We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

This hotel was amazing. My husband and I were married on 8/8/08 and we arrived in Jamaica 8/10/08. We spent 5 nights at Iberostar Rose Hall. We got there at night so we expericened the beauty of the hotel from the time we drove up. The exterior of the hotel is lite up at night.

Check in was very easy. As we waited for the staff to process our check in a staff member from the lobby bar greeted us with a drink. The front desk staff watched our luggage as we went to the buffet restaurant to have dinner. When we returned a bell staff escourted us to our room. Our room was a Beach front room, we had the most amazing view. Honestly there is no bad view from the rooms. You either have a pool view, beach view, or view of the landscaping. In designingthis hotel they paid attention to every single little detail.

The beach was nice and the pool was amazing. We booked a few tours with the friendly staff at the tour desk. The restaurants wer all great . we really enjoyed the buffet, so much to chose from every meal. We made reservations at the Japanese restaurant as well as the Cajun restaurant. The Japanese restaurant was a great experience.

All of the staff were very friendly. This was our first time staying at an Iberostar property and we plan to try their other locations. We plan to return to Iberostar Rosee Hall.

  • Liked — Buffet & Japanese Restaurant
  • Disliked — Having to leave Jamaica
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luv2travl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    1,349
    508
    196
    132
See reviews for
1,475
1,490
105
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

I was excited for our trip to Jamaica, had stayed at other Iberostars, so I thought we knew what to expect-- wrong. From the moment we got there, there were problems. Not enough towels or chairs in the rooms. Broken elevators, sloppy maid service. Food was terrible, there was few Jamaican foods available. Single ladies need to watch out for leers and remarks by male employees. Made it through the Hurricane Gustav OK, but the hotel ( which was less than one year old) was crumbling in public areas like the main dining room. Don't bring any large bills when purchasing any excursions- they will tell you the bills are counterfeit and embarass you pubilcly. Jamacia is a beautiful island & the people are friendly, but stay away from the Iberostar and Jamacia Tours.

  • Liked — bartenders can mix a good drink.
  • Disliked — hotel had a lot of little problems- broken elevators & showers in hospitatilty room, sloppy maid service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank PaBirddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresh Meadows, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

My husband, 9 year old daughter & I visited the resort last week and had a wonderful time. The check-in was fairly easy as our room was ready when we arrived, however, the person checking us in was a bit too cold & reserved for the role of welcoming visitors! Our bell hop was very professional & warm. Everyone else - particularly the staff in the restaurants - was welcoming and warm. Our server at the buffet remembered (after 1 day) what the 3 of us liked to drink & how I took my coffee!
The entertainment staff went out of their way to keep guests informed of all the activities without being pushy. Our daughter is somewhat shy and opted to spend most of her time with us at the beach, but the "Star Friends" sought her out and got her to participate in reggae lessons on the beach, and the mini fashion show without much stress. For the record, I hurt my back the night before the trip and was unable to participate in physical activities (notably dancing & swimming) but, the relaxed atmosphere and the very well trained staff made it a pleasure to be in Jamaica at the Iberostar Rosehall.

  • Liked — The warmth of the staff
  • Disliked — It's pretty spread out so if you have pain walking, getting around can be difficult.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jrosepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Finally we've got an affordable deal for 4 ppl (2 kids + 2 adults) and flew to Jamaica. One of the reasons for choosing Jamaica over other Caribbean spots besides the good $$$ deal was the commute time and direct flight from Chicago to Montego Bay. It was only 3.5 hours. The experience with Air Jamaica airline was very good. We were treated with champagne lunch, and served food was tasty enough. (try to compare the very low level of services you might get, flying any american airlines.)

So, flight was great. Finally we arrived to the airport, and proceeded to the custom.

And here you go....We were staying almost 1.5 hours in huge line until we reach the custom officer. It was HORRIBLE. Very humid, no AC, lot of people around from different flights, just few huge fans, making noise. Well, we survived, and after picking our luggage up, we went to the Air Jamaica Travel Agent, who took our voucher and pointed to our bus driver. 20 minutes in a bus, and we finally arrived.

Check-in was quick. We already paid extra money to reserve ocean-view room on higher floor, and knew that we are going to have nice place to stay. Well, the room was even above our expectations. We were staying on the top floor, with both ocean and mount views. It was incredible.
With 2 kids on hands we did not go to any specialty-restaurants, and only used main and beach restaurants for our daily treats...

Food selection was pretty much the same on every day, but it was very tasty and all of us enjoyed it.
Jamaican guys are VERY friendly, smiling all the time, and all of them speak English, which is a huge plus.
We did not use pool area much, because we really like to be on beach and swim in the sea. Water was great. Beach has lot of trees that provide enough shadow for everyone. There are lot of small rocks in the water, so you need to watch out tho.

Rooms were cleaned, however we had hard time to get room service to refresh beverages in the fridge. For some reason hotel servants forgot to put soda/water for 4 days, and we had to have unpleasant talk with the lobby-manager.

Anyway, keep in mind that this is HOTEL, not RESORT, so you won't have long nice walk from your building to the beach, with birds and animals crossing your path.:) There are few feets from the building to the sandy beach. And we thought it was a huge plus.

Yes, the entertaining program was too loud, but it is load in every country/place we visit before.

Will we come back to the very same place? Probably not, but for sure we will try to get back to Jamaica for our next vacation.

  • Liked — Location, location, location and distance from the airport
  • Disliked — Kids club and kids enterteining program at evening was very lame and poor.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOf4Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

Just returned--family of 5 with 3 kids ages 9 to 13.

Check in was a little stressful. We arrived with a large group of other incoming guests at 11:30 am. After waiting in a long line, we were told that our room would be ready at 3 pm as expected. When we came back at 3 pm, we waited in another line to receive our room keys. Other guests were told their rooms were not ready and the desk staff could not tell them when it would be ready. Some guests were furious and angry--was not a good way to start the lobby experience. The front desk tries their best but they could use some classes on friendliness--some were downright rude. This is the only place on the resort where you will encounter rude staff and not consistently.

We had lovely ocean front suites ( 2 rooms due to kidlettes ) and they were beautiful--beds comfortable, plenty of towels, minibar stocked daily ( I left a daily tip ), maid service wonderful ( daily tip ), good ac and great location. We were on the ground floor and although very convenient, we had a big problem with mosquitoes. My husband and I went on mosquito hunts every night before bed otherwise you wake with welts. We asked to be moved to a higher floor but we were told the resort was full--I did not believe this to be true based on the amount of people we saw thru the week.

The pool was lovely. The pool bar was frustrating at times--seemed understaffed and you could wait 10 minutes for a drink or longer. Sometimes there was 1 bartender on duty for a bar full of people. I felt bad for the little kids who waited so patiently for their ice cream or soda. Tipping did not help. The bartenders worked hard and were very friendly and funny. The poolside waitresses were wonderful--especially Virginia. These women work so hard in the sun--please tip them daily. Virginia would bring me a Red Stripe before I even asked for one--yes--I will have to change my user name after this vacation!

The activity staff was entertaining and hard working. I was hoping for more activities available for younger kids ( Lucy's miniclub was oriented to the very young ). I suggested a teen club with ping pong, bingo and other activities to keep the young occupied. Some of the pool deck dancing and games were a bit PG-13 rated to say the least.

Food was good. Japanese was our favorite and entertained the kids. Cajun and Steak House were OK--mosqitoes a big problem at the outdoor steak house. Buffet was always good--especially breakfast with good service and EXCELLENT expresso. Service EXCELLENT at all eating areas.

Scuba operation was very good--all 3 kids went diving including my 9 yr old son who did a little dive off the beach with a dive master in 5 feet of water!!! He loved it!!!! My 11 yr old daughter who turned 12 during our stay, did a resort course.

Overall, a great vacation. Wonderful Jamaican people and a beautiful resort.

  • Liked — Jamaican people
  • Disliked — front desk, understaffed pool bar, lack of activities for kids/teens
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAmom_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

I think some of the bad reviews I read...unfortunately after I booked our trip were written by people that have a hard time relaxing wherever they go. Let me start by saying the resort is not perfect but for perfection you would probably pay a lot more if in fact it exists. The people make Jamaica and make the resort also. The people at the check-in counter are either very nice or seem bothered depending on who you deal with. Relax and give them and yourself the time you need to check-in etc...The bartenders at the lobby bar are fantastic! Look for Godfrey in particular.He taught my eight year old daughter the Jamaican handshake. You will be amazed at how Jamaicans in general treat children.Love,Kindness and Respect mean everything to these people. On the same note,dont forget to tip generously if treated well by someone.Employees at Iberostar are only paid about 200 American dollars every two weeks and everything there costs about the same as here.The pool is in need of some repair but I am more of a saltwater person anyway. The food is very good and plentiful. So is the top shelf liqour they serve there. Another nice aspect of the resort is it isnt too large. The room we had was a fourth floor ocean-view room which was roomy,clean and did have a very nice view. If people staying at the resort would clean up after themselves on the beach etc...it would make the place that much better. If you are looking for a real quiet place it probably isnt for you,although it is much quieter if you go down to the beach and hang a left. This is where the flight crews and europeans hang out. Hats off to the dive shop staff...Marta,Kevin and his wife,Jason,all the boat hands whose names I dont know and especially Clement and Captain Dave! Go to the Iberostar with an open mind and let the Jamaican people show you how to relax/enjoy yourselves. Oh and by the way its better than Illinois any time of the year.

  • Liked — Clean place and ultra-friendly people
  • Disliked — quality of the pool and its water (for my daughters sake)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuckdChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

The Iberostar calls itself a 5-Star hotel. Trust me this it is not, but considering you'll probably be paying a 4-star fee, you'll get your money worth. I am a Marriot Reward Member and will stay at nothing less. This hotel meets and exceeds those standards except for check-in and departure. Once you get past those two things (the sad part is I don't see that changing. You have to see errors and admit to a better plan to change. From recent post and 5 nights of oberservation I don't see a change) OK Back to what I was saying, after the check-in this place is GREAT. Looking to be pampered and waited on hand and foot, look elsewhere. Pay $$$ more. Looking for a VERY clean hotel with a courteous staff, this is the place.

Likes: Value, Food, Staff, Cleanliness
Dislikes: Check-in (very slow and disoganized) Check-Out (Moe of the same)

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value
  • Disliked — Check-In
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mgpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
3.1 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
25.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,780 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Property: Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing