We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best Fish 'n chips in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maypole Fisheries

Maypole Fisheries
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Otley
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fish and Chip Shop with restaurant
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the best Fish 'n chips in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My son loves fish and chips above all else, and we have had them all over the world, France, Britain, all over the USA, Hawaii, Mexico, several parts of Canada (including both coasts), including places voted as the best in Britain, such as the Magpie in Whitby. His, (and my) conclusion is that the best Fish and chips in the world are in Northern England, particularly Yorkshire, and the best of the several dozen ones we have tried in Yorkshire are these at Maypole.
Why? consistent high quality fresh fish, in a light and crispy batter that is never stodgy or greasy, and superb flavor probably because they still use beef dripping. Proper chips made with fresh potatoes. Extreme care to keep everything perfect, such as the fat temperature, etc. so that they are still good even at the end of the day. Family owned for generations, and they are clearly proud to keep the quality so high.

If you can get better fish 'n chips anywhere in the world I'd like to know about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,074 reviews
571 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Sensible food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good sensible food at reasonable prices, served quickly. Although they may have to change their name as Leeds city council took it upon themselves to remove the old maypole, nearby, without discussion. Open at good times so can opt for lunch or tea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My daughter and I went to the Maypole today for our lunch. The place was clean, good value for money and the fish and chips were cooked to perfection.
Our waitress was friendly and helpful and the service was prompt. The toilet was spotless which is always a good indication.
What more could we want?
Well done Maypole. You deserve your claim to serve the best fish and chips in Otley.
We will certainly visit again and, judging from the amount of reserved tables, other people have the same idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veraWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unfailing high standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The fish, perfectly cooked in a crisp batter, is invariably excellent. The cafe, which is behind the takeaway sales, is cosy and has an intimate atmosphere, while the waitresses are always friendly and obliging. Simply the best, which is the reason why so many people have become regular customers --- ourselves included.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

First visit here and the fish was very tasty really nice highly recommended if you enjoy great fish, me and my boyfriend were visiting here while on our hols was glad we stopped here

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maypole Fisheries also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Maypole Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing