We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$525
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$295
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$519
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$1,666
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,584
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$458
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$426
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$510
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$459
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveller rating
1,675
352
116
64
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
352
116
64
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millhibiscus suiteseagrape terraceil giardinoall inclusive planfern tree spawest cottagessea grapebedroom villacedar barroyal villasunrise beachpepper pothibiscus poolprivate pooldolphin experiencevilla staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We came to the Half Moon for a meal, away from our main resort hotel.

If you are a couple, the Half Moon is fantastic.

My review however is of the restuarant itself. One of my group had stayed at the hotel on a previous occasion and he was very impressed, hence our booking for dinner. Our relative gave us a little tour of the hotel and grounds and it goes without saying that I shall be returning there.

Although there were 10 of us for dinner, the staff were great and we all had a good selection of choice from the menu. Where we ate was extremely twinkly with lights and overlooking the bay which was quite tranquil. I could imagine eating my breakfast there in the morning and slipping onto to beach for a day of relaxation or to one of the may tennis courts for a game of tennis at the end of the day to work of the wonderful food this hotel has to offer.

Im not sure I can add any more other than to say how delightfully classy, old classic charm surrounded the whole estate and I will be sure to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SusanMcNally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for the complimentary review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We are delighted your dining experience exceeded your expectations It was certainly a pleasure serving you. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Again, thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor; We look forward to providing your with a complete Half Moon experience in the not so distant future.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We just returned from this wonderful resort in Jamaica, celebrating our
daughters birthday. This resort was "Over the Moon" with everything!
The staff, the beautiful tropical grounds, our oceanfront room, activites, meals, Kids Camp, beaches, etc. were all beyond words to describe. We have been to several other beach resorts for our daughters birthday, and none compare to this resort. The staff gave our daughter 2 separate surprise birthday celebrations/parties which was so very thoughtful.

We had a outstanding time for the week we were there at Half Moon, and took only 1 tour outside the resort. Half Moon has everything/anything you need there on their 400 acres.One doesn't need to leave Half Moon to have fun and R&R. We had a fabulous time! Everything was Superb!!

A special thanks to Paula Lilley (Management), Carol (Concierge), Grace Ann (Front Desk), Terese Chapman (gave exception care with our daughter at Kids Half Moon Camp) Nick (Equestrain Center), Junior (Chef at Seagrape Terrace), Chef Walter (for the "special" Birthday Cake for Sunnee), and the entire friendly and warm staff at Half Moon for making us feel so at home and special.
Raise your expectations, as they will be met!!

Looking forward to seeing everyone again......SOON!!

The Schumanns
Jim, Mary & Sunnee

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiebeBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure to have you as our guests; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated.

We thank you for the beautiful comments regarding our dedicated team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; it was a privilege serving you, we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to your “home away from home”. We lalso ook forward to celebrating another birthday with our Very Important Little Guests next year.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After a 10 year hiatus from Jamaica, I returned to Montego Bay and at the suggestion of friends that live in Montego Bay, I stayed at the Half Moon. This old world resort has all the charm and class that one would expect from another time in history. The hotel has been operating in Jamaica for many years. Think lush surroundings, an open lobby that takes you out towards the beach. The decor is elegant, southern plantation style. Everyone from the bellmen that greet you, to the staff that checks you in want to ensure that you feel welcomed and that your every need is met. I was there on a 3 night stay for business and needed the services of the concierge to get some gifts out to clients. Latoya, from the concierge staff, exceeded all expectations. She really tried hard to help me with all the challenges I threw at her. She is a gem, and she was one of the main reasons my stay was so pleasant. I stayed in the Hibiscus villas, which I would highly recommend. Those have been redone and are extremely comfortable, the bathrooms are larger than most hotel rooms. These rooms have 2 flat screen TVs and french doors that lead to a porch that is furnished, just a few steps away from the beach. Don't forget to rent a golf cart!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank MiamiLuv2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. Thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience. It was a pleasure serving you

We are happy you enjoyed your experience; Half Moon has been careful to combine old world charm with modern touches, in our commitment to provide our guests with the highest standard of service and amenities in the industry.

Thank you for selecting Half Moon; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back home again and again.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent a week in Villa 82 and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had.

The resort: check in was fast and we were in the villa quickly. The villas are incredible. Very large rooms, all up to date and comfortable. There are two beaches, the larger one is by the main reception area, is great for swimming, and has many water sports. The other beach is quieter and beautiful (we enjoyed sitting out there) but not as good for swimming due to seaweed. The resort is huge, but having a golf cart makes it easy to get around.

The villa: we stayed in Villa 82 and loved it. The staff made all the difference. They were very flexible with our schedule around meals, which was great when you travel with 3 kids (ages 10-17). The staff, Janet Coke, Winsome Kerr and Anthony Johnny, were amazing. They were so warm and friendly and took care of everything we needed. They were great with our kids. We had the most relaxing and worry free week and we have them to thank for that.

We also loved the dolphin experience, and would recommend the deep water encounter. The trainer was great and really made it very interactive and fun.

We had the most wonderful vacation and can't wait to return to Half Moon Villa 82!

Room Tip: Villa 82 is great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience exceeded your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed the Half Moon facility and amenities including your villa experience. Thank you for recognizing the staff of Janet, Winsome and Anthony who provided exceptional service for you. We have shared your beautiful comments with them.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Mon and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I went to Half Moon with a friend for 8 nights. We flew Delta and the flight was horrible. We stayed in Villa 82. The staff was a cook, butler and maid. Janet, Anthony and Winsome were awesome. The camp sucked! Everything else was good. The curried chicken with rice and beans were my favorite food there. I had tons of fun there! I was disappointed when I couldn't rent movies or gaming consoles. The whole staff were amazing and the pool was so fun. The beach was good as well. It topped The Tryall Club by far! Stay here instead of anywhere else. I ensure that it will be awesome sauce!

Room Tip: Get a room near the beach!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ethan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockAResort for your recent vacation. It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests, we’re happy you had a `Royal’ experience. We do appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the Royal Villas accommodation; thank you for recognizing the cook for her “awesome sauce” – we will certainly share your comments with the team particularly the cook, we generally receive raving reviews on the Royal Villas experience.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews