We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Miramar La Linea”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Miramar La Linea”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It couldn't be worse! The hotel is barred up, filthy outside and with mail piled up around the door. It had obviously been out of operation for some while (18th Nov) but is still touting for business! There is obviously a scam here. We were lucky as we paid our deposit on Visa who refunded that amount but others may not be so lucky.

It is not possible that the photos featured on the web site could apply to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    13
    5
    20
See reviews for
9
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The location of the hotel was good for the centre of La Linea, with excellent bars and cafes within yards of the hotel, also Gibraltar boarder was less than 10 minutes walk from hotel, our room had double bed, and a view of the park across the road. the room was clean with towels changed every day, the lift only goes from 1st floor so there are a few steps, staff are polite. The ensuit has no plugs for sink or bath so take your own and no air conditioning, still think this was value for money at only £131 for the 2 of us for 3 nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I arrived at this hotel just after midnight, for a 3 day stay.

Having checked in, and seen the state of the room, I would have refused to stay there, but it had gone midnight and all other hotels in the area were booked up.

This hotel is filthy. From the moment you walk in, to the dirty stale smelling lobby, to the absolute horror of opening your room door, and taking in the sight that it before you.

First the smell. Old, dirty, damp, stinking smell.
Secondly, no fan or A/C
Thirdly, the filth. Disgusting, filthy walls, furniture. And the toilet was something I dont wish to think about again.

The communal area, for the internet access resembles and old folks home from the 1970s, and one that hasnt seen a vaccuum cleaner since back then.

Location is good, but there is a hostal, just down the road called Margarita (dont be put off by the word hostal) where the rooms are clean, modern and fitted with a/c, which is 5 stars in comparison to this place.

The only way this dump could be improved is if they knocked the place down, and started all over again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gib_Minty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Linea de la Concepcion hotels

newjersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in end of July, for two nights. The hotels was not like it is shown on website pictures. There were elevators from second floor, we had to carry luggage up. The staff was not speaking english, there was no fan or A.C. in the room. The bathroom was the worst in my life. The pipe was leaking, there was water draining every time faucet was turned in the sink. The bath curtain was like hundred years old and disgusting. My kids were so affaraid to stay in the hotel they were terrified. There was no body to complain because there was no communication. It was like nightmare coming true. Please don't fall by the pictures shown on theit website. Find another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank priyanka296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on a work trip to Iberian Peninsula in September 2010. Chose to stay in La Linea side when visiting Gibraltar, so this was a good spot. And it mostly was. The location is very good, in a quiet street in La Linea, only about 7 minutes walk from Gibraltar border, still most La Linea services only around the corner.
Hotel and room were ok. Clean and room spacious enough with the exception of some water running from the bathroom to the bedroom side.
Staff was ok, some spoke English, some not. I didn't even see or hear other guests in the hotel. So there were no noises.
No internet availability in the rooms (in public areas it would've cost 3 euros/hour. Also no airconditioning in the room which made it difficult to sleep in a still very hot September.
Price 45 euros/night excluding breakfast could've been bit lower since I got a better room in a better hotel with breakfast cheaper in Fuengirola. Still wouldn't mind staying in this hotel again, especially staying there outside the hottest summer months when there's no need for A/C.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

nice hotel, maybe 3 mins from the bus station if you walk around a school where u can catch buses to algeciras to get the ferry to tangers or buses to malaga and other major towns. the border to gibraltar is maybe 8 min walk. the hotel itself is very nice and clean. all rooms are bleached clean so be warned if you are allergic to strong detergents. the staff are friendly and speak english.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWPORT, WALES
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

For traveling in Andalucia this could not be a better base. Just 500 metres from the border at Gibraltar, A feery terminal to Morocco, The costa de Sol and the Costa de la Luz. Add to that the wonderful rroute of the white towns and all within a reasonable distance.
The bus station is close to the hotel and the railway station is a short taxi journey. Or by bus to Algicisa.

The hotel staff are helpful amd friendly and the owner speaks perfect English. Rooms are clean and tidy and there is a lovely view over the town hall, its gardens and Gibraltar.
No food available at the hotel, but you can find lots of cafe's and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Campana
Hostal La Campana
#3 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,679 reviews
1.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: Avenida Espana 26, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Miramar 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing