We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, ideal for visiting Gibraltar”
Review of AC Hotel La Linea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea
Peacehaven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, ideal for visiting Gibraltar”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel to stay whilst visiting Gibraltar to sort out our wedding in the summer. After reading several reviews for the AC we booked it as all the hotels in Gib were twice the price. We flew into Gib and walked just over the border and got a taxi. It dropped us off at the front door of the hotel and cost 5 euros including tip. We were welcomed by very polite and friendly staff. We asked for a room with a sea view and were actually upgraded to a superior room. The room was very modern, clean and spacious with a balcony. The bathroom was also very modern with a glass basin. There was a free mini-bar which had the basics of soft drinks, water and a couple of beers, not bad for free! Bed a touch soft but still comfortable. We went out for a stroll in the evening and to find dinner. It was a 15min walk to the centre of town and although La Linea is definitely a bit tatty we did not feel at all uneasy. The centre is obviously being improved and there were some nice bars and shops. After dinner we strolled back to the hotel at about 10pm and again felt quite safe. Breakfast cost 8 euros each and was a buffet with both hot and cold food and was good value for the money. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, clean hotel in a good location.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, comfortable room and good value
  • Disliked — No bad points
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    328
    130
    36
    11
See reviews for
74
333
35
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Absolutely great experience. Used as a basis for a day trip to Gibraltar. Modern and comfortable. Chic and clean.

The (limited) minibar is free! which is a nice perk after a long ferry from Morocco.

It's a fifteen minute, unpleasant walk to the border with Gibraltar. There are other hotels closer (on in Gibraltar), but they are either terrible or very expensive.

It's a 30E cab ride from Algeciras.

The gym is an absolute joke, which was not a surprise.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank solanaceae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

I stayed at the hotel for just six hours and frankly, that was not enough!

A beautiful hotel - and well-located. The surrounding area was pretty nice too, if a little boring - just a nice little suburb town. It's a good 15-minute walk to Gibraltar, and about 15-minute or so from Alegrecias by taxi (around €25) or half-an-hour by bus.

The hotel itself is very well-equipped, and the bedroom I stayed in was very nice, modern and clean. I was most impressed by the range of toileteries provided in the bathroom - toothpaste, sponge, soaps which were prefect for us travellers on planes. Interestingly, the mini-bar was free though there wasn't much in it.

Internet cost extra.

  • Liked — Toileteries and modern features
  • Disliked — Internet/wi-fi surcharges
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel as a base for a trip to gibraltar to make some plans for our wedding. We stayed for four nights but did not go for the bed and breakfast option because we were busy with appointments etc.

The hotel is easy to find, being just one street behind the main promenade, and is about one to one and a hlaf hour drive from malaga airport, if you fly into gib then it is only 20 minutes to half an hour walk or 4 euros in a taxi from la linea border. It is in a residential area so expect not to find restaurants too close, we always ate in gibrlatar anyway cos we were through there a lot.

Check in was effecient with no problems. there is parking spaces outside the hotel, although sometimes we pushed to get a space!

The rooms were clean, bathrooms very modern and spacious. Plenty of towels (room cleaned daily and towels changed daily). We had a room overlooking the pool, they do get very warm but our air conditioning cooled us down! No safety deposit boxes in rooms although i think you could get them from reception. mini bars in rooms stocked with juices and lagers which is a nice touch.

pool was warm on an afternoon, which is when it gets the sun.

the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself very quiet.

All in all really good value for money and would definetely stay again.

  • Liked — location, only short walk to gibraltar etc.
  • Disliked — parking a bit close sometimes!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pauleeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

This hotel is modern and clean. Our room was spotless. The hotel is right by the sea, which made for lovely fresh air coming in the window. The free minibar with a variety of drinks and the free pastries were a welcome sight after a week of traveling. The hotel staff were very nice and very helpful. They are hooked up with a tour to Morocco that only costs 50 Euros for an entire day, including the ferry ride and lunch. It's also only a long walk or short taxi ride to Gibraltar. All around, it is just a great hotel!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howmanycamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

If you want a comfortable, clean hotel for a one day visit to Gibraltar then the AC La Linea can be ideal.

The hotel is not large and glamorous or in a high quality area but then nothing is this close to Gibraltar. It is a modern, 2 years old redevelopment of an old building, fully suitable to the business traveller or for a short stopover visit to the area.

It was reasonably priced at euros 83 but we moved to a 'suite' with a large corner balcony for just euros 91 (room310 non-smoking, room 410 even better but a smoking room). Room 310 had a limited view of Gibraltar and great views of the bay and Algeciras.

The hotel is easy to find being just off the Avenida de Espana on the seafront. Parking is available but I used the street outside where it was easy to find space.

The hotel has no glamourous restaurant, it is minimalistic in design but it does provide small perks that are unusual to find . The room minibar contains 2 beers and some soft drinks which are all complimentary, being included in your rom rate.

The lounge also has coffee and soft drinks plus pastries, all again complimentary so a refreshing coffee on return to the hotel can be a double pleasure.

Breakfast is available in a restaurant behind the lounge.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Locatin to Gibraltar
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hendenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

This hotel was pure luxury. We were traveling across southern Spain staying in quaint little places and this was a clean, new hotel with a magnificent view. We had a whole wall of balcony doors facing the Gibraltar rock. The amenities and minibar and service-excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Total luxury place
  • Disliked — The town is a bit scary at night
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Prncs365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
2.4 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Linea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea

Property: AC Hotel La Linea
Address: Calle Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing