We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very basic, but friendly!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Otley B&B and Inns
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“very basic, but friendly!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here because they were dog friendly, and we were house hunting in the area. Upon arrival we were shown to a rather dismal room, with a varnished board covering one whole wall, housing the television and all the (rather dated) electrics! The bathroom was very dark also, but suited the purpose. We went down for a drink at the bar, which was heated by a log fire, (which they had just lit); so it was somewhat chilly for November!

We ordered food, and were then seated in an area near the pool table, where the doors were constantly being opened, as people were coming and going outside to smoke. I commented on this to the waitress, who said that we could eat in the bar area if we wished. I jumped at the chance, as I was freezing! The food was ok, and the staff were very friendly, but the place badly needs an upgrade, and they need to attend to customer's needs a little more!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    9
    12
    18
See reviews for
16
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Yes not bad, except after driving 30 minutes from Leeds there was no parking in their tiny car park and worse still, they didn't have our booking! It's no problem said the barmaid, well I am sorry, but it was for us. When we take the trouble to book we like to be expected.
However, the fish and chips were good and fresh. So they should have been after waiting 30 minutes. Beware of these offers as they don't include the essentials like a pot of tea but they graciously gave us one piece of bread and butter. The tables were sticky and smelt of polish and they allow dogs in the eating area.

Like many of these offers it's good to go somewhere else but you have to ask yourself, why do they do it. For the same money I could have had 2 plaice and chips of far better quality and taken them home.

Room Tip: We didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Otley hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay to watch the Tour de France. The staff in particular could not have been more helpful and being able to keep the bikes in our room was a bonus. Just a really good boozer.

I'd chosen this hoping the beer from the local brewery would be good and I wasn't wrong. Only drank the Wharfe beers and they were all spot on.

Lovely little place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Made the reservation over the phone, informed the female I spoke to we were flying in from Spain and would be with them about 1am, was told this would be fine. We also informed them we wanted breakfast. We arrived at the pub, from the airport, at 1am and the place was locked and in darkness. We tried knocking on doors and eventually got somebody´s attention from upstairs, who let us in but was not aware we had a reservation. Showed us 3 rooms, 1st had slept in beds, unmade, 2nd - beds weren´t made up so eventually opted for 3rd room we were shown. Double bed as dirty and sheet was covered in hairs. Slept on top of bed fully clothed, freezing during the night. Was told to be quiet so as not to wake the landlord and landlady and when I mentioned we wanted breakfast in the morning was asked what we wanted there and then - complete disaster and definitely will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

2nd visit, great pub, great food, loved it. Fantastic Wharfebank beer. And fantastic food. I had salmon pate, my wife had med starter, very tasty. Half moon holly cow very yummy and plenty of chillies. You must visit fantastic xXxxXx

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. From the moment I arrived in the car park to the moment I left, I was made to feel very welcome, and I was very well looked after. All the staff were very polite indeed. The Landlord (Fred) was extremely helpful assisting me with my local arrangements fishing and the Landlady's (Heather) breakfast was the best full English/Yorkshire breakfast I've had ! The room was very clean and tidy and the bed extremely comfortable. Also a great pint of real ale on tap . I highly recommend this friendly great place to stay I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago when we were in the area for a funeral. The rooms are clean and functional, a little dated perhaps but dont let this put you off, I think this adds to the charm of the place. Prices are very reasonable and it does a decent pint. I even tried a chilli mexican style beer brewed locally!

The highlight of the stay has to be the breakfast though. Absolutely massive brekkie which was really good quality, you could tell the bacon, sausages and black pudding were decent butchers meat rather than supermarket crap. Along with the beans, fried bread, eggs and as much tea as you could drink it was well worth the stay alone. Best fry up I have had in ages. One of our party just wanted a bacon butty and the landlady did her 2 as she thought the rolls were a little small, they were massive with 3 bits of bacon in each!

We didnt have an evening meal as we ate at a family members home nearby but if the breakfast is anything to go by give this place a try for a meal. I doubt you will be disappointed.

Over all a lovely place with friendly owners. I feel a little mean giving an average rating but very good seems a little to much? Maybe somewhere in between.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imhungry122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
2.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
4.8 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#46 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Main Street | Pool-In-Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing