We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the first visit.”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as the first visit.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Yes we had been before and had enjoyed the evening. We decided to try the Early Bird after checking details and booking by phone. Now must admit the meal itself was okay but not the bill. They did not charge the deal we had been told on the phone which was 2 for 1 almost to the point of not believing what we had been told. Said no one would have told us that.We paid full price for all we had and they had too many excuses. Disappointing so just check if you go there what they offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBell, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Disaster! So sorry you you were dissapointed a bit this time... Promise to try harder next time, the Early Bird IS confusing & I'm sorry it got misunderstood, I'm trying to work out how to word it better for all!! Its £10.95 for two courses as opposed to two dishes which would be 2-4-1... Best Wishes, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    9
    12
    18
See reviews for
16
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

we haven't yet stayed at this pub as yet,but are regulars there,and can honestly say ,its a wonderful place. staff very friendly, always a roaring fire on the go. Food excellent!!! value, especially the steak n ale,mmmmm. Its a dog friendly pub, so why people moan on about( there were at least 4 dogs in the pub!!!!)" is beyond me, what do they expect? after all, it is in the countryside,"practically" So folks, if your in that area and are lookin for a friendly pub, a roaring fire,and excellent food and beer then Half Moon is the place, you will not be disappointed,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Visited the Half Moon for Sunday lunch and we were really impressed! This is a good local country pub, the food was fab and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guiseley
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Visited one quiet , cold January, wednesday lunch time. Lovely log fire in lounge, staff very welcoming. 3 of us in party, two had fish and chips, one burger, 5 small lagers and one coke, with dners club card, bill came to just over £22! Fabulous value, excellent large portions, friendly staff. Good local country pub, some walkers with wet boots etc were made very welcome. All in all, wel recommended for "good pub grub". Not pretentious like larger pub round the corner. Will certainly visit again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leoleodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

the steak and ale pie was up there with the best ive ever had. and the service was top notch too,u it was a quite monday night twixt xmas and new year but the place whilst not too busy was also very cosy and warm. the starters were excellent a portobello mushroom with goats cheese was sublime and the antipasti very filling a meal in itself. the popularity of the place was shown when the barstaff told us that some of the main courses had sold out. not to worry the main courses were superb. the pub is run by the wharfebank brewery a stone throw away so real ale lovers are in for a treat too. we dined on the hi-life diners club scheme and the bill for 2 2 course meals was a wallet friendly £15.50 no doubt we will be back very soon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We went to the Half Moon with Living Social vouchers, we were greeted on arrival found a table and were brought the menu all quickly.We had home made Fish Chips & Peas which were piping hot when served. The place was very busy as it was Saturday evening so we had a bit of a wait for the meal but not excessive considering the amount of people dining. One or two items on the menu had sold out but there was plenty more to choose from.
The car park was not the easiest to negotiate as it's round the back where there is also a garage,
All in all a good do !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very nice room ,and the staff were very friendly
Evening entertainment ...bar snacks and meals ....all sorts of tempting wines and beers .late key to get in ..late breakfast which was very tasty and plenty to choose from we will stay here again sometime many thanks highly recommended




Thankyou

Room Tip: Well worth the time and effort to book in at this sought after proper Yorkshire stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
2.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
4.7 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Main Street | Pool-In-Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing