We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOSTEL WITH EXCELLENT FAMILY STAFF”
Review of Hostal La Campana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal La Campana
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOSTEL WITH EXCELLENT FAMILY STAFF”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed as a party of four adults inte ding to use it as a base for a few visits to Gibraltar. Period booked was for the 11th Sept to 14th Sept using two separate rooms.

What a great find as it turned out. The Hostel is a family run business, but the proprietor made it feel like we were honoured guests in his own home.

The hostel is situated about 500 meters or so from the Gibraltar border. It is a pleasant flat walk across a public square, then through a bustling cafe area. Plenty of opportunity to have snacks if you can't wait to cross the border.

The hostel reception area/bar/restaurant is on entry to the Hostel. The premises immediately strike you as being clean and tidy. Most of which has been recently refurbished. One lift serves all 4 floors, but as there are only 17 rooms and a perfectly adequate stairway, there is rarely any wait.

The rooms are pleasantly furnished with massive wardrobe storage. There is an en suite bathroom with both bath and shower. Both rooms are clean and tidy.

Requests for extra pillows were dealt with immediately. Service to the dining tables for food and drink was immediate as the reception desk is in the same room. Snacks were delicious and made to order.

An evening meal is available for only 9 euros which comprised 3 courses, with a perfectly adequate choice. Couple this with reasonably priced drinks which were on the large side and a nothing is too much trouble attitude from the staff and you realise why this is so positive a review.

The Hostel offers no parking facility, but there is a public car park just opposite which is about 20 euros for 24 hrs.

I must point out the role played by the proprietor, whose name for the moment escapes me. He is there from early in the morning until late at night making ones stay delightful and inspiring his family and staff to care for the customer. I have no hesitation in recommending La Campana.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carpuscatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Wifi non existent in room and needed for planning so it was very disappointing that it wasn't available. Black mold under window in room was a bit nasty. Only one plug in the room one in bathroom so it was hard to charge up camera and phone. The Air Con worked good which was nice in July. TV was a small flat screen multi channels. The bathroom was a bit strange 1/2 tube size created a pool of water out into the room so watch the shower pressure. The knob to turn the shower head was broken off. They also had strange long pillows rather then regular individual pillows. Smal tear open shampoo and shower gel and small hand soap bar were good as we had forgotten ours. The closet came with an eclectic assortment of hangers. Small desk and chair but would need to move the bed if you want to use it. The stairwell was a storage of shelves two bed farms and one mattress. The was a lift although we didn't use it.
Restaurant downstairs also operates as reception. Parking garage across the street although the hotel has two spots out front. The main road that runs into Gibraltar is just around the corner and the border is about a 5 minute walk
About 3-4 streets down from the hotel is an area of shops and restaurants plenty to choose from.
Overall a very good location and a hit the budget mark so would stay again only if wifi is assured.

Room Tip: Parking free on no color curbs, blue pay meter yellow business use. Find a non painted curb and par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Had a good stay here- every thing it says is there -great price and location- would stay again no problem rooms clean and good size- close to town great menu available - all in all great value yea there are a lot more expensive hotels around but the money we saved we brought 2 nice bottles of perfume with

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank citygirl442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed there in April, as we visited Gibraltar, and this hostal is perfectly situated near the border. It was incredibly cheap and I was expecting for some things to be wrong, but instead everything was fine. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. Huge wardrobe and bathroom with bathtub, warm room and comfortable beds. No meals were included in the price (it was too cheap anyway), but we had dinner in their restaurant and it was amazing. Well, we love Spanish food, and we were not let down this time neither. We had the "menu del dia" (menu of the day) for only 9 Euro each, and everything we had was delicious. The border is a mere 5 minutes walk in almost straight line, so you can't get lost. The city centre of La Linea is right around the corner with plenty of shops and bars. Would definitely go back and recommend this place!

Room Tip: Don't go around searching for any fancy restaurant! Try the Spanish food they serve as it is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puidemorosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in hostal la campana because we were visiting Gibraltar and it seemed cheaper than hotels on the rock .
Upon arrival we were greeted with a receptionist with absolutely no knowledge of the English language . We were asked to leave our bags in the room before they cleaned it . We walked into the room horrified with what appeared to be human excrement on the pillows .
We then had to leave the hotel without our baggage and passports for an hour while our room was cleaned .
Other than this we returned to a fresh clean well equipped ensuite hotel room within walking distance of the rock .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wiresandwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echallens, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was basic but nice. A bit expensive for what it was but well. Confortable bed, warm room, close to Gibraltar. There was no soap in the bathroom just hand wash.
There was free wifi in the building and it worked quite well :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We got diverted from Gibraltar to Juarez. Endured a 2 hour bus ride back to Gibraltar which put us outside our connection. We didn't have any reservations and it was pouring rain and cold. We stopped in a small Tapas bar right inside the boarder of La Lina and grabbed some food. After our meal, we asked for a hotel recommenation and were directed to Hostal la Campana. We ran for cover in the poring rain for a couple of blocks until we came upon the hostal. Never having traveled overseas, my nerves were already tight from the travel hiccups and 6 hour delay in getting into Gibraltar. But bright, inviting lights from the restaurant downstairs beckoned us in. 35E for a room we could share - two beds. Bathroom even had a bidet. I loved the hotel, staff and their friendly behavior. They even come up and knocked on the door in the morning for our personal wake up call. It was a very memorable experience. Caught the train in Algeceris to Madrid the next morning.

Room Tip: When you are tired, wet and arrived in Gibraltar 5 hours behind schedule, any room is good. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbtoys928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,780 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Campana

Property: Hostal La Campana
Address: Calle Carboneros n 03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Campana 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing