We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveller rating
1,734
362
118
65
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,734
362
118
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millhibiscus suiteseagrape terraceil giardinoall inclusive planwest cottagesfern tree spameal plansea grapeprivate poolbedroom villagolf cartcedar barsunset beachhorseback ridingpepper potvilla staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,031 - 2,036 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We decided to go back to Half Moon a year after our first visit as we loved it so much last time and it didn't disappoint.
The only thing which was a bit of a shame was the weather but really, who cares about the rain when you're sitting on your balcony staring out at the beautiful ocean.
The staff were as brilliant and friendly as they were last time and some, amazingly, even remembered us.
It was a bit noisy this time due to a few wedding parties from the States but this wasn't a big problem.
We had always said we weren't beach people and we didn't go back to the same place twice as there's so much world to see but this place has got us hooked so expect a return visit from us.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank The_Rookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We - wife and a 18mth old daughter - spent 6 fantastic nights at the Half Moon a couple weeks back. I was not too sure what to expect from Half Moon when I booked it as reviews were all over the place - good, bad and ugly. The frist 2 days it only rained - even this did not dampen our spirits. The staff is just brilliant and go out of their way to help. The resort is gorgeous - colonial bungalows, loads of beaches to chooses from and a children's village which is a must if you are travelling with kids. Yes, the rooms are a bit older but who cares - when the weather is nice you spend all your time enjoying the many facilities that the resort has to offer - swimming pools, bars, beach, tennis, cycling, horse backing riding, golf, shopping etc etc etc etc.

You have to try out the Indian/Thai restaurant - Akbar. Being Indian ourselves I can tell you this much - it is like home cooked food.

We met loads of other families there and they were all coming back for
their second, third or annual visits to Half Moon. We are pretty much decided that this will be our annual "get away from it all" kind of break.

I would definately recommend the Platinum Plan - it takes away any/all
headaches of counting.

PS - The resort website does not do any justice to the beauty of the place - it will more than exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Spent four nights at Half Moon Bay Resort , early Nov. For the first three nights we stayed at one of the older suites on the West side of the resort but were evacuated due to flooding of the room,transferred to one of the Hibiscus suites , which was an improvement not re location but in quality of accomodation. Half Moon was efficient and helpful in this matter , it rained for two days and we did not get to experience all this resort has to offer.Food was good to very good. We had an excellent meal at the Indian/ Thai restaurant though it can get noisy inside with large groups. The Sugar Mill was fine but not outstanding, lunch buffet and a la carte at the Terrace quite satisfying. Sevice was prompt , with a smile and efficient. Overall a pleasant experience.Deferred maintenance around the older structures is obvious and some parts are in need of an overhaul but the grounds remain beautiful and never did we feel crowded but on the West side of the beach area ( the only proper swimming beach).Overall a great trip with great friends , wished the weather had cooperated . By the way ; the Good Life Plan is the only way to go , otherwise it becomes exorbitantly expensive.

4  Thank stmartinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

Its not often that I can rave about a great "stay" in Jamaica but Half Moon Rose Hall made me change my ideas about hotel/resort stays to Jamaica. After traveling to Jamaica often, I've always wanted to stay at Half Moon but the location always made me prefer to stay closer to Montego Bay. Never again! Half Moon is definetly a luxury vacation with private beach, beautiful rooms/suites/villas, wonderful staff and more activities then you could ever want. Golfing, horseback riding, sailing, playing with dolfins, shopping, food just to name a few. You could actually stay at Half Moon and never want to leave the property. The one thing I like most is that the people who work at Half Moon are all "real Jamaicans" and a nicer, warmer staff you coud never ask for. The friendly greetings each morning, helpful attitude made my stay even nicer. The suite I was booked in was awesome! Right on the beach! Unlike other resorts, Half Moon is elegant, quiet and does not cater to excessive, rude behavior by the guests. This makes the Half Moon a class act! I can't wait to go back to Half Moon Rose Hall. A truly wonderful experience and a classic beachfront location that is a perfect setting for weddings, honeymoons and quiet retreats.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Livonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I stayed at Royal Villa #50 for 4 nights Nov 2-6th, 2007 as part of a golf pro-am. There are many wonderful things to report about this building such as the fact that it was truly oceanfront & very private with it's own pool at the rear of the building. It contained 5 bedrooms in a 2 story building with an air-conditioned TV room all surrounding a non air-conditioned central living area containing new living room furniture. Bedroom were large and comfortable but could have used bigger tvs.There was a second floor covered veranda overlooking the ocean as well as a first floor, outdoor-covered dining area overlooking the ocean. The Villa had just been reopened after a 4 month renovation which including painting, new furniture & window treatments. The villa came with a three person staff consisting of butler, cook & maid who were all wonderful people who looked after you with joy & total professionalism. There was a kitchen for the cook in the villa & she slept in the villa also so there was always a staff member to help you out. The overall look of the building was impressive but there were a few negatives to report. The grounds around the villa were not in shipshape order as a new road was being constructed immediately behind the villa so the grounds were pretty torn up and not very appealing but it was obvious that progress was being made to get that situation in order prior to the holiday season. The major issue was much worse as we had two nights of heavy rain & the villa's main living area sprung leaks a plenty! The bedrooms were all completely dry but when u walked out of your bedroom the staff had to place towels everywhere to soak up the water running down interior villa walls from the leaky roof! Our butler called someone in to look at the roof who indicated they found the problem & would fix it as soon as they got a dry day. Each villa comes with 2 golf carts to zip around the expansive resort. Overall the villas are a thrilling private resort experience, but I must deduct some points for the leaky roof we encountered!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank johnnyjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews