We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phoenix Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 238 Hotels in Fenghuang County
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great room, poor breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here September 2013. I was on a custom private tour and the tour director said this is the local best hotel in the area. The hotel is rellatively new, rooms are modern and well furnished. The room is huge, must be a VIP room. Buffet breakfast is mainly Chinese items (not high quality) and limited selection, which I would rate below average. The dinner we had at this hotel was acceptable but nothing outstanding. The immediate vacinity of the hotel is outside of the main area for shopping or sightseeing and appeared secluded. I rate it very good because of the nice rooms and no smell of smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TooMuchTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    122
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
14
8
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is not far from the landmark, and attractive spot, drive only 5-10 minutes to there..as I saw the whole town, i think this hotel is the best in the city...it is not located on the river, so not that noisy... The hotel service is ok...Big room, clean and worth money...
Next time if I have a chance to back this city, I still choose this one...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wacharaporn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is probably a 15-30 minute walk from the edge of the old part of Fenghuang, so not the most convenient to the main attractions. You might also take a taxi, but since the old city doesn't have taxis, that might not be much help on the way back. For that reason you may prefer a place in the old city with a view of the river. The hotel is in the process of being renovated, so the rooms were very nice (large, modern, elegant) but the lobby and restaurant are pure government hotel out of the 80s. The staff are polite but I didn't get the impression they spoke particularly good English.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimInNWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

There are not many nice hotels in Fenghuang and we were told this one was the best in the area. The place is a bit gloomy and there was a strange smell of detergent in the room.
The worst thing about the place was the breakfast: poor options and quality, plus it is in a small room and we had to wait for a seat at a shared table. We asked for cold milk to add to the cereal we brought for our toddler and we were told they only have hot milk!
You can walk to the old town centre in 15 minutes along the river - I think I would have preferred to stay in one of the more convenient guesthouses in town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is pretty nice hotel considering it is in a relatively remote part of China and if you aim for five star ratings in the smaller towns in China, you will end up with a decent hotel. We were booked in the VIP section of the hotel on a non smoking floor. There are however ashtrays in the corridors and in our non smoking room. Nevertheless the room is big and clean, the bathroom is nice with below average toiletries.
The staff speaks very little English but were polite and helpful.
Biggest disappointment is the buffet breakfast, very limited choices and the food was only lukewarm. The big dining room is not the best feature of the hotel.
Overall a three and a half star experience and it is a lot better than some of the "five star" hotels we encountered during our "silk road of China" trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overall I can't complain, spacious rooms, good bathroom, good shower, bathrobes available, etc. my only note: the staff doesn't know any English whatsoever, not good for a 4 star hotel aiming to be a 5 star soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A big tourist hotel about 10 minutes from the old town. This is a pretty isolated part of Hunan and we had fairly low expectations for this hotel, but it is pretty good. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. Everything works well and the staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenghuang County
1.2 mi away
Phoenix Melody Inn
Phoenix Melody Inn
#27 of 238 in Fenghuang County
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Furongguo Changsha
0.7 mi away
More Inn
More Inn
#10 of 238 in Fenghuang County
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Po Shan Gongguan
Po Shan Gongguan
#16 of 238 in Fenghuang County
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wuyue Scenic Area Hotel Fenghuang
Wuyue Scenic Area Hotel Fenghuan...
#14 of 238 in Fenghuang County
3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barley Country Inn
Barley Country Inn
#5 of 18 in Fenghuang County
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Grand Hotel

Property: Phoenix Grand Hotel
Address: No.1 Phoenix Road, Fenghuang County 416200, China
Region: China > Hunan > Fenghuang County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 238 Hotels in Fenghuang County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing