We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Rose Hall Suites - Pluses and Minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Iberostar Rose Hall Suites - Pluses and Minuses”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just got back from a group trip to the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites...

Pluses:
Great view, pretty resort, plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pool. Breakfast was good and had a nice selection. We didn't have any trouble getting dinner reservations every night, even though we were a large group. The resort was safe and secure.

Minuses:
Food was pretty horrendous, except breakfast (although the same selection got old after 3 mornings). The only restaurant where the food was decent was Calabash (Gourmet) - although the meal took over 2 hours for 3 courses. At an all-inclusive restaurant with very few options, we know the food is prepared ahead of time - so there was really no reason for the wait. The other restaurants were sub-par. My other major complaint is that the staff is friendly - but only if you tip them. After being at all inclusives where tips were not accepted (let alone expected), this took us a day or so to figure out. After tipping, the staff went from completely ignoring us to asking for us by name. The difference in behavior was astounding and a turn off. Finally, the resort is good for those who like "activities", but may not be for people who are looking to relax and not be bothered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parks1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your experience with IBEROSTAR.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the view in your room and the hotel grounds as well as our breakfast selections offered on a daily basis.

On the other hand, we sincerely regret hearing about your disappointment with the food in the restaurants but however assure you that this is truly not a true representation of our standards of operation. Regarding your comments about tipping ; while the company allows tipping gesture of appreciation we would just like to make it clear that this is entirely up to your discretion – we have however took note and will address the issue as this should not affect the operations of our customer service.

We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again once more, and welcoming you back to our hotel.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,766
    1,076
    278
    83
    59
See reviews for
2,170
1,146
57
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My girlfriend and I loved the resort because it was a good way to relax and eat... There were lots of activities in the day time, (aquanastics, tennis, spinning, waterpolo to name a few) and fun after dinner shows too. Staff did a phenomenal job keeping the place clean and were helpful to employees. If you want an adult only resort, I'd recommend and upgrade to the Iberostar Grand Hall. Food was plentiful, clean and great quality. Service at the gourmet restaurant was 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to know that you’ve chosen the IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites for your vacation. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience at the hotel.

We are extremely proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will share with the staff that contributed towards ensuring that you had a great time and congratulate them on their efforts. Thanks again for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from 10 days at one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in although there are one or two very minor niggles the hotel could easily put right! The rooms are nice and large with a king size comfortable bed, a seating area with writing desk, modern wall mounted TV (just have to put up with loads of adverts on American programmes), large bathroom with double bath, two sinks and a shower. Also,free use of a safe and mini bar.

Lovely large swimming pool, a lazy river with inflatables, good beach with safe swimming and snorkelling. Hard working entertainments team but don't expect a peaceful time sunbathing around the pool in the afternoons! Also, the Americans and Canadians seem to be up at the crack of dawn and reserving sun beds which they hardly use all day. There are signs to say this is not allowed but the hotel does not enforce the rule. The shows in the theatre are generally quite good although one or two don't quite work notably the Miss Iberostar Show. However, we were surprised the other shows and evening beach party were not better supported by the guests).

Staff are very polite and friendly, just remember to tip for excellent service - two/three US dollars or 200/300 Jamaican dollars is the norm.

Turning to the food, just be prepared to put on lots of weight! Wonderful choice of dishes in the buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner including local Jamaican food if you are brave enough! In addition there is a Steak House, Mediterranean, Mexican and Japanese restaurants - all of which need to be pre-booked through the customer service desk in reception. Again excellent food, particularly the steaks and deserts.

Lastly, excursions. I recommend climbing the Dunns River Falls and swimming with dolphins if you have not done them before. However, avoid the trip to the Black River to see the crocodiles since the road through hills to the other side of the island lacks a decent surface and so average speed is only about 15 miles per hour and it takes more than three very bumby hours to get there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Essexboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation. We would like to thank you for taking the time you have took to share your review with us and the online community about the experience you had here at the Rose Hall Suites Property. As you have mentioned in your comments – the Iberostar Rose Hall Suite is the best hotel you have ever stayed at; this indeed motivates us to continue aiming towards excellence within the hospitality industry ensuring that our valued guest receive the best and highest level of customer service.

We will also share your review with the staff who contributed towards ensuring that you had a great time here in Jamaica at the Rose Hall Suites Property. We look forward to seeing you again and once more we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was my frst stay at Rose Hall Suites,and I have to say it's the best vacation I have ever had in Jamaica - I was married in Jamaica and I have travelled there many many times, and I was so impressed by this hotel. The service A+ the food A+ the Rooms and beds A+. I would not change anything. The night shows were so much fun, I enjoyed myself so much. I travelled with a friend during this trip,but I will be returning in December with my husband and two boys this is how great it was, I need them to experience the same. The ocean is a little rocky right in front out the suites, if you walk down to the other hotel, it's less rocky. I would bring water shoes, other than that everything was delightful, perfect and irie. Can't WAIT to return, trust me there is nothing to worry about this hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: I would book the standard room, we changed rooms 3 times. We arrived and we asked air transat for do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation. We are indeed that happy to know that you would give this Rose Hall Suites Hotel an A+ ratings. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and the online community the great experience that you had here at our hotel. Once again we appreciate your choice of vacation here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Property - We look forward to welcoming you and your family in December to our resort.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just returned from our honeymoon at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites in Montego Bay. The resort is situated between two other Iberostar hotels, "Grand" and "Beach". With the Grand being the higher end adults only option. If your staying the Suites, you have access to the Beach hotel, but not really the Grand.

The Suites features a large beautiful infinity pool, lazy river, and a smaller kids pool. The infinity pool also has a nice swim up bar. Adjacent to the pool is the clubhouse where you can rent board games, get towels, and sporting equipment. The clubhouse is also blasting loud music and staff announcements on hourly activities. Personally, I found both (music & announcements) to be loud, annoying, and disruptive.

Just beyond the pool is the beach front. There's plenty of chairs and staff will come to take your drink orders. Is this a pristine beach? No, but it's quite nice and adequate.

We stayed in a room overlooking the pools, with the ocean off to the right of our large balcony. The room was large featuring double vanity bathroom, king bed, sitting area, plenty of storage, and a nice balcony. It was quiet and comfortable at night. My only complaint was that the room took on a musty scent and the lighting was poor in the bathroom/shower.
I wouldn't recommend staying in a room that doesn't face the pools or ocean.

The lobby entrance is very large, opulent, and inviting. Off to the side is the main lobby bar and outdoor seating.

What about the food and drinks, you ask? The drinks were quite good at all the bars. That includes some great Jamaican coffee, rum punches, and some nice top shelf liquors.

The food left much to be desired for the most part. As with any all inclusive resort, the food is prepared in large portions for buffet dining. The main buffet restaurant was good for breakfast, but for other meals it felt very repetitive. Additionally, the buffet facilities were outdated and not very clean. The dining areas were clean though.

For your a la carte restaurants, your options are weak. There's a steakhouse, mexican, french, japanese hibachi, and cajun restaurants. You must have a reservation for each restaurant, even though most were half full when we dined.

All the restaurants try to impress you with their cuts of meat or lobster, but don't be fooled. The food is very salty, overcooked, and poor quality. When the menu lists vegetables, they literally mean one microwaved piece of broccoli. There's always two soup options, but both are essentially the same. Where's an authentic Jamaican restaurant? Why would I travel to Jamaica to eat mexican or french ?

Fortunately, the staff at each restaurant were very nice and friendly. That trait is carried over across the whole staff. Everyone was cordial, funny, and outgoing. This helps with some of the short comings around the resort.

We booked a couples massage through the onsite spa as well. The massage was very good and the staff was professional. After the massage, we decided to dip into the various baths. Each bath looked outdated, dirty, and unappealing. One was out of order as well.

Overall, this a nice resort that caters to families and large groups. Would I stay here again? Probably not, but I would try the higher tiered "Grand" resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkoven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your Honeymoon vacation and also we would just like to use this medium and congratulate you and your wife on the new path of your life as newly wedding couples.

We appreciate you shearing your opinions on IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites Hotel and what it had to offer. As a top brand hotel chain we always seek to exceed our guest expectation by providing them with the best hospitality service throughout their entire stay.
We regret to know that you were dissatisfied with the food that was offered in the various restaurants and the buffet area where the food was prepared. You’ve also mentioned about not having any Jamaican food been offered – Just to make it clear we actually have the buffet restaurant which offers an international theme on a nightly basis with the Jamaican theme on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays. In addition we have a beach barbeque on Mondays and Thursday weekly which would offers Jerk Chicken and Jerk Pork along with sides such as Bammy & Festival etc.
In spite of your complains we are happy to know that found the restaurant staff pleasant and friendly. Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica, and we will definitely go back. The people and food were awesome.

The only thing that keeps me from giving an excellent rating is the musty, moldy smell of our room. We actually tried 2 rooms - both were bad.
The staff were excellent, they put a dehumidifier in our room, sprayed deodorizer, and even changed the A/C filter in the room (it was dirty). This all helped, but did not eliminate the problem. We also bought a scented candle in the gift shop to cover the smell ($12USD)

Every dinner restaurant was excellent, we especially loved the gourmet resto. The buffet was very good too. Cappuccinos were great!

Hallways were dark and hot. The black on brown lettering motif made it hard to see room numbers, and restaurant names.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation. We appreciate you taking time to share your review with us and the online community here on TRIP ADVISOR. It pleases us to know that you were satisfied with your stay here at the Rose Hall Suites Property in Jamaica.

We have also noted that you were displeased with the scent of your room during your vacation. I would like to use the medium and extend an apology for such inconvenience you’ve experience. We will also forward this issue along with other mentioned problems you’ve mentioned.

Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Good food, amazing beach with plenty of sea inhabitants just couple meters away from the shore. Great service and best of all - Kid's club. My kids did not want to leave it at all. So, me and my wife had plenty of time for just two of us.

Victor

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank fradvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you choosing the IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites Property for your Family Vacation. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time and also that you were satisfied with our property. We will congratulate the staff especially the girls from the Kids Club who did such an incredible job with your kids. Thanks once again for choosing IBEROSTAR we look forward to seeing you again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
12.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Property: Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing