather or room ventilation. However, it didn't bother us much.

Food throughout the resort was abundant. You cannot go hungry (unless you are super picky) as there is a lot of variety. We booked the 3 a la carte restaurants immediately after we arrived. We tried the steakhouse (it was ok), mediterranean (better), and gourmet (best) restaurants. The Gourmet had the best ambience, setting and food and we were pleasantly surprised. The buffet had your typical buffet food and it wasn't bad. As mentioned, it's very hard to go hungry. We brought our own food for the infant but they were nice enough to make anything you request if you wanted to. One thing about the high chairs is that they seemed a bit dirty from time to time so make sure you bring some wipes to wipe it down.

We didn't have an issue finding lounge chairs in the pool area or on the beach. The lazy river is really lazy as others have mentioned but it was suitable for us with our infant. The Kids Club has things for your little ones to do if you want to find some entertainment for them (ages 4-12). Room service was also quite fast. We ordered 3 times and they all came within 25 mins or less. Keep in mind that they set your expectation for 30-45 mins. Babysitters can be arranged with advanced notice at $12/hr (cash).

Although the place is all inclusive, please tip if you feel it's justified. We tipped at the buffet, a la carte restaurants, bartenders, room service, babysitter. The people there took care of us and were very friendly. I especially like how they gravitated towards our little one, remembered her name and tried to play and chat with her. The animation crew was fantastic in leading the activities in the afternoon (we missed most of it since it was our baby's naptime and we preferred not to cut her nap short so that her night time sleep would be good) and at night (beach party, reggae night etc). Yoga was offered at 11am but the turnout was low (5 people max, some of which were encouraged to join rather than volunteers). Based on the schedule of programs, there was always something going on especially if you didn't have to cater to a baby on a schedule. It was enough to keep our days busy since we chose not to venture out of the Iberostar complex. We did check out Beach (walked ourselves) and Grand (guided tour) and we felt that Suites was definitely worth the extra money over Beach (Grand was not an option with our baby).

Regarding the hiccup, one was on the first day when our infant's crib was not in the room. We had to call twice to remind them of it. It probably wouldn't have been a big deal if we had arrived at a different time but it just so happens the time coincided with her nap and without a crib, she's not going to sleep. The second issue was a potential theft attempt in our room. We found our little girl's dress underneath a dresser in a dark corner. The dress was placed in the bottom of our luggage so unless the dress grew a set of legs to climb out of our suitcase and then decide to crawl underneath the dresser to a dark corner to relax and hide, we can only suspect someone placed it there. It's a good thing we were looking for that outfit and found it or else our experience and memory of the place would have been a whole lot different. We filed an incident report but not sure what is going to come out of the investigation. I suppose the ordeal is a good reminder for us and for all to lock their suitcases, luggage, bags when they are not in the room because things can happen whether you are at a 5 star or 1 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roamingMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear guest,

Please allow us this opportunity to relay our heartfelt thanks for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacation and for also taking time out of your busy schedule to share with other travelers your review of your recent visit to our resort.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, the excellent food, drinks, pools and our friendly, entertaining and attentive staff. As it relates to the investigation, our security personnel interviewed the staff who entered the room and it was found out that she did see the suitcase, but did not touch or remove any dress from the suitcase.

It has been a pleasure hosting you here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, and we do look forward to your next visit on our sunny island of Jamaica.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
12.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Main Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: £243 - £637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Southall Travel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing