We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding Weekend made easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Wedding Weekend made easy”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Situation of hotel met all of our 14 family members needs. Accommodation was excellent value for money. Rooms very clean and beds very comfortable. Food prepared freshly, hot and delicious and every individual's needs catered for. Most of all was the extremely warm and friendly welcome we received from Jo and Stephen who made us feel like family and helped us to relax in the build up to our function including lending us her personal iron and iron board! The staff took time to talk and listen, being very helpful when asked queries including removing a spider from the very high ceiling. We shall stay here again. Alison and Stewart

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    38
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
57
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The owners of this pub have worked so hard,only had this pub since December 2011 they have done a full refurbishment. there bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless (all bed linen and towels are pure white) any thing you want you just ask and its there no waiting for any thing, Food to die for NO FROZEN STUFF in this pub :O) and all there staff where spot on and spotless,also your car is under cover in there own car park the two owners even came out to us to say good bye you dont get that any where. well my hubby and i will be going back there often we loved it. Thank you to the Black Horse and all its staff for are
“Excellent 4 night stay ***** Margaret & Graham Reid

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megen215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Hotel refused to honour our booking even though it had been made through Late Rooms with a credit card. The booking system appeared to be chaotic with scraps of paper, and pencil scrawlings. As a result long-planned weekend badly disrupted. No apologies. Not to be trusted.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AAK47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We arrived a party of 14 and were allocated our rooms as we arrived - first there best room system! We were first!! this is a very old building and very very tired, apparently awaiting a refurbishment. three flights of stairs to our rooms. ALL of the bathrooms were disgusting with pure filth, grime and mildew on all the the tiles. When I pointed this out to Jo, she seemed to think it was "normal" for shower tiles to be black. Absolutely no attempt had been made to clean these showers as when i used a toothbrush to test an area it came straight off with little effort. my shower was situated so closely to the toilet that when you opened the door of the shower it banged off the toilet leaving you approx 12" to "squeeze" through the gab into the shower - ladies with boobs have no hope! This cannot be classed as a hotel, it is merely a guest house with no frills, we all had to run out and buy soap and shampoo. We were charged £69 per night (which was apparently a £10 reduction) Trust me we were robbed. One couple's room was so small that they had to take turns getting ready in the small area they had while the other had to lie on the bed - then swap!! I approached Jo about my room and to be honest she was very unhelpful and promised to ring me - never heard from her again which I fully expected judging by the set up and customer service. Its her loss really because all 14 of us were looking for a hotel to visit twice yearly in Otley and we are all big spenders!!! I can say however, that the meals in the bar are absolutely beautiful and an excellent price

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo H, Owner at The Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
We find this review grossly exaggerated, the hotel had a 400 thousand pound refurbishment last year with 5 of the bathrooms refurbished, we are in the process of waiting for the remaining en suites to be refurbished. All showers have had an industrial steam clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night and thought the hotel was lovely as it still had alot of period features. The owners were very helpful and our fish and chips in the evening were probably the best I have ever had. All home cooked and just delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Vonnywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The rooms are lovely, cosy and clean with light decor and allthough I was on the roadside I was not awoken by any traffic. Upon asking a member of staff before departing to our rooms when breakfast would be served, we were told that there was no Breakfast being served in the morning as they were going to be out late and could'nt be bothered to get up to serve it. We ended up having to leave the hotel at 08.15am to a nearby cafe for breakfast and had to take our luggage with us. A great inconvenience and cost to seven customers, and we still payed the full cost for the stay. Also there was no towel in one of the rooms. If I had to stay at this hotel again I would, simply because I beleive it fulfilled all of my other needs, and the rooms were unfaultable - but I was very dissapointed and embarassed with the 'No Breakfast today' situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaintandCanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Staff & owners were very helpful & friendly. Accomadation was very acceptable would definitly stay again. Food was all made to order & was very tasty. A really good experience. Only one thing we would have changed was the en-suite as it was just a little small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal14C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
5.4 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
208 reviews
4.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Property: The Black Horse Hotel
Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Black Horse Hotel is set in the heart of the friendly market town of Otley. Under new management from July 2014, the Black Horse is ideally placed in the heart of Wharfedale, just to the North West of Leeds and only 10 minutes from Leeds/Bradford airport. Otley is a great base from which to explore the countryside of the stunning Yorkshire Dales and the many attractions of both West and North Yorkshire, with Leeds being only a few minutes away and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate only 12 miles away. The family friendly pub serves locally sourced food from 9.00 Am - 9.00 Pm, the specialities being fresh made, stone baked pizzas and burgers from our local award-winning butcher. We have 9 guest rooms, with 2 being family suites each with 2 separate bedrooms. All our rooms have newly refitted en-suite facilities. The function room on the first floor can host meetings, parties and other special occasions, with capacity for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing