We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed in this fantastic hotel for three days from 20th July and will always use this hotel when I stay in Otley. The staffs were very helpful, polite and accommodating. The room was very clean, spacious and the bed was so comfortable.
The evening meals are fantastic with a great choice from the menu, all homemade and locally sourced produce, the portions are ample and the service is good.
For drinks you have a good selection of cask Ales and lagers. As a Guinness drinker I can highly recommend it, smooth and creamy at the right temperature just as it should be.
Breakfast is a full traditional English and again ample portions; toast is thick fresh bread and tastes marvellous.
The owners Jo & Steve are hard workers and always greet you with a smile; the locals who use the bar also make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable.
It is so nice to find a hotel like this on your travels where you can relax, enjoy yourself and the comforts you need whilst travelling and at a cost very very good for the quality you get.
First Class.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spennymoor-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for The Black Horse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Black Horse hotel at the weekend 20th - 24th and extended our stay by 2 days. The staff where helpful and Jo and Steve the owner went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was great very clean and fresh and had all we needed TV. Coffee and tea -The bed was so just right nice clean and comfy, the room warm, it was a cold and raining so we stayed in and just had a drink in the bar and a meal the food good quality and value for money. Breakfast was like mum used to make full English with fresh crusty bread. We will stay here again when visiting otley .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolLady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Has once been a magnificent old coaching house or similar and could be again. Beds really comfortable and clean but rooms need a damn good clean - found rubbish behind bedside table when plugging charger in and the bathroom and particularly the shower cubicle is disgusting! Some of my friends in other rooms could not even use the shower as the doors opened onto the toilet and they could not squeeze through door!! All rooms similarly dirty - so sorry - recommend Otley as good place to go for the weekend but not the Black Horse as somewhere nice to stay until they learn how to clean the rooms properly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I booked the Black Horse Hotel, Otley, for a number of reasons. Firstly it was very close to the next day destination of Malham Cove, secondly friends lived near by so it was a great chance to catch up with them in the evening and thirdly the price seemed reasonable.
Hotel: The bar area takes you back in time, real beer hand pumped, old style decor. The Menu seemed varied and reasonably priced (although our friends had booked us at an Italian also in Otley so we didn't eat at the Black Horse).Room: A large double with en suite shower room. Definitely could do with a makeover in the bathroom - there were a few cracked tiles and the grouting was a bit icky, the towel rail had obviously fallen off - and not been replaced so there was nowhere to hang the towels (which were incidentally white and fluffy). The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows and quilt. There was a small flat screen tv on the wall and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast: We had the full English which was delicious and filling - fresh fried tomatoes and fresh fried mushrooms. Staff: All the staff we came into contact with were very polite and attentive and definitely customer friendly. Oh, be sure to check if there is any entertainment booked during your stay - because if you are after a quiet night before it finishes you won't get one!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at the Black Horse for just one night on a 'Living Social' special offer stay. It was a snip with B & B on a Sunday night priced at just £45. The room was on the third floor of this high Victorian building which was a bit of a climb as there was no lift. Being well able bodied it wasn't a problem but a good job we weren't elderly & infirm. The room was great however. Clean, airy and tastefully appointed. Nice bedding and a really comfortable bed
Being critical the tile grout in the shower cubicle could have done with a refurb as it was quite discoloured by the damp in parts though it was clean.
Another minor point was that the shower controls were a bit tricky to operate. There was a choice of soaking the floor by adjusting flow and temperature to a bearable level with the door open OR, braving the icy cold or very hot water whilst setting the temperature from the inside.

On the positive side, the staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. There was a fair amount of undercover parking in the old stable & coach entrance. Breakfast also was a lovely single course 'full English' with quality ingredients, coffee, tea and great Yorkshire doorstep toast slices, fruit juice & preserves.
The bar was pleasant & friendly with some great hand pumped real ale and occasional musical entertainment.
Location was brilliant in the heart of Otley town right opposite the main square.
Check out was at 11a.m. which was a good plus for us after a tiring night.
Over all this was a lovely stay in a very good Yorkshire town Pub B and B which i'd recommend unless you have mobility problems, In which case ask about your room's suitability first.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firemanfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just got back from staying tow nights at the Black Horse hotel in Otley. It was just fantastic. We were upgraded to a £69 room as we couldn't book into our room until late. We had a clean spacious double en suite with Kettle, coffee, tea etc provided and a flat screen tv. The bathroom had a shower and the towels were of good quality - as was the exceedingly comfortable bed. The bar downstairs has lots of real ales to choose from although I opted for John Smiths smooth. As we were meeting family we unfortunately didn't dine there but looking at the food being served it looked VERY appitising - which was confirmed to us later as we talked to other customers. Mine hosts were the perfect couple and we sat and had drinks with them well into the night - so welcoming. The location of the hotel is bang in the centre of the town so ideal for everything. It can get a little noisy early morning with the traffic noise - but that is to be expected. We will be DEFINATELY returning and can recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Cancelled booking a month after it was made. Apologetic when letting us know, but still made it difficult to find an alternative close to the date of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank mattfromlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.3 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#50 of 87 in Leeds
958 reviews
4.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Black Horse Hotel is set in the heart of the friendly market town of Otley. Under new management from July 2014, the Black Horse is ideally placed in the heart of Wharfedale, just to the North West of Leeds and only 10 minutes from Leeds/Bradford airport. Otley is a great base from which to explore the countryside of the stunning Yorkshire Dales and the many attractions of both West and North Yorkshire, with Leeds being only a few minutes away and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate only 12 miles away. The family friendly pub serves locally sourced food from 9.00 Am - 9.00 Pm, the specialities being fresh made, stone baked pizzas and burgers from our local award-winning butcher. We have 9 guest rooms, with 2 being family suites each with 2 separate bedrooms. All our rooms have newly refitted en-suite facilities. The function room on the first floor can host meetings, parties and other special occasions, with capacity for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing