We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was awesome”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My favourite memory of Rose Hall Beach was the food; the buffet was delicious and not boring AT ALL, many changes throughout the week and common kid's faves to satisfy my picky eater; pizza and fries and battered fish offered every night, thank god, haha.

The beach was nice, I missed the 'real beach' feel of the ocean as it's man-made so you don't have long walks out or waves and tides, but that's ok. The resort is large so we did a lot of walking, but it wasn't far to get to the pool from our room. we went out at 9am to reserve a lawn chair with our towel, which was fine. The pool was clean, the swim up bar was nice, and drinks were super.

If you don't want to get involved in activites around the pool during the day, I suggest you sit AWAY from the pool when they get going; they are a lot of fun and great dancers and all, but I am fairly shy but I got stuck doing some sexy barbie dance in front of a crowd and it was horribly embarrassing, lol.

No problems with our room, clean and mini-bar touched up every day, make sure you leave a couple of dollars for the room attendants, they really appreciate it and it assures you'll get looked after.

No pedlars allowed on the beach so you don't get bothered by anything. It was a pleasant stay, the bbq on the beach was amazing and the pirate show one night was great fun, the kids loved it (11 and 13yrs)...we also parasailed, costly but worth it if you've never done it.

everyone was helpful and friendly, but yeah, i loved the Jamaican food!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jjjj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate the time taken to share your review and as such our gratitude is extended once more. It brings us great pleasure to hear that your vacation time spent with us was wonderful. We are happy to hear that you loved and enjoyed the delicious Jamaican food. We do have a no reserve policy for the pool chairs as we have lots of chairs available both on the pool and on the beach. We are glad you participated in the activities with our star friends, as it’s all about having fun! We are grateful you enjoyed the Beach BBQ and the Pirate Party as your happiness is of utmost importance. Thanks to you again and we look forward to the next time we will have the opportunity to extend welcome to you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    1,396
    523
    200
    139
See reviews for
1,514
1,531
113
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have heard numerous good things about Iberostar hotels and I have to say that I was very disappointed when I stayed at this resort in Montego Bay. The food was average & the hotel staff was very friendly upon check in. However, after that they were too busy to even acknowledge you. Bar staff in the cigar lounge were very friendly. The main lobby was better then any other bars on the resort. If you were on the beach it was extremely difficult to get a drink, even though I tipped them very well thinking they would continue to come back. Rooms & bathrooms were not very clean. Housekeeping was awful and showed up at all different hours of the day. Although, I did not see any bed bugs, I woke up daily itching and with numerous bug bites. Needless to say, I will not be returning.
As I look on-line at prices since returning home, I realize I could have went there twice for the price I paid. So, do your research before booking anything!!
I will say that the Entertainment Staff was super!! They were always smiling, happy and made every effort to remember your name and involve you in numerous activities!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank love2travel2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are remorseful to hear that you are disappointed about your stay. We do our utmost to cater for all our valued customers in the best way possible and as such we always have an assortment of dishes available; we apologize if we did not cater for your desire adequately. We have very friendly staffs who are willing to go ‘the extra mile’ to ensure our guests are having a wonderful time therefore if you felt neglected I can assure you this was not intended. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday by our housekeeping staffs as such for future reference we ask that you report to the relevant department if something unacceptable is noticed. We are very sorry to hear that you woke up with bites and itching however we do not have bed bugs at the hotel; you insinuated that they were bites from bug but we are uncertain as to your conclusion since you saw no bugs. Iberostar is committed to offering excellent services and we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your vacation to the fullest. We are thankful that the outstanding services offered by the entertainment staffs were enjoyed and we hope you will allow your happier memories to surpass the inconveniences. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we will remain hopeful that you will visit again sometime in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A trip 6 months in the making with 10 women ages 35-40. All of us are experienced travelers and all have been on these all inclusive beach vacations. We booked this trip trough Sandra at red tag and it was an Air Canada Vacation (5 of us flew from TO, 5 from Ottawa). We had the usual January delays so arrived at the resort late at night. One of the girls has a serious allergy to mold and mildew and carries an epi pen. She called the resort beforehand and flagged this issue. It didn't make a difference, after 3 room changes she was finally ok. The beach is ok with the exception of the sand fleas. There is 3 resorts on the property, the beaches is the cheapest of the 3 and you are treated as such. If you enjoy super salty food they have a Japanese restaurant. The steak restaurant is the best. Stephanie, the rep at Air Canada Vacations, on the resort didn't make any effort to hook us up with a specific trip we wanted to go on. Her colleague Courtney with another company did however and that day was the highlight of our trip (Negrill - boat, dolphins, margaritaville, and Ricks Cantina). Stephanie was difficult and really didn't help us one iota. Perhaps a job change is required? I'm not sure how the staff is treated by upper management but none of them seemed happy and we lost count of how many times we heard "it is our policy". Love Jamaica but this was the last time I go to an Iberostar. The other properties on the resort seemed nice but we weren't even allowed to look at them as the beaches bracelet meant it was their policy to not allow us to even look. You also have to pay for WIfi that isn't very good. Buffet was fine. Beach party had fire eaters and was very entertaining for children. Lots of kids at the resort. The disco is the next resort over (which you can go to). The stairs going to the disco are steep and seem very wrong considering the amount of drinking going on. We did tip (every drink and meal) but it didn't seem to speed anything up or seem appreciated.

Room Tip: you can ask for a dehumidifier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. The time taken to share your experience is also appreciated. In regards to the allergy to the mold we are very sorry if she was inconvenienced; the room assigned to her was deep cleaned entirely prior to arrival. Our food is normally regarded very highly and we are sorry if it was not done according to your preferences. Iberostar is committed to offering excellent services and as such we do our utmost to assist where possible. The amenities offer by all 3 properties are different as the categories of the hotel are different, nonetheless we do our utmost to offer the same exceptional services at all our resorts. We do arrange site inspections to view the other properties and this can be arranged with Guest Services. We are truly sorry if you felt inconvenienced due to some of our policies however I can assure they are only to ensure we maintain and delivery exceptional services thereby continuously developing our hotel. On behalf of Air Canada our apologies are also extended for any inconvenience encountered. We are sorry to hear that you do not plan to return to Iberostar however we hope you will have a change in thought as we take great pride in offering exceptional services. Thank you and we hope to extend welcome to you again in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The star friends make our second stay the best. Tootsie makes my daughter and I have the greatest time he's the best at aqua gym he never lets us give up he's the best. Dance would not be the same without the girls Sunshine Barbie Shadow Lava and all the star friends made our stay memorable and we will come back again.
We love you Jamaica
Christina and Cassandra
Room#1029

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yeamonjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for continually choosing our Resort. It brings us great pleasure knowing your stay was memorable! We will commend our dedicated star friends for the significant role they played in ensuring your stay was wonderful. We are happy to hear that you love Jamaica and we are thankful that Iberostar is your preferred choice. We look forward to your return as it is always a pleasure to extend warm welcome to our valued customers. Thank you for sharing your review and we anticipate your next visit!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Overall the purpose of staying at this resort was achieved. The only facility issue that I had was that my room was damp. pillows and sheets were damp. Room was clean, mini bar stocked no problems there. I was a bit dissapointed at the lack of management presence as the staff either needed support or needed some direction.
Front Desk:
The hotel was sold out with several types of groups in house so the front desk was excusable flustered at times however the several trips to the bucket and computer screens showed that they were not set up properly for a quicker check in or check out. Some reservations in our group did get misplaced and we had to relocate one person.
Bar: (lobby)
The bartenders were on resort mode as opposed to buisiness. Shouting out who's next, spending an overly long amount of time with some quests when 6 to 8 people were waiting for drinks was not good. I eventually grabbed a waitress, who wasn't making rounds, thus persons flooding the bar, to make drinks.
One night they ran out of red wine so they sent someone "to the basement" to get the wine. When the person started to walk away after a long time the bartender hollared at him on where he was going and they had to send someone to get the wine specifically for him and he shouldn't walk away.
Buffet:
Great selection. well prepared again I eventually went over to three lady servers who were complaining very loudly about their manager and shifts. I told him that their are some people who are sitting that understand what you are saying and that they need to either take it in back or behave themselves.
The property is great and the guests will have an incredible time however the junior managers need to support the MD and GM's and be present on the floor so things do not necessarily go sideways.
thank you for the stay and I will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rasbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort for your past vacation. We are grateful to hear that overall your purpose of staying was achieved. The time taken to share your experience is appreciated as such our gratitude is extended once more. Kindly accept our humble apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We have dehumidifiers that we normally use in the room to assist once we are aware, therefore for future reference we kindly ask that you report so as to ensure that we assist as best as possible. In regards to the behavior of the staff described, this does not depicts the standard of Iberostar as we are committed to offering excellent services. We will do our utmost to improve where necessary and again we thank you for sharing. We are happy to hear that you will return and we look forward to extending welcome to you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a great vacation week at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. No complaints at all. Beach, room, pool, facilities, food, entertainment, activities were all great. Loved the beach with the palm trees for shade. The staff in all areas and departments were very friendly and helpful and were so enjoyable to be around.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic vacation. Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience. We will commend all our staff for the exceptional job they have done. Thank you again and we anticipate the next time you will visit again!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the iberostar beach resort for our group of 6 all seemed to enjoy their stay last week.
Food was plenty and well prepared. We did the Cajan, Japanese and steak house ala carts, I enjoyed the Japanese the best. Booking them was fast and easy compared to other resort experiences! Tonys open air restaurant was awesome for buffet lunch, very impressed that it isn't the same buffet as breakfast....although the breakfast buffet was also excellent, just a little out of the way for us! Room service is also available which is handy and we found them pretty quick to deliver! Good drinks available except for beach and swim up bars you just get the local stuff. Entertainment team worked hard and were very personal. It was nice they would stop by and talk with you without any pressure to join in.
Kudos to cordillia Kwasi, rasshaun and Dion the lifeguard for their personal service and friendly personalities.
Maids were consistent and our room fridge stocked fine.
Rooms were average although we just paid for a standard without any upgrade. We had room 1238 3rd floor, and they gave us, without asking an adjoining room with our adult daughter. We looked over the side above the kids area and Tonys restaurant but still could see the ocean. Agreed the bathrooms require a fan. I used the tap water for brushing my teeth and all was fine. Our screen was broken on balcony door but not worth complaining about.
We liked the beach as it had trees for shade unlike some I've been to, where u have to get there early to get any shade. There are no palapas on their beach but plenty of natural trees. Not much to see in the way of snorkelling right at the resort as the reef is a considerable way out...too far to swim although they do offer snorkel tours for a price. Pool was cool, clean and refreshing and never too crowded. The layout was good for guests to move from beach to pool areas easily and restrooms close by.
We ventured to Negril with a private driver one day, and also went on the luminous lagoon evening trip through the dive shop. Both excursions enjoyed thoroughly. We also went off the resort to the side where the locals sell their wares and visited their bars. Cool people if u are not too intimated by them, although they certainly try to pressure you until u get to know them.
All in all we enjoyed it and would recommend the Iberostar rose hall beach...ya mon!!
Feel free to PM me if u require specifics.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank palmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are grateful to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will commend the chefs, entertainment team and other staff especially those mentioned by names for the remarkable job they have done. We apologize if you were inconvenience due to the screen of the balcony door and as it relates to the fan in the bathroom, please be advised that each room is equipped with and extractor in the ceiling of the bathroom. Jamaica is a beautiful island and we are happy you ventured outside of the resort thereby adding to your experience. Thanks to you again for choosing our Resort and we look forward to the next time we will have the opportunity to extend welcome to you again. Thanks!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,430 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Property: Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing