We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could recommend but not in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Nice room. Very comfy bed and the pillows are amazing. Bedroom was clean, well decorated and really pleasant. Easy to check in - very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was fine but spoilt by the fact it was freezing in the restaurant. Room was also spoilt by it being chilly and the shower was unusable as it was so cold in there.

I would recommend this place in warmer weather or if you take your own fan heater!! It's a shame that it was only the heating (or lack of it) that spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirelass80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Black Horse due to a family wedding at the nearby Chevin Country Lodge. The whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and the staff made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived to the time we left.

We had travelled with my partner's parents and booked 2 small doubles. We were advised by the owner of which room would be a better benefit to the parents as the bed in our room was up against the wall. Certainly this wasn't an issue for us and the room was a decent size for the description. The other room was bigger and I certainly wouldn't have described it as small!

The hotel opened a Chinese restaurant in September so this is the only food they provide on site for dinner. We were very happy to eat in the restaurant and the food was lovely with good portion sizes. They were also very accomodating to one of our group who does not eat Chinese and provided a plain meal of equally good quality.

Breakfast in the morning was very welcome, with a full english, tea/coffee, juice and toast. We couldn't fault it.

Overall we were really pleased we found the Black Horse and would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice clean bedrooms.Comfy bed.But! no mirror in room 5, only a small wardrobe panel with no socket near.So hairdryer would not reach.No lamp shades.No chair.Bathroom was freezing.No radiators or any heating, cold tiled floor.No blind or curtains at the window in bathroom.Shower cubicle very small and grimey.Plus the shower head kept falling out of holder.No early breakfast as they had lost breakfast chef.No cereals or fruit on display.The cooked breakfast was fine, but for £7.00 pp it should be.Parking limited.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just back from three nights at The Black Horse in the centre of Otley. An excellent room on the first floor, very clean and tidy. Although described as a "small double" we had plenty of room and a full-size double bed. Shower Room en suite - all as to be expected. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and of excellent quality. Chinese restaurant open every evening provided really good and value for money food - service by friendly and helpful staff was of top quality. Overall a really good value-for-money three nights, excellent hospitality - Manager and staff all great. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter and Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

ny wife and i stayed here on a "living social" deal for 2 nights 11/12th september.the room was large ( number 7 ) and clean and so was the bathroom and although it was a bit of a hike up the stairs we did not find it too difficult.the breakfast was hot and served quickly.the staff were very friendly and we had a free bottle of wine when we dined on the first night.the meal was also good,and the wine was a decent aussie ( not cheap plonk!!) the parking was a little tight,but seeing as i can park on a pound coin,it did not bother me.all in all it was great value for money and i would certainly recommend it.looking at some of the reviews i think that some people expect 4 or 5 star luxury for very little outlay.they need to get real!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel after purchasing a deal through living social. The shower room was very small. They were having a VIP do for the opening of their new chinese resturant, so there was no food avaliable to eat that night. It was noisy until the early hours, but that is to be expected from a pub. This is ok for a lads weekend but not for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 724JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting friends nearby. Arrived early but were able to check in with no problems. Room on top floor a bit of a hike but was light, airy and clean. Bathroom clean enough but shower a bit grimy. Minimal shower gel/shampoo supplied. Tea/coffee facilities but cream a couple of months out of date. Could maybe do with a couple of bottles of water as don't like the idea of drinking from bathroom tap and didn't want to make tea in the middle of the night. Window needed to be shut as road was very noisy even early Sunday morning. Breakfast was charged at £7 per person which we chose not to have. Walked around the corner to Wetherspoons and got it for £2.99. Overall a friendly pub but only just worth the money...... maybe if breakfast was included or offered at a cheaper price. Would probably stay again. Found the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coll296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.3 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
891 reviews
6.3 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#35 of 87 in Leeds
846 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#50 of 87 in Leeds
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range: £51 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Black Horse Hotel is set in the heart of the friendly market town of Otley. Under new management from July 2014, the Black Horse is ideally placed in the heart of Wharfedale, just to the North West of Leeds and only 10 minutes from Leeds/Bradford airport. Otley is a great base from which to explore the countryside of the stunning Yorkshire Dales and the many attractions of both West and North Yorkshire, with Leeds being only a few minutes away and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate only 12 miles away. The family friendly pub serves locally sourced food from 9.00 Am - 9.00 Pm, the specialities being fresh made, stone baked pizzas and burgers from our local award-winning butcher. We have 9 guest rooms, with 2 being family suites each with 2 separate bedrooms. All our rooms have newly refitted en-suite facilities. The function room on the first floor can host meetings, parties and other special occasions, with capacity for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing