We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just got back from staying tow nights at the Black Horse hotel in Otley. It was just fantastic. We were upgraded to a £69 room as we couldn't book into our room until late. We had a clean spacious double en suite with Kettle, coffee, tea etc provided and a flat screen tv. The bathroom had a shower and the towels were of good quality - as was the exceedingly comfortable bed. The bar downstairs has lots of real ales to choose from although I opted for John Smiths smooth. As we were meeting family we unfortunately didn't dine there but looking at the food being served it looked VERY appitising - which was confirmed to us later as we talked to other customers. Mine hosts were the perfect couple and we sat and had drinks with them well into the night - so welcoming. The location of the hotel is bang in the centre of the town so ideal for everything. It can get a little noisy early morning with the traffic noise - but that is to be expected. We will be DEFINATELY returning and can recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 139 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Cancelled booking a month after it was made. Apologetic when letting us know, but still made it difficult to find an alternative close to the date of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank mattfromlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The negative reviews that you may read here on Tripadvisor for the Black Horse must have been made before the new owners took over this year. We stayed here 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, just because we liked the hotel so much. It's just gorgeous and is decorated so well. It has the romantic atmosphere and appearance of an old inn, but everything is clean and new. We ate dinner here both nights because the food was so good the first night that we didn't even look for another place the second night. The service was excellent, they couldn't do enough to please us. The prices were very reasonable. Our room and bathroom were both huge, clean and just lovely. The owners were cordial and made us feel right at home. A great get-away place for a weekend. The old town of Otley is lovely, the shops are all within a block or 2 of the inn, and the walkway along the river can't be compared to any other town we visited. There is a lot of interesting history here, as well.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Ross and Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We found this hotel on line the day before we we wanted to stay.
The hotel is well located in Otley. The room was spotless and tidy as was the bathroom.
We did not get the room serviced as I would have expected on the following morning, but we had not made a mess so it was not too much of a problem.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and happy to help.
I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in this area.
There are walks to be done without taking your car off the premises.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is excellent, I cannot fault it. The staff were very helpful and the premises were spotless. The owners were friendly without being overbearing and could not do enough for us. The bed was very comfy and the shower was good too. The breakfast was lovely and both the cost of the accommodation and the food represented excellent value for money. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in the local area. I have previously paid twice the price for hotels that haven't been half as nice. Absolutely excellent - Kathleen Leeds

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel and left our car here while we went on holiday from Leeds Bradford (about 10 mins drive). The owners here are new and did everything they could to help us. Our room was a good size, could've been warmer so we were given an electric heater. It was an extremely cold night (when all the dreaded snow started). There were decent tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the bed was very very comfortable. Only problem with our room was the drain from the shower didn't work very well but appreciate that the owners here are new and they're trying to get things how they should be. We ate here in the evening, the meal was really nice, our little girl really enjoyed the lasagne. In the morning the taxis weren't running due to the bad weather so we were offered a lift there by the owners which was really kind. On our return to collect our car they even provided us with jump leads as we'd left something on in the car and the battery went dead. All in all we'd stay here again rather than stay in a travellodge or premier inn etc. You'll get a good service and nothing is too much trouble. Hope to return again soon :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebeccaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Horse & Farrier
#5 of 6 in Otley
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#6 of 6 in Otley
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range: £58 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Black Horse Hotel is set in the heart of the friendly market town of Otley. Under new management from July 2014, the Black Horse is ideally placed in the heart of Wharfedale, just to the North West of Leeds and only 10 minutes from Leeds/Bradford airport. Otley is a great base from which to explore the countryside of the stunning Yorkshire Dales and the many attractions of both West and North Yorkshire, with Leeds being only a few minutes away and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate only 12 miles away. The family friendly pub serves locally sourced food from 9.00 Am - 9.00 Pm, the specialities being fresh made, stone baked pizzas and burgers from our local award-winning butcher. We have 9 guest rooms, with 2 being family suites each with 2 separate bedrooms. All our rooms have newly refitted en-suite facilities. The function room on the first floor can host meetings, parties and other special occasions, with capacity for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing