We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub, lovely atmosphere & fab food”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A lovely little find on the way up north. Good friendly owners, happy to help with the smallest question. Dinner was home cooked, quick and very tasty, the rooms were clean and comfy. The evening was fun with local singer present to finish off a nice Saturday evening. The management were available and happy to help advise on a early morning walk and had a great breakfast to fuel the day. Will defo be back to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luziebbb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

first impressions were good thanks to a friendly welcome by the landlord,but thats about as good as it got. The room was comfortable but it had not been hoovered and the units were dusty. After returning from a function we had a couple of nightcaps in the bar (nice bar, good beer) before retiring at about midnight. However the noise of the music from the bar was horrendous and went on until about 1.30 am. Things didnt improve at breakfast where we waited over 45 minutes for very disappointing cooked breakfast.( no toast ,no pot of tea,just a lukewarm cup of coffee from a coffee machine).
Good Pub. Poor B&B

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tollertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Choice of meals good and especially good that children and OAP's can have smaller portions and that this reflected in the fair pricing. Comfortable eating area within the main bar but separate from the TV and drinks area. all well until visit to the ladies' toilet which seemed to have a problem with flys!--source not clear as reasonable standard of cleanliness apparent. disappointed that reaction of staff was 'defensive' on being told of the problem. Would have expected a pro-active response to this including immediate inspection and feedback to us of steps taken to address the problem.

Room Tip: didnt stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gradmum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Called in for a drink on our way home and received a warm welcome. It looks like there has been an extension at some time or other, the front area of the pub is more traditional with an open fireplace, which I bet is very welcome when burning in the winter months, whilst at the back there is a TV area, some more modern tables and an annex with a pool table, there is also an outside seating area. Beer price reasonable, and the pub has guest bedrooms and also serves food, which I am told is good wholesome food at reasonable prices, worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

on first impressions all looked great friendly staff and locals we were given room 2 which was right above main door to bar the room itself was clean but very dated the mattress was also very soft
we ate our evening in bar we had the specials [ 1/4 burger and Mexican chicken] which were very good but took a very long time to arrive and the bar was not very busy i also had a side order of fries which were well over cooked very hard after our meal we had a short walk a long road to the next pub the white hart which was really a nice place to sit and relax and the meals looked very good [turn left out of main door] on our return to half moon we went to our room about 10.20 pm to watch a little tv before going to sleep knowing the bar would be open until midnight which i was advised by the landlord at time of booking
when we were in bed we could here the music from the bar and the main door slamming shut very often but though it would end at midnight how wrong was i the noise stopped about 1.30 am after the long day we had this was the last thing we needed
after a restless night sleep we when down for breakfast and saw other guests with there's they looked good wrong again first no milk jug just a coffee mug with milk in it our breakfasts arrived after a long wait again when it came the sausages were black crispy on underside looked like the cook tried to hide the fact she had very over cooked them also items missing i.e black pudding hash browns it also seemed half the size we had seen other guests ask the man who gave it to us he said sorry but they had run out of items [ when there are only 5 rooms this is poor kitchen management ] after that just tucked in as we were very hungry by then after we had eat ours we saw 2 more breakfasts coming out of kitchen with extra sausages and fried bread to make up for missing items if ours came like this and not burnt i would not wrote this review but this made me feel like a second class guest !!!!
i told barman when we checked out and he said sorry but the cook [i use the word loosely] was there and she made effort to say sorry
all in all the fundamentals ie bed and breakfast were not here

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my fiancee and parents recently visited the half moon.we arrived around lunchtime.the gentleman on the bar was very welcoming.they serve beautiful home cooked food at reasonable prices.we were very impressed by this pub and will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Brook2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had often passed The Half Moon going up to Yeadon airport, as it is only 5 mins away, we went for Sunday lunch and it was absolutely delicious , lovely home cooked food, great service, nice friendly staff, really nice village pub, I would definitely recommend a meal at The Half moon.

Room Tip: Really handy for Otley, Harewood, Leeds Bradford Airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otley hotels
2.7 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
2.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Horse & Farrier
#5 of 6 in Otley
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Address: Main Street | Pool-In-Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing